Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lewis H. Britton Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Morgan Hill

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $467,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 23, 2014

The teachers are inspiring to the students. They motivate all children not just those that learning comes easy. The students perform well because they have perfected an environment that self motivates. Every child counts equally. Instead of "not good enough" they convey "you can do this". The school is a little run down but its been there a while. I think they were just given funds to renovate. At graduation they took the time to acknowledge every child on some level of achievement. Each child got to walk up, shake hands with 6 important top level school officials, of which each one genuinely congratulated them for their achievement. They were not filed through like a mill. These people dont just talk. They walk the walk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2014

I looked at the achievement data in great detail and was surprised to see that Britton is outperforming schools in Los Gatos and Palo Alto...good work Britton. I also have looked at the acheievement data for Morgan Hill Charter and it was very interesting to see that like subgroup scores at the schools designated program improvement sites (Walsh, El Toro, and San Martin) as well as Britton actually outperform the same subgroups at MH Charter. The education in the regular public schools is better than the Charter...they just have higher scores because they have a very highly segregated student body...but unfortunately the data supports that those high performing charter students would be doing even better in the "worse" schools in the district. Such is the misleading nature of trying to judge a school by a single score.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

I am unhappy with Britton Middle school, although my child is on the honor roll and excels in this school I find I have to babysit the parents more than my son to update his classwork on a timely manner and mark his assignments as completed. When you ask for direct from the Principal he states that the teachers are not required to update grades/ reports online this is a courtesy. Why have the website then? Its frustrating, trying to excel but I cannot babysit 5 teachers and my child. As both husband and I commute to work there is not bus system in Morgan Hill for the new Charter schools or I would definately switch him for the better communication and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

Britton has been so good for my children!! So glad I sent my children there and look forward to sending my youngest children there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2014

As with all middle schools, there are issues with 13 and 14 year olds. However, this school is great. My son has thrived there. It has excellent leadership, good teachers, and many great clubs and athletics. Parents are involved and there are organized dances and tons of other activities. My son loves it. There scores are good and I agree with another reviewer that it should at least get an 8. Parents make sure you read recent reviews!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2013

This school has a few good teachers. I highly recommend parents to be aware of what does and doesn't go on in the classrooms. I think the Principal needs to spend a lot more time observing his staff in action. Low expectations and behavior problems are everywhere at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2013

Go Bobcats! My kids attended Britton from Fall 2009 to Spring 2013. They thrived here - sports, advanced academic classes, music program, clubs. Most of the teachers are very good, but Principal Webb is the best! He sets the tone for school spirit, cheering on honor students, sporting events, and activities throughout the year. There are great programs here for everyone from Special Ed, to ESL, to AP. Also, my kids always felt safe going here - the teachers & staff are very attentive & responsive. We'd rate Britton a 9 - Mr. Webb, the teachers & staff should feel proud of the school environment they've cultivated these last few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

It's a shame that great schools maintains such old reviews which don't reflect the current status of a school. Britton has been an outstanding experience for my three sons. For anyone who looks at data, Britton outperforms most area schools in math. Many students are challenged one or two years ahead of grade level. Britton still manages to offer a full menu of electives and activities. Their sports program is outstanding. The parents work together to make the school a community. I really can't say anything but good about Britton and anyone who thinks otherwise should get the facts. Thank you to the Britton staff for making middle school a great experience for my kids.


Posted May 6, 2011

britton middle school has great learning environment. the teachers are very helpful and resourceful, and throughout the year they succeed. students who attend this school will most definelty achieve what they set out to. it's great that this school has so many activities and clubs to help new students socialize and meet new people. i would most definelty recomend this school to others


Posted April 7, 2011

Mr. Bremis is a horrible teacher who sits on his students! Otherwise great school! Awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

This school is great best teacher is mr.bremiss and kids are friendlyy i recommand for u to come here


Posted September 10, 2010

I moved 2 of my kids here from Charter School. It has been so much better for them. They made friends and it helped prepare them for their high school years. The staff were very attentive and the teachers were very concerned about their students and liked teaching. I think this school was night and day the best for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

The staff and parent volunteers at Britton work hard to create the best learning experience for the students. As a teacher at Britton, I find the staff, students, and parents to be friendly and enthusiastic. I love working at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 24, 2010

This is the worst school I have ever been too and I have been to many different schools. It's not like I hate school. I'm in all advanced classes including geometry and I'm a 4.0 student. The teachers could care less about their students and the principal and vice principal are the worst out of the whole staff. I'm glad to be graduating this year and leaving this horrible school behind me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 17, 2009

I love Britton! its great and everyone who works there is super caring and nice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

My daughter is an 8th grader at Britton. I would have never guessed how hard the 7th grade would be! My daughter came from a very small school. She had to learn to adjust socially. The diversity of population of the school taught her to be 'street smart'. I can't thank enough the teachers and the staff for their support. This year I wanted to get more involved at school. I am very impressed by the quality and the commitment of these teachers. I definetely think the school would do even better with a higher parent involvement. The Home and School Club is really dedicated to make a difference by uniting the latino and the caucasian community. This is a great Middle School ! You will only get out of it what you put into it! So get involved, and make this short two years count!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2008

My son is an 8th grader at Britton. The teachers and staff are supportive, very appreciative of parent help and try to provide a safe, caring and engaging environment for learning. Although the diverse student population sometimes brings negative elements into school experience, I think this reflects issues within family environments more then lack of response from school. Parents who get involved and show how much they value education typically have kids who mirror these same qualities! So get involved and help your kids in classes with a weak teacher where they need help and enjoy the great things they are leaning in their other classes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

I am a student here and I was in the hospital and every one cared. When i got back a month later I got 7 cards and lots of hugs. even a party. Sure there is alot of gang students (im not one) but it has alot of wonderfull and caring teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

Too many violent students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2006

Both my sons have attended Britton Middle school and each has gotten out of it what they put in. The education is avaiable, but resources are limited. Science classes have little to offer. The teachers range from being excellent to poor. The new principal is wonderful and is making great strides in improving the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

802

Change from
2012 to 2013

+24

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

802

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+24

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

4 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

313 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
30%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
55%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
0%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
5%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females62%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability35%
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner11%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant education40%
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate82%
Parent education - declined to state40%

Math

All Students54%
Females52%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant education31%
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate27%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students35%
Females38%
Males32%
African Americann/a
Asian73%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability34%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only38%
Migrant education0%
Gifted and talented76%
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate55%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate54%
Parent education - declined to state21%

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females56%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asian78%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability29%
Students with no reported disability57%
English learner22%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant education18%
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate20%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state41%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students7%
Females0%
Males11%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino9%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged10%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability7%
Students with no reported disability7%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only6%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students94%
Femalesn/a
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students61%
Females59%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asian83%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner28%
Fluent-English proficient and English only68%
Migrant education39%
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate84%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Science

All Students70%
Females62%
Males79%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino56%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disability60%
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner38%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant education47%
Gifted and talented96%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 54%
White 33%
Asian 6%
Black 3%
Two or more races 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/AN/A
English language learners 17%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

80 West Central Avenue
Morgan Hill, CA 95037
Phone: (408) 201-6160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Shanan Academy
Morgan Hill, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT