Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Morgan Hill, CA

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Live Oak High School 5

Posted March 27, 2013
- a parent
I have really enjoyed having my kids here. The various booster groups seem to be key to getting the extras at the school. We just got a great sign at the front of the school that took a few years to fundraiser for but glad it is in. My kids are involved in the Ag program and Athletics. Coming from SJ, I am glad my kids have lots to offer them. I will stay involved as there seems to be good things happening. Three more years to go!

Live Oak High School 5

Posted August 16, 2010
- a parent
We have had 3 children at LO and it has been a great school for our kids. Parent participation has been good and they offer lots of programs for the kids. We help at the school so see first hand what is going on. Go Live Oak Acorns!


Live Oak High School 4

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
Tremendous parent involvement at all levels. Relatively high number of extra curriculars considering there are only 1100 in the students body. Great selection of AP classes.

Live Oak High School 1

Posted March 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Live Oak High School 1

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
The assertion that parent participation is the 'key' to obtaining a satisfactory education at Live Oak is an interesting perspective. If by participation we mean outright homeschooling replacing rather than complementing that which is supplied at Live Oak, I'd agree. It was a surreal experience to be informed by one presumably well-meaning teacher at a back to school night early in the year that throughout the upcoming semester, time would be dedicated to learning vocabulary words necessary to 'ensure that your child need not take remedial classes when they attend college, which will save you money.' I don't know what to be disgusted by more, that rather than simply assigning more challenging material to read, teachers would resort to a learning device more appropriate for the fourth grade than a high school, or that I should feel relieved that my wallet is just a little safer.


Live Oak High School 5

Posted February 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Live Oak High School 0
no rating

Posted April 21, 2008
- a parent
I agree with the last review. Parent participation is key. Parents help and volunteer when they are in elementary school and disappear in the upper grades which their child has the most obstacles. PARENTS help, donate, and volunteer. Our kids are worth it.

Live Oak High School 4

Posted August 07, 2007
- a parent
Like anything you get out of it what you put into it. Parent participation in any program your children are involved in is essential. Parents and students who do not put forth the effort should rethink blaming anyone other than themselves. My child has had a good education at Live Oak and when talking to other parents of other schools they all have their issues, but being an active parent makes the difference. Parents are there children's lifelong teachers.


Live Oak High School 4

Posted April 04, 2007
- a parent
The school provides excellent opportunities for all levels of abilities. Students are challenged and rewarded for accomplishments. AP programs are especially well managed. Students needing additional assistance do not lose out at the school. Teachers take responsibility for the success of the students and contact parents with concerns. A super learning environment.

Live Oak High School 1

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
Teachers here expect students to be disinterested in the subject material and education in general, and it shows, judging by the heaping of juvenile 'extra credit' assignments. Irredeemably awful and a complete waste.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Live Oak High School
1505 East Main Avenue, Morgan Hill, CA  95037
(408) 201-6100
Last modified Live Oak High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Live Oak High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top