Advertisement
Advertisement

Valley Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 145 students

We are known for our loving, Christian environment.
 
 

 
 

Living in Moreno Valley

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,610.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 7, 2014

VCA is an amazing school. When I drop my son off in the morning I feel like I am leaving him with family. Everyone at VCA truly cares about the students and do their best to make sure that each child is growing in faith, growing academically and growing as a person. My son has been attending the school since Pre-K. He and I both love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2014

I wanted my daughter who is now 4 to attend a structured preschool and once we took a tour of the school, my husband and I knew this was the place for her. She LOVES coming to school. She always talks to me about what she learned. She loves her teachers, Mrs. Cruz & Mrs. Siquieros, and they are very friendly teachers. I highly recommend this school to other parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

The curriculum is very challenging and the staff is very dedicated to the students and the Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2013

This is a great school, the love of Christ is clearly demonstrated to the students and the academics are just a good. The administration is loving and the teachers are great. Highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2013

My daughter attended VCA from preschool through 8th grade. We will always have fond memories of her time at Valley Christian. She has a strong Christian worldview and very good academic skills thanks to the leadership and teaching staff. It was great to have her life influenced by caring people with strong Christian character, who cared about her spiritual and academic growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2013

My son has attended VCA for 2 years and I am very happy with the progress he has made academically, developmentally, emotionally and spiritually. I am so excited for my youngest son to start attending kindergarten at VCA during the 2013/2014 school year. The staff at VCA are WONDERFUL and truly care about seeing the children grow in every aspect of their lives. They are open to advice and develop relationships with the families in order to meet the family's needs to the best of their ability. This school is truly a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2012

What we love about VCA is the loving, safe family environment. No matter what we are going through, they are here for us with a hug and a prayer. The teachers are patient and loving towards each student - ready to help them no matter what area they need it. The administration deals with parents with a smile and humility - ready to be used by God to further His kingdom. They are an inspiration to me. We have had our children enrolled at Valley Christian Academy for over 10 years. Our two older children graduated and our youngest will graduate this year. Rosa Munoz, Psalms 91:1-2
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2012

My daughter has been a student at Valley Christian Academy since Pre-K and is now a 4th grader. After moving to the Inland Empire from the L.A. area in 2006 I was looking for a school where I could leave my child and be comfortable with her safety and to know that she was receiving a Christian education. The staff at VCA are wonderful and the tuition is very reasonable. The class size are small therefore the staff are able to give the children one on one attention. I would highly recommend this school to anyone. Kelle Wallace
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2011

We have 3 children attending valley Christian academy. Our eldest daughter has attended for over 8 years. This school does not just boast academic excellence in a Christian environment, but delivers. The teachers are great and come along side us parents providing safe, shared value based learning you want your children to receive. Palmers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

My daughter attended Valley Christian Academy for 7 years and graduated in 2008. During her time at the school, my wife and I were consistently impressed by the level of dedication and commitment shown by the entire VCA family. The teachers are a very loving group and their integrity in helping mold our child according to biblical principles was exactly what we were looking for. Our daughter has gone on to a public high school, but she has developed into a very well-rounded student/athlete, much of which I attribute to her time at VCA. We still visit the school and and will always consider ourselves a part of the VCA family. Kevin Hawkins
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

Both of my sons graduated from Valley Christian Academy and have gone on to excel both academically and spiritually. Our family was blessed by the love shown by the teachers and staff at VCA. This is a GREAT school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

I am responding to the review left by another parent that said that the school doesn't meet proper academic standards. My daughter has attended VCA from K-8th grade and graduated from VCA in 2008. She went on and is now attending Valley View High School. (The public high school in our district.) Her writing skills are tremendous and obtained a GPA of 4.3, ranking #1 in her freshman class of 762 students. This sophmore year, she also has a 4.3 GPA and is ranked #2 out of 835 students. This doesn't happen by chance. She was taught memorization skills, proper study habits, and was given all the tools she needed to be successful. I believe it is up to each individual child to use the tools they are given. I want to say thank you to VCA for doing such a teriffic job with our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

If you don't want your child to learn about christianity, and the bible don't send them to a Christian school. I have seen a lot of parents pull there kids out of this school for reasons that are beyond me. They have to wear uniforms, they are too strict,ETC.... My oldest has been going to VCA for 6 yrs and my youngest for 3 yrs, we have never had a problem, they are both doing wonderfully. At VCA the kids are a grade or more ahead of public school. They have wonderful teachers who love the children and are always there to help. This school is excellent. They are focused on Christ, and the academis are great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

This school is unsatisfactory. The school is to well focused on the christian/bible section and don't have enough lessons on academics. My kids aren't meeting their proper standards. We went there for two years and switched schools because we moved. They are more behind than any student in their class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

I am very happy with this school. My daughter loves her teacher, the staff and her classmates. I love that my daughter is learning christian disciplines. I am sad that she can't attend kindegarten here due to the age cut-off. Hopefully, she can comeback to the school in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 37%
White 31%
Hispanic 25%
Asian 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Patrick Peacock
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Brethren
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (951) 242-6185

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • softball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $4000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Woodcrest Christian School
Arrowhead Christian Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26755 Alessandro Boulevard
Moreno Valley, CA 92555
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 242-5683

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Moreno Elementary School
Moreno Valley, CA


Paradise Christian Academy
Moreno Valley, CA


Valley View High School
Moreno Valley, CA


Mountain View Middle School
Moreno Valley, CA


La Jolla Elementary School
Moreno Valley, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT