Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Moorpark, CA
Students enrolled: 460
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Arroyo West is a fabulous school and I always feel welcome when I walk in the front door.

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted October 22, 2013
- a parent
Arroyo West is awesome. My child is excited about learning and can't wait to go to school every day. She loves reading and writing stories in her spare time and has passed this passion along to her younger sibling. Arroyo West has had such a positive impact on my child's life and our family overall. I am confident this school is building a firm foundation for my children's future academic success. Great School.


Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
I have a 1st Grader at AWALA and I can remember touring the school as a Kindergarten parent and absolutely falling in love. I believe in first impressions and that started for me with the office staff. I have never met a more caring and compassionate group of people! Arroyo West has the best teachers who are always enthusiastic and outgoing. The school has a new principle this year and I have personally gotten to know her and love what she is doing for the school. She interacts with the kids on a daily basis and is full of enthusiasm. She is very passionate about the common core standards, which I love. In short, this is a GREAT school!!

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
The reading and writing program at this school is outstanding. I registered my 5th grader and 1st grader as new students in 2011. Both were behind in their reading levels and within one year, both were reading ahead of their levels. As my older son went on to middle school, he was placed in honors classes and has had straight As with outstanding comments on his writing skills. This would not have been possible without the program that my son was introduced to in 5th grade. Now my younger son is in 3rd grade, enjoys a 5th grade reading level and reads on his own for 30 minutes a day, even on weekends, because he enjoys reading. I made a great choice in moving my children from private school to this public school.

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
I love Arroyo West. This is my daughters 2nd year and I'll admit I was initially apprehensive based on "scores" as compared to other schools. After having been here a year, I wouldn't consider another school. - Teachers are involved, caring and professional - The learning environment; -- is interactive and hands on -- promotes rapid growth as students learn at their individual level -- builds independent, adaptive, resourceful and creative thinkers -- creates a deeper understanding of subjects by incorporating multiple sources and tools across disciplines -- positively reinforces lessons learned as students see real world application -- fosters community and social responsibility through cooperative, peer to peer work groups -- initiates a love of reading and writing I didn't realize could exist at my daughter's age Yeah, I wouldn't go anywhere else.


Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted October 02, 2013
- a community member
2 unhappy parents isn't a true portrayal of AWALA. This schools does a great job for all of its students. Don't let a couple sour grapes ruin your impression of the school.

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 4

Posted August 29, 2012
- a parent
This will be my sons 2nd year at Arroyo. They have visual hands on way of teaching here. The kids learn with technology during class room activates. I have had more interaction with the front office staff than the principle so not sure what has happen in the past. Hopefully she reads this and can improve the way the afterschool and bullying issues. I wouldn t want my son to be bullied and no course of action taken. My main reason for 4 stars instead of 5 is because I wished during K the kids would have more assemblies to perform for their families. 23 years ago I was a wrangler kid going to Arroyo West so my expectations are high. After being a volunteer at all the schools in Moorpark and interacting with the staff I took my son from another school here in Moorpark and decided this was the best place for him to grow and learn arroyo west!

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 1

Posted August 20, 2012
- a parent
I agree with the other reviewer that the principal at Arroyo West cannot be trusted to do the right thing to protect kids from bullying and incompetent after-school supervisors who lose children. Ms. Smith-Klein espouses canned, politically correct rhetoric while hiding incidences of bullying, children getting on the wrong bus and winding up lost, and an after school program that is in a word - DANGEROUS - to the safety of school children. The teachers are great; the principal needs to be replaced.


Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 5

Posted July 26, 2011
- a parent
This is our daughter's second year at Arroyo West. Arroyo West Elementary is a great public school; the teachers are wondeful and enthusiastic. The office administrators are also very helpful and friendly.

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy 4

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arroyo West Active Learning Academy
4117 Country Hill Road, Moorpark, CA  93021
(805) 378-6308
Last modified Arroyo West Active Learning Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arroyo West Active Learning Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top