Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Granger Junior High School

Public | 7-9

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

Granger is a good place to go where I feel safe. Most of the teachers help us out, but sometimes it's boring. I wish we had more cooler ones. My 2 AVID teachers and my Mr. Math 7 teacher are THE BEST!!!


Posted April 24, 2013

Granger is OK. There are volunteer supervisors whom aren't motivated to help students, and there is a mind numbing "Game Room" with two X-Boxes, what a waste!.


Posted January 27, 2012

i am currently a student in Granger Junior High School. I believe that its a very diverse school, and it makes learning fun. But when testing time comes along it gets hectic. But the teachers always find a way to get us prepared.


Posted October 17, 2010

I'm a student currently attending granger. Granger teachers are too mean, too nice or too strict. In my biology class, everyone copies each others homework because our teachers nice. One of the schools only geometry teachers, just tells us to read this, do that and answer. Then almost all teachers have made fun of a student at one time even, jokingly. The school board doesn't care about student opinions. If they did there would be a student council like in an elementary school 2 miles away. For 3 years I've been writing letters to the school and signing petitions. The school emails don't work.t In addition, the academic programs are too challenging and only a little helpful. All of my friends having been getting bad grades around the time of quarterlies. To now after break.The teachers tried to cram a lot of info the week before testing.


Posted December 12, 2009

This school is highley educated. I look up to this school because i am a 7th grader currently going to Granger Junior High. The students there agree that Granger is the best middle schools in the district. Granger has the best classes there and supports their students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2009

This school is amazing. It has excellent teachers. Success is the only option at Granger. It has been nominated to be a blue ribbon school. They have improved over the years. They aslo have a program called aec witch it helps students by getting them to stay after school and do what they missed out on and there is tutors from SDSU to help them. They are the onl school in the distric that has it. It also has mandatory retake test where if you got a 65% or lower you would go to tutoring with the teacher review and retake the test. This school is truly amazing and I am proud to be a Garnger griffin.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 25, 2008

Granger is an okay school,o-room till 5:00 isnt that to long ? Some kids come home tired and miss out on stuff.Sometimes granger can be a little to strict .8th grade teachers are really nice :) all of them especially the 9th :D.Hopefully,granger wont be that strict anymore but from a 1-10 to me as my opinion would be a 7 :/ but yeah saturday school 8-12:( its hard for me:( i lvoe grangers ASB,TEACHERS,STAFF,NON UNIFORM DAY AND MUCH MORE THEY HAVE enstored for us students:]Oh im glad there always helping us get better algebra is HARD hahah :]
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

Granger is the best school in my opinion the principal is focused on the students and their education. Even now i have been trying to find another middle school that is that advanced to have geometry for 8th graders. I wish that i wouldn't need to leave but it's true 'Once a Griffin, Always a Griffin'
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

I think Granger Jr High is an amazing school. I'm going into my final year at Granger and, honestly, I dont want to leave. Granger's faculty and staff has really helped me a lot in becoming a better person. I'm staying at Granger for 9th grade year because I feel that it will better help me prepare for High School. 'Expect More, Achieve More.' Those are the words I've heard since 7th grade, and they have really helped me throughout my 7th and 8th grade years there. Although my last year at Granger is coming up in September, I know: 'Once a Griffin, Always a Griffin' Here's to my second home and family:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2008

I think this school is great, i have worked her for about 15 years if you want your child to have a good education this is the school to go to.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 4, 2008

I LOVE MY SCHOOL!!! All the teachers are committed to teaching the students and the students have so much spirit:) I could never dream of going to another school because I have really great friends and AMAZING teachers!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2007

I wish I could agree with the other comments but since Mrs. Mitchell and her staff continue to fail in providing me with my student's progress reports and other important information I am still in the dark about many aspects of my child's education. I have requested information numerous times, only to have it fall on deaf ears...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2007

I have been a residence of National City for 2 years. Granger Junior High School cares about the students education and safety. Thank you to the principal Mrs. Mitchell and all the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2006

i think this school is great but need more games and activitys!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

I have been a resident in national city for the last 30 years. I love my community because when the children who have grown up here and give back to work in this city as a state worker more gets accomplish to help our kids in the school district. More importantly when anyone who cares about working with our 10 elementary schools in national city then feeding into our two middles school then onto our big family high school Sweetwater parents and my community does recognize your accomplishments. I want to say thank you Mrs. Susan Mitchel your the best thing that happen to our community from all of our parents. Again Thank You!
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

802

Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

802

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-30

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
97%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
62%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
0%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
0%

2010

 
 
7%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
82%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 25% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
21%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 65% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Biology/Life Sciences

The state average for Biology/Life Sciences was 58% in 2013.

257 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 62% in 2013.

254 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 16% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
8%

2011

 
 
11%

2010

 
 
6%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 45% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
26%
Integrated/Coordinated Science I

The state average for Integrated/Coordinated Science I was 26% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 38% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 51% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students78%
Females73%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino100%
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)77%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females50%
Males48%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disability14%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented69%
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate63%
Parent education - declined to state45%

Math

All Students60%
Females57%
Males62%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Filipino92%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disability38%
Students with no reported disability61%
English learner31%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented84%
Parent education - not a high school graduate49%
Parent education - high school graduate54%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students45%
Females49%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino76%
Hispanic or Latino38%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disability64%
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner23%
Fluent-English proficient and English only54%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduate58%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state57%

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females59%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino77%
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner14%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduate42%
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state47%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students0%
Femalesn/a
Males0%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino0%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged0%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students52%
Females57%
Males49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino85%
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented60%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)56%
Parent education - college graduate79%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students44%
Females42%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino69%
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disability16%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduate26%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)46%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state44%

Science

All Students61%
Females58%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino83%
Hispanic or Latino55%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner24%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented99%
Parent education - not a high school graduate45%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate72%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate64%
Parent education - declined to state43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students28%
Females24%
Males31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability26%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only39%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented36%
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate33%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)15%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Algebra II

All Students82%
Females83%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino94%
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only82%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented81%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Biology/Life Sciences

All Students52%
Females49%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino71%
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability6%
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented72%
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate42%
Parent education - declined to state46%

Earth Science

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Females69%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipino81%
Hispanic or Latino59%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduate55%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state38%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students27%
Females30%
Males22%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino29%
Hispanic or Latino25%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Not economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability26%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented28%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate11%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)34%
Parent education - college graduate32%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Integrated/Coordinated Science I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

World History

All Students84%
Females74%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipino75%
Hispanic or Latino84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented86%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate79%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
Two or more races 5%
Black 2%
White 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/AN/A
English language learners 27%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Richard Carreon
Fax number
  • (619) 267-4107

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Granger Avenue
National City, CA 91950
Website: Click here
Phone: (619) 472-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lincoln Acres School
National City, CA




Palmer Way
National City, CA


Las Palmas School
National City, CA


Ira Harbison School
National City, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT