Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Moorpark, CA
Students enrolled: 483

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 4

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
Flory Academy of Sciences and Technology, Moorpark, CA. Wonderful environment for students. The staff at every level, in my experience, are kind and caring. The academics are challenging and robust enough to keep my son engaged and excited. Our school could improve in the parent involvement, ON CAMPUS, as with most places, we are the 80/20% rule, 20% of our parents really really participate in our PTA and Booster events, while the remaining do not. If we could move our selves to a 50/50 rate, with the 50% who don't have the capacity or desire to help to offer a monetary "help" instead, we'd be golden!

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
Flory is great! My daughter is just finishing kinder. She is reading books out loud moderately fast and doing addition anf subtraction tables independantly. Academically, Flory rises above.


Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted August 10, 2010
- a parent
Flory's highly committed parent base has allowed them to excel in the "extras" despite state budget cuts. The school's booster club started a campaign to Save Our Specialists. (Science, Math and Computer specialists provide schoolwide, grade specific instruction in their own labs.) Through fundraising and corporate contributions we are able to keep all 3 positions and look forward to another successful year.

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
The focus is on science and technology at Flory, and they find fun and engaging ways for students to learn. First graders participate in 'Space Station Flory' day, where they come dressed in their oxygen packs (made out of cardboard and aluminum) and watch a shuttle takeoff. The whole school celebrates with a slice of pie on Pi Day (3/14), which is also Einstein's birthday. In addition, lots of parent involvement and a supportive principal make this school a great place to learn.

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 1

Posted November 24, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted May 31, 2007
- a parent
Flory has been a great school for my 2nd grader. He is continuously challenged in his math and science. He has a great teacher and parent involvement on this campus is high. He is now reading at a 3rd/4th grade level. I highly recommend the school. The only problem is the traffic situation during drop off and pick up times.

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted May 24, 2007
- a parent
Flory is an excellent school, particularly for kids interested in science and technology. My son (who has ADHD) has attended for 2 years now (2nd/3rd grades) and his teachers were great - knowledgeable, caring and helpful. Math and reading programs are tailored to the child's ability. Parent involvement is high, as is participation in school functions, science nights, etc. Principal Pam Hill is a great communicator and stresses ethics. The after school program (Success Express) offers art and music classes, as well as drama, karate, Spanish and computers. My son loves this school.


Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted August 31, 2006
- a parent
Wow! Flory has it all. Children are challenged at their own level. The teachers are tops. They are always out there attending conferences and workshops to bring exciting new ways to learn into the classroom. The principle is Fantastic. Children are expected to be respectful, caring, conscientious of their own actions. Though the location may not be the most desirable, the campus is secure and the learning that goes on inside is out of this universe!

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology 5

Posted August 15, 2006
- a parent
Flory is a NASA Explorer school. It is a Math and Technology Magnet. The children must apply and be accepted to attend. It offers many wonderful opportunities for the students. Staff is friendly and knowledgable. Principal is wonderful, a real go-getter. I would recommend this school whole-heartedly!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology
240 Flory Avenue, Moorpark, CA  93021
(805) 378-6303
Last modified Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Flory Academy Of Sciences And Technology Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top