Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Crittenden Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
At Crittenden Middle School students are taught, and encouraged to advocate for themself and others.

Crittenden Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
If something happens within our community the school coordinates help in a timely manner to help


Crittenden Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
The communication is open, constant, and clear with students and families. Teacher and Staff are always available to help the student with academic and/or social issues.

Crittenden Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2015
- a parent
We love Crittenden! My daughter is a student at Crittenden and loves it. She has had a great experience learning and socializing. She feels comfortable reaching out to her teachers, teachers are welcoming and helpful. I know many of the students due my work volunteering in schools and Girl Scouts, they all seem happy and thriving as healthy happy pre-Teens.

Crittenden Middle School 2

Posted May 31, 2015
- a community member
My sister went to this school and was bullyed pretty badly by students and staff. I was absolutely shocked at how unprofessional they were at handling this issue. It was a very hard time in all of our lives. I do have to say that if you are millitary or prior millitary make sure you know whats going on in your son/daughters life because my sister was tormented by the students because of that. They would call my sister and my family baby killers. Just all around bad experience. I really wish the staff would have stepped in and provided help instead of turning cheek. So sad.


Crittenden Middle School 4

Posted June 08, 2013
- a community member
Loved this school! I graduated a year ago & it was very good. I had some bullying issues that were dealt with right away & most of my teachers were very good :) But some problems are that the secretaries are super grouchy and mean, as well as some of the teachers can be really rude at times ._.

Crittenden Middle School 4

Posted June 05, 2013
- a community member
I loved this school a lot. The music program is taught by two great music teachers. The orchestra and band always gets high scores when the participate in music "field trips" such as going to Anaheim and San Jose. There weren't many bullying problems (at least in my grade). My only concern is that I took computers and the servers were painfully slow. Another is that some of the teachers didn't really know what they were teaching, and some completely relied on 21st century technology for projects. This would be a problem for the parents who don't have access to the internet and computers.

Crittenden Middle School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
My son is in his second year at Crittenden and we are continually impressed by the dedication and organization of the teachers, many of whom spend abundant out-of-school time developing their professional chops with additional collaboration and training. 7th-grade algebra, Beowulf, dissection labs, hands-on math projects...we feel confident he is building the strong foundation he'll need for advanced high-school work. Besides that, he enjoys band & jazz band, lunchtime intramural sports, after-school speech & debate and homework help...and we didn't need to leave our down-to-earth, diverse community to find these opportunities. Yes, budget cuts have hit the state and district hard, but I'm amazed what this staff accomplishes on a shoestring. The principal's open-door policy means that all parent concerns are heard and treated with respect. Our cadre of parent volunteers is small but growing, and you couldn't ask for a more balanced, friendlier group.


Crittenden Middle School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter is in her second year at Crittenden and we continue to be amazed at the great teaching staff and administration there. I honestly do not understand where negative rumors about this school come from unless it's parents who have no first hand information and are just continuing to pass them around with no evidence. Her teachers have all been excellent--enthusiastic, innovative and understanding of adolescents. Our daughter has had plenty of opportunities to get involved in extracurricular activities, plays in the band--led by an outstanding conductor--and participates in Destination Imagination through the school's GATE program, also led by a fabulous teacher. It really is a shame that this school doesn't get the positive "press" it deserves. The ONLY negative is that parent involvement in PTA could be higher. I guess I should be happy that Crittenden is not overcrowded and we can keep this great school to ourselves!

Crittenden Middle School 3

Posted August 15, 2011
- a community member
I personally think that, Crittenden was a decent school. I really enjoyed the three years I attended, though, it did lack in a few aspects: many teachers were unprepared and just taught as they go. Aside from those unprepared teachers, many were friendly and helpful. Bad influences were also taught from a number of students, and many lazy students weren't moved to try their hardest. Also, due to the budget cut, many activities, field trips, and extra-curriculars were cut, causing many students not be as involved in learning. Overall, the school was satisfactory. This school would be great if your child likes to be involved and active with the sports and activities the school provides.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Crittenden Middle School
1701 Rock Street, Mountain View, CA  94043
(650) 903-6945
Last modified Crittenden Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Crittenden Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 32 reviews. Top