Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Walnut Canyon Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 28, 2015
- a community member
Gina Jurick is the hardest working person at our school. She technically is the office manager but she is so much more. She knows our kids and cares about each of them. She has to keep them safe and our staff safe as well. She works endlessly to make sure everyone gets what they need and also keeps the school on task and running smoothly every second of the day. I am proud to work with her and would do anything to help her. She is truly an unsung hero. The world would be a better place with more Gina Juricks in the world.

Walnut Canyon Elementary School 4

Posted March 28, 2015
- a parent
Walnut Canyon is a good school with very good teachers and a comprehensive expansive approach to educating children that is a breath of fresh air compared to Fundamental schools and No Child Left Behind based learning. However, the school funding cuts of recent years combined with increasing class size has really impacted the activities and extras in the curriculum that once made it really great. Also, when considering Walnut Canyon and maybe other Moorpark schools know that favoritism is very openly and apologetically practiced by the teachers there.


Walnut Canyon Elementary School 3

Posted March 09, 2014
- a parent
Just like every other public school around - the ratio of students to teachers in too high and unless your child fits the public education mold, he/she gets left in the dust. The principal is very fake. Smiles all the time in your face but is totally different behind the scenes. She gives preferential treatment to the families she likes, i.e. the teachers they request. Last, don't feel this new core curriculum will be the best fit for every child.

Walnut Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted September 01, 2011
- a parent
My son loves being a student at Walnut Canyon. The new principal is a breath of fresh air and his teacher Mrs. Walters is big on teaching with all the latest technology! I couldn't be more excited about this school year!!! IF I had any complaint it would be that there isn't as much performing arts as I would like to see but I do realize w/ budget cuts they are doing the best with what they've got! The parents at this school are the most supportive of any school I've seen, very involved! You also wont find a harder working PTA around! Great Job Walnut Canyon!

Walnut Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 08, 2010
- a parent
My Daughter Kaylee loves her principal, she is very nice always to me and my child, love her, i can see she really cares about the kids here. and her teacher mrs.. goldrod is wonderful, my daughter is learning so much, i am so proud of her and thankful for her teacher and the school pricipal for making this school thde best.


Walnut Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted January 26, 2010
- a parent
I am not impressed with this school at all. He's in the second grade and although his teacher is very nice and caring, my son isn't learning as much as he should. I'm sure it has a lot to do with the increased class sizes and less teachers. But the principal is awful, she's unapproachable and doesn't seem to have any interactions with parents. I am seriously contemplating on taking my son and daughter (soon to be kindergartner) to another school district. There are at least 5 other parents that I have spoken to (kids are in various grades-up to 4th) who feel the exact same way. They are looking at the Santa Rosa School District and I think I will do the same.

Walnut Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
I love the arts and technology focus! Exposure to the arts is so essential for full brain development. I am confident that my child is getting an excellent education because of the professional and enthusiastic teachers he's had. As a special bounus, we have a fabulous after school program where students can choose to focus on additional areas of interest, from drama, keyboarding, strings, and art to rock band and pod-casting. It is truly a great school!

Walnut Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Walnut Canyon Elementary School is the best because of all the caring teachers and staff. They really strive to provide the best possible education even during these tough times. The teachers are very open to new ideas and methods of teaching in order for your child to succeed. We have been at Walnut for 6 years now and have been very happy recommend it to everyone!!


Walnut Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
Walnut Canyon is a wonderful school. It offers a step above the traditional elementary school with its Arts & Technology. The staff, teachers and parents all come to together throughout the year moreso than I experienced when I sent my older daughter to private school and paid $600 a month! It's true comraudary!

Walnut Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
The teachers really care about the students.

Nearby schools

Walnut Canyon Elementary School
280 Casey Road, Moorpark, CA  93021-1131
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (805) 517-1722
Last modified Walnut Canyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top