Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
269 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Calvary Chapel Christian
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
I have been blown away in watching how the students treat each other. Instead of the bullying that you read about taking place in other schools, I have seen first hand how these students bring that "wounded" student into their midst and build friendships. Awesome!

Calvary Chapel Christian
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
The honesty, integrity, and fairness comes from the staff (teachers and management) all being Christ centered in their values...


Calvary Chapel Christian 5

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
I'm a father of 4 children. My 3 sons have graduated, all having attended kindergarten thru 12th grade at Calvary Chapel Christian School. My youngest, a daughter, is a senior there now, and she too will be graduating this June (She was just recently accepted with a Dean's List scholarship to two different colleges, Biola and CBSU). Having said all of that, trust me when I say that I know this school more most. This school is well managed, WASC accredited, and has some of the best and most wonderful teachers that you'll ever meet. Unlike some of the public schools that I read about, these teachers actually take a warm-hearted interest in the well being of your child. Just as Kenyon Barner, the running back of the Philadelphia Eagles, answered when asked what contributed to his success, we too give Calvary Chapel Christian School a lot of the credit for the success of our children. My wife and I are the blessed parents of 4 great kids that make us proud.

Calvary Chapel Christian 2

Posted November 08, 2012
- a parent
My student had an awesome Kindergarten year! The teacher was very caring and supportive of his unusual home life (being raised by grandparents). However, his first grade year was a disaster! Unfair treatment, incompetent staff, etc. After just 7 weeks into the school year, I was told to withdraw him, or he would have an expulsion on his record! What happened to the other child involved?...NOTHING!! I am now homeschooling him to get him caught up on his self esteem and reading skills!

Calvary Chapel Christian 4

Posted October 21, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended an exclusive secular private school, in the San Fernando Valley, from pre-K through sixth grade, then seventh grade at a "good" public school in Moreno Valley and came here in the eighth grade and is now a junior. The quality of everything at her first school was was truly top notch, though if it weren't for a scholarship, she'd never have been able to attend,as the tuition was in the 4 digits/ month. The M.V. public school was a frightening experience. Some of the staff was more self-absorbed and petty than the students and the social envirenment reminded me of my college experience, not middle school (having sex and doing drugs were major talking points). Then there were the young upcoming thugs and junior gangsters trying to assert themselves, which it seemed as though the school did little about. Coming to CCCS was a return to school as I knew it. When someone is out of line, as soon as word gets out, it's dealt with, in a firm but loving manner. Also, I've read that some people claim that their child was put at an educational disadvantage here, but I believe that a look at the school's record in national testing will dispell that.


Calvary Chapel Christian 3

Posted July 14, 2011
- a parent
My child attended this school for four years. She was considered an advanced student based upon their initial assessment and made the prinicipal's honor roll. I removed her due to the methods the school chose to use to address behavior problems and bullying. They ignored it until forced to deal with it after several requests of intervention. They lacked enough supervision on the play ground . Upon entering another school (public), my child was considered behind and required tutors to catch up, although she was considered advanced at Calvary. Unfortunately, a great deal of coaching and priming prior to and after testing (through retesting) was given in order to ensure the classroom grades reflected well on teachers as opposed to the students' true potential. Parent involvement was not encouraged beyond fundraising. Teachers were often overheard discussing confidential student information with a parent while other parents were nearby. Their strength is the casual/intimate environment, they know names. But after school as parents pick up younger students, both would be exposed to the inappropiate language and clothing of the older students that hung out in the quad after school.

Calvary Chapel Christian 3

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
My son went there from k-4; we took him out of the school during Christmas Break his 4th grade year. The teachers don't have to be credentialed and that was a real struggle for me. We had some teachers we loved but we had some that we weren't impressed with at all. He was for the most part a straight A kid and when I asked for help in math after he had a low score on a test his teacher told me that she charged $30 an hour for tutoring. That wasn t' the only issue - he had to do a formal apology for something he didn t do (he wasn t even in school at the time - he was at the dentist) He told the teachers and the principal this the following day but he was still made to apologize - and all this was done without a phone call to me. The older kids were some pretty skimpy clothing for a Christian School and the language after school isn't what I'd expect from a private school. I don't regret taking him out and putting him in the public school system - in fact he had to play catch up on several subjects - which was very surprising to me since he was always in honor roll at Calvary Chapel.

Calvary Chapel Christian 3

Posted May 09, 2010
- a student
I started attending this school in third grade and absolutely loved it...until sixth grade. The staff changed over the summer and the school became a sort of disaster. It was a great school of education in Christ and regular schooling classes until changes were made. Good teachers were cut and inexperienced ones replaced them. They try to make the school better, but money is wasted on useless projects rather than promised improvements.


Calvary Chapel Christian 4

Posted August 06, 2009
- a parent
My son started CCCS in 6th grade and he loves it, has strong academics and a christian enviroment. We put our daughter there for Kindergarten, she had the best teacher, wonderful learning enviroment. Adminstrators seem to hire family so a lot of relatives on staff, most of the staff very friendly.

Calvary Chapel Christian 4

Posted February 15, 2009
- a parent
Stong academics in a Christian environmnet. This school has a very dedicated and loving staff. The core curriculum is rigorous, on/above par with state standards. Extra-curricular and childcare are a real plus. My child is in her 5th year at CCCS and I think God for leading us here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calvary Chapel Christian
11960 Pettit Street, Moreno Valley, CA  92555
(951) 485-6088
Last modified Calvary Chapel Christian is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Calvary Chapel Christian Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top