Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
27 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (5 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (5 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 70 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Silicon Valley Flex Academy 5

Posted April 10, 2016
- a parent
I love this school for my children. The teachers are very involved with each child and work hard to make them succeed. Everyday the staff wants to be there. They actually enjoy their jobs and take a lot of pride in their school. (Which is not my experience with the district teachers). the atmosphere is different than at a district school. The kids all get along and if there is an issue the staff is able to resolve it quickly since they have really great staff to student ratio. This school is focused on academics so there is no sports programs like you wil find at district schools. Therr are plenty of programs city wide that can suppliment, so this is not an issue for our family. The benefits for us far outweigh the crowded schools with students slipping through the cracks and overworked teachers. Flex also iffers college classes to the high schoolers so by the time they graduate they can potentially earn their associates and get a jump on their higher education. Anyone who is even thinking about this schools, I highly encourage you just to come tour.

Silicon Valley Flex Academy 4

Posted April 04, 2016
- a parent
My son started in 6th grade and now in 10th. It does take a bit for the students to get used to the way things are done here but well worth it in the end. Have an open mind and support your student with a great learning experience. Great faculty, great parent involvement, great learning experience for your student.


Silicon Valley Flex Academy 5

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
Best school ever! Great staff and caring teachers. My son loves going here. It's flexible and challenging which is great for him as he's an advanced student. On the other end is my daughter who usually struggles with school and hates going. She says this is the best school she's ever attended. She loves her teachers, the environment and the school community. There is no bullying at this school and the kids genuinely care about one another. Because the school now is offering COLLEGE COURSES through Foothill college, my son is able to earn college credits before he even graduates! And what's better than FREE college courses with no out of pocket costs to us? Lastly, I must add that the school has an awesome special education department that is in house and on site EVERY DAY! No other school in the district has this.

Silicon Valley Flex Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted February 14, 2016
- a parent
My daughter has been impressed with the 8th grade math teacher. Her words exactly, "best teacher ever, and I never thought I would like a math teacher!"

Silicon Valley Flex Academy 5

Posted February 14, 2016
- a parent
My daughter just started mid-year 8th grade at Flex and the administration and teachers have been amazing! I have paid for private school for years and this is 10X better. The special attention and skills/level based learning is perfect for my advanced daughter. She is no longer bored!


Silicon Valley Flex Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 20, 2015
- a community member
Yes, this year parents and students were invited to attend an anti-bullying event where we learned not only how not to be a bully but also how to intervene peacefully to prevent bullying. It was great!

Silicon Valley Flex Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 20, 2015
- a community member
The student-teacher ratio is so good that there are plenty of opportunities to teach the kids how to develop good habits. On my daughter's first day and at her first assembly, I witnessed the staff instructing the former students on how to welcome and help the new students, complete with how to introduce themsevles and what to do to help others.

Silicon Valley Flex Academy 5

Posted December 20, 2015
- a community member
I have a daughter at Flex and my son will be starting at Flex next year. So far, I feel like we're getting a private-school experience, for none of the cost. Here's why: 1. The student-teacher ration can't be beat! 2. The grounds are stunning: marble entry-way, sky light, arboretum, beautiful bathrooms, bright lunch room. Each child gets their own computer and cubicle where they keep their things. 3. Flex can accomodate gifted students as well as special needs students, as well as anyone in between. 4. There is a real zero bullying policy and bullying is a thing of the past for us. 5. They offer state-of-the art technology. Students do half of their work online, and the other half is offline with a teacher. It's the best of both worlds. 6. There are plenty of after school clubs and programs: robotics, manga, french, spanish and more... 7. The staff, teachers and principal are super caring. This is very different from what we've experienced with other public schools. 8. When students get their grades up, they get rewarded with fantastic field trips: Google, Paypal, Intel, Stanford Univ., San Jose Univ., Aviation Museum, Tech Museum, etc. This really motivates kids and inspires them to go to college. 9. Ms. Wood is a former teacher who really cares about her students and it shows. She is a very positive individual and her attitude is felt throughout the entire school.


Silicon Valley Flex Academy 5

Posted November 11, 2015
- a community member
My son started 7th grade at Flex and is thriving in this learning environment! He is engaged and the small classroom size is excellent for him as he can get distracted easily. He loves that he gets a weekly plan and they break out into different working groups depending on the needs of the student. Tests are taken on-line so parents can see results immediately and track progress. They also have great clubs - one of which he really likes called "enrichment club" where they take field trips to educational places even silicon valley businesses. My son plays sports after school and thus he is able to schedule in homework around his weekly schedule. This is a free, public charter school located in Morgan Hill!

Silicon Valley Flex Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 09, 2015
- a community member
She is extremely positive and inclusive, and has a can-do attitude. When I had questions or concerns, she made me feel that any obstacle could be overcome.

Nearby schools

Silicon Valley Flex Academy
610 Jarvis Drive, Morgan Hill, CA  95037
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 70 reviews. (408) 659-8088
Last modified Silicon Valley Flex Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top