Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Moraga, CA
Students enrolled: 342
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Los Perales Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
This school is small with only 280 families but this helps the education focus. Parents are encouraged to be involved. The principal is very friendly and really works with parents on their concerns. She even emailed me over the weekend following up on a small question I had. That was outstanding! I think you see some reviews claiming the staff is not responsive which is very unfair. The size of this school allows staff to know each child personally. We have had several teachers over the years. Every one of them works diligently at making sure your kids understand the lessons (common core) which allows kids to be more confident. Overall, I like the experience here with the staff. We have moved several times so this school stands out for us in comparison to other parts of the country.

Los Perales Elementary School 1

Posted October 17, 2013
- a parent
Bad school. Mean teachers. Our son is miserable...principal won't address our concerns. Parents are encouraged to stay away.


Los Perales Elementary School 1

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
I don't get it. The school is great because the parents are motivated and provide learning activities inside and outside of school. Instruction is just ok. A few teachers are amazing, but most are mediocre and lazy photocopying the same worksheets year after year.

Los Perales Elementary School 2

Posted January 24, 2013
- a parent
My child has attended this school for a few years and he is a high performer academically. While it seems that kids are testing well vis a vis other schools, the culture at this school leaves a lot to be desired. Staff are not very responsive to parents and don't communicate well. Specifically this year faculty decided to roll out a new pilot math program but did not do anything to educate parents about the basics -- why it was chosen, what criteria were being used to measure success, etc. I also learned that the last principal was involved in a horrible scandal involving student molestations at the middle school where he was also a principal. it has left a blight on the school -- leadership comes from the top.

Los Perales Elementary School 4

Posted August 08, 2011
- a parent
What is the review good for? I need to see the API scores for all of the school in the district as well as the country.


Los Perales Elementary School 5

Posted May 26, 2010
- a parent
At a time when schools are struggling with greatly reduced funding, the dedicated teachers, staff and parents of LP continue to provide a superior education for its students. This commitment to high quality education (as evidenced in consistently high test scores) is a hallmark of Lamorinda schools and LP is a shining example.

Los Perales Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 08, 2010
- a teacher
I've worked for elementary schools throughout Contra Costa County, including all public elementary schools in Moraga, and Walnut Creek, Wagner Ranch in Orinda and schools of the Contra Costa County Office of Education. LP and Indian Valley are superior choices.

Los Perales Elementary School 5

Posted October 14, 2009
- a parent
Los Perales is an amazing school within an amazing school district. Lamorinda is a highly desirable place to live not only because of its beauty and proximity ot SF, but the schools are the best in the state. Housing prices are high, but in return you get a private school education for the cost of public. Los Perales rises to the top. Anyone living in this neighborhood is lucky to have this school at their fingertips.


Los Perales Elementary School 4

Posted June 08, 2006
- a parent
There is a reason why Los Perales has such incredible test scores and high teacher retention rates!

Los Perales Elementary School
no rating

Posted June 15, 2005
- a parent
Best school in the area. Dedicated teachers and an awesome principal!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Perales Elementary School
22 Wakefield Drive, Moraga, CA  94556
(925) 631-0105
Last modified Los Perales Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Los Perales Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top