Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K
Private
Newark, CA
Students enrolled: 44

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Challenger - Newark 5

Posted November 08, 2008
- a parent
There is nothing like this school. Challenger School is the best preschool in our area. We live in Hayward, and most preschool that we have here are just a waste of money. In some preschools here (Hayward) the teachers are not well trained, the curriculum does not prepare children for the challenges when they go to regular schools, students can not even speak clearly, and aree not trained to do their best. My son attends Challenger School in newark and he is so much smarter than most children we know wha are about the same age as he is, or may be older. Although he is only in Kindergarten, he reads very well, does his homework on his own, he can write sentences, and is able to spell words just by pronouncing words....through phonetics. I have encountered a lot of children from other schools that can't do the same.

Challenger - Newark 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
My son attended the school from Kindergarten till 3rd grade. The school does an amazing job of developing confident, capable and well-rounded happy children. They have art, music, P.E, computers and critical thinking. The curriculum is very well balanced and contemporary.


Challenger - Newark 5

Posted February 18, 2006
- a parent
My daughter has been at this school since her Kindergarten Summer program there. We were so impressed with her progress (and enjoyment) that we decided to register for her regular program in first grade. She's now finishing her 2nd grade there. The curriculum is quite demanding but manageable. There are arts, music, computer programming, PE (daily) classes and other activities. Even though the school does not require parent involvement in school, I think all parents are helping/involving in their kids' learning/studying. The school is populated with a great majority of kids of South Asian descents (due to the demographic composition of the area)

Challenger - Newark 4

Posted December 07, 2005
- a parent
This review for the Ardenwood campus of Challenger . My son is currently in the first grade. This school is definitely focused in academics and has a demanding schedule for 6 yr olds in my opinion. Even his own teacher acknowledged that. This past year they have added art, computer and P.E. classes since many parents have demanded it. This school may work well for children who need structure. Our son has done well with this school, but we are now considering pulling him out and enrolling him in a school that has a more well-rounded curriculum. This seems to be the thinking of most parents we talk with as well.

Challenger - Newark 4

Posted October 08, 2005
- a parent
Very academic { preschoolers are taught things like Oxidation). Overall happy, but wished if playtime was balanced with academics. Teachers are good but felt they were strict and rigid.


Challenger - Newark 3

Posted October 08, 2005
- a parent
Academically the school is good

Challenger - Newark 5

Posted September 28, 2005
- a parent
Academic programs are great.though they push a preschooler a little i feel they can take that.i am happy with the music and art programs.my daughter started singing and started experimenting with crayons in a month she started school.parent involvement is nil though.overall i am very happy with the school.

Challenger - Newark 0
no rating

Posted September 26, 2005
- a parent
The academics at Challenger are quite good. I'm impressed with the phonics and science programs. However, the math in pre-K is not as impressive, and there doesn't seem to be much time dedicated to art and music, with no time dedicated to sports.


Challenger - Newark 4

Posted September 09, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Challenger - Newark 5

Posted August 08, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Challenger - Newark
39600 Cedar Boulevard, Newark, CA  94560
(510) 770-1771
Last modified Challenger - Newark is a Private school that serves grade K
Challenger - Newark Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top