Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Jolla Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 751 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2014

My daughter started Kindergarten at La Jolla this school year and I couldn't be happier with her academic progress so far. I was worried at first because of the low rating this school has but it's the school that I'm zoned for and its right around the corner, so I figured I'd just form my opinion rather than just going by the grade on this website. I am so glad I did. My child's teacher is very communicative and responds to all my emails promptly. My daughter is happy and, most of all, challenged. The curriculum is more than satisfactory for her grade level. I'm actually excited to sit down with her every evening and see what new thing she is learning. She is flourishing and thriving in her class. She learned how to read practically overnight. They also have all types of fun events for the children to celebrate the different holidays and just in general. My little girl has so much fun and has made a lot of friends. The campus itself is very clean, modern, and well maintained. It is situated in a nice, peaceful neighborhood. I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

This is a very good school.Teachers are very caring and parents are involved.My daughter has been thriving every since shes been here.She is now a fifth grader.The after school program is also amazing.Thank you THINK TOGETHER!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

My son completed Kindergarten this year. His teacher was Mrs. Ruiz. She is outstanding, she is truly passionate about preparing your child academically. My son has excelled beyond my expectations. Mrs. Ruiz makes teaching fun and interactive. I actually was able to learn and incorporate her teaching style and teach my son while at home after school. She is dedicated, committed, and she just has a love for her students. She does things for the students that she did not have to do. She made every holiday a memorable day, and she took the time to take pictures of every event so that we the parents would be able to take part and be able to enjoy these precious moments. My whole family absolutely loves her. I am going to request her for my younger son when he goes to kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

I absolutely love this school! The teachers are exceptional. I have twin girls in kindergarten one had Mrs. Cossell and the other one Mrs. Ruiz. Both were caring and passionate about their students. Their dedication to the their students was above and beyond my expectations. The principle is more inner active with his students than I have seen at most schools and has encouraged his students achievements in ways that are extremely positive an up beat. I'm proud to have my kids attend this school and I don't see changing them anytime soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

My daughther is in the third grade with Mrs. Hernandez. She is such a great teacher!! My daughter is always excited about learning in her class. I'm so glad that she has such a wonderful teacher. Overall, La Jolla is great!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Two years ago my husband and I took our 2nd and 4th grader out of La Jolla and transferred them to a private school in Riverside CA. Boy were we disappointed! Yes the private school challenged my kids, but the energetic staff, the wonderful principal, the extra activities such as the FNL program was missing. When the school calendar was over we put our kids back into La Jolla. The teachers here strive for excellent education and the basic foundation is there! My kid was in the GATE program...and Mrs Parker is the best! Thank you La Jolla for all you do for our kids each and everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

My wife and I transferred our daughter to La Jolla from another school because she wasn't being challenged academically and she wasn't allowed to be herself due to the rigid discipline that was enforced at her former school. At La Jolla she's been able to grow immensely both academically and socially. She was challenged and was able to get far beyond of what is expected in kindergarten. She had a wonderful teacher, Mrs. Mercado. I've taught elementary school for ten years and I know what is expected and required of a good teacher and Mrs. Mercado far exceeded those expectations. My daughter was always happy going to school and coming home from school and that's a reflection of how good this school is. The principal also needs to be commended for his involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

I've worked at other sites, and I have never seen a more dedicated and energetic staff! It's refreshing working with a staff that all enjoy what they're doing!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 1, 2007

The entire teaching staff, principal, vice principal and office staff are wonderful! They have all made my childs elementary school years enjoyable and a great learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2007

Ever since I enrolled my daughter at La Jolla Elementary she has had better grades and has also enjoyed going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2006

My son started kinder the grand opening year of this school...I couldn't have asked for a better beginning for his education, Mrs. Mercado and Mrs. Jenkins helped my son grow so so much that he was more than ready for 1st grade. I hope the rest of his years here at this school are as full filling as his Kinder year. (it's been one month of his 2nd year, so far so good!)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

752

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

752

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

126 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students39%
Females43%
Males35%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability40%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate18%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate61%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students49%
Females53%
Males45%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner50%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate36%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students35%
Females40%
Males30%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate35%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females54%
Males62%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students48%
Females43%
Males56%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%

Math

All Students53%
Females47%
Males62%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner21%
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females48%
Males37%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability44%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented75%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)44%
Parent education - college graduate44%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students35%
Females29%
Males41%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented88%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate24%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)29%
Parent education - college graduate39%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state67%

Science

All Students33%
Females30%
Males35%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability32%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate21%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)31%
Parent education - college graduate37%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 47%
Black 27%
White 11%
Two or more races 5%
Asian 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/AN/A
English language learners 17%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Wade Hamilton
Fax number
  • (951) 571-4745

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14745 Willowgrove Place
Moreno Valley, CA 92555
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 571-4740

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Paradise Christian Academy
Moreno Valley, CA



Valley Christian Academy
Moreno Valley, CA



Moreno Elementary School
Moreno Valley, CA


Lasselle Elementary School
Moreno Valley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT