Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

44 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Challenger - Newark 5

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
There is nothing like this school. Challenger School is the best preschool in our area. We live in Hayward, and most preschool that we have here are just a waste of money. In some preschools here (Hayward) the teachers are not well trained, the curriculum does not prepare children for the challenges when they go to regular schools, students can not even speak clearly, and aree not trained to do their best. My son attends Challenger School in newark and he is so much smarter than most children we know wha are about the same age as he is, or may be older. Although he is only in Kindergarten, he reads very well, does his homework on his own, he can write sentences, and is able to spell words just by pronouncing words....through phonetics. I have encountered a lot of children from other schools that can't do the same.

Challenger - Newark 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
My son attended the school from Kindergarten till 3rd grade. The school does an amazing job of developing confident, capable and well-rounded happy children. They have art, music, P.E, computers and critical thinking. The curriculum is very well balanced and contemporary.


Challenger - Newark 5

Posted February 18, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school since her Kindergarten Summer program there. We were so impressed with her progress (and enjoyment) that we decided to register for her regular program in first grade. She's now finishing her 2nd grade there. The curriculum is quite demanding but manageable. There are arts, music, computer programming, PE (daily) classes and other activities. Even though the school does not require parent involvement in school, I think all parents are helping/involving in their kids' learning/studying. The school is populated with a great majority of kids of South Asian descents (due to the demographic composition of the area)

Challenger - Newark 4

Posted December 07, 2005
- a parent
This review for the Ardenwood campus of Challenger . My son is currently in the first grade. This school is definitely focused in academics and has a demanding schedule for 6 yr olds in my opinion. Even his own teacher acknowledged that. This past year they have added art, computer and P.E. classes since many parents have demanded it. This school may work well for children who need structure. Our son has done well with this school, but we are now considering pulling him out and enrolling him in a school that has a more well-rounded curriculum. This seems to be the thinking of most parents we talk with as well.

Challenger - Newark 4

Posted October 08, 2005
- a parent
Very academic { preschoolers are taught things like Oxidation). Overall happy, but wished if playtime was balanced with academics. Teachers are good but felt they were strict and rigid.


Challenger - Newark 3

Posted October 08, 2005
- a parent

Challenger - Newark 5

Posted September 28, 2005
- a parent
Academic programs are great.though they push a preschooler a little i feel they can take that.i am happy with the music and art programs.my daughter started singing and started experimenting with crayons in a month she started school.parent involvement is nil though.overall i am very happy with the school.

Challenger - Newark
no rating

Posted September 26, 2005
- a parent
The academics at Challenger are quite good. I'm impressed with the phonics and science programs. However, the math in pre-K is not as impressive, and there doesn't seem to be much time dedicated to art and music, with no time dedicated to sports.


Challenger - Newark 5

Posted June 05, 2005
- a parent
It is a great school. The level of education is high. It is academic.

Challenger - Newark 4

Posted June 03, 2005
- a parent
Challenger provides a very academic-oriented program. Most kids are reading fluently when they leave Kindergarten. Homework is heavy! Kinder is about 30 mins a night. 1st Grade is 1-2 hours/night. We find it sometimes hard to get our son to do the work without a lot of fighting. He did like the school though. THey provide music, art and PE several times a week but it is still very academic. There are no field trips or off-site excursions. Most of the children seem to come from Indian or Chinese descent - at least in the Fremont area. This is due to the fact that these cultures put a very high premium on academics. We did find that many of the kids were also somewhat spoiled and our son had some problems with kids. I am somewhat disappointed that it is not more well rounded.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Challenger - Newark
39600 Cedar Boulevard, Newark, CA  94560
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (510) 770-1771
Last modified Challenger - Newark is a Private school that serves grade K
Top