Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

4 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lincoln Elementary School 2

Posted March 16, 2015
- a parent
Although the school itself is pretty good, the administration is terrible! Ever since this new principal has taken over a couple of years ago, the decorum of the school has gone down significantly. The prior principal, who's now at a different Newark school, had Lincoln in tip top shape - EVERYBODY knew who she was and she knew ALL the kids by their first name and became very personable which in turn just turned that school into a rock star school. But since Mrs. Ehrlich has taken over, more fights have happened on campus and the environment has quickly shifted. If you talk with the students on campus (I have multiple times since I have children that attend there currently) they will tell you how non responsive their principal is and how abrasive she can be most of the time. The more seasoned teachers who have been there the longest are absolutely FANTASTIC!!!!! They care about these kids and have their best interest at heart and it shows throughout the school. The PALS group (mainly the parents) at Lincoln are a phenomenal group of parents who really do care about our children - THANK YOU!!
2 people found this helpful

Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
Lincoln has the strongest parent community I've ever seen! Even as a newcomer this year, parents have been inclusive and eager to welcome us into their Lincoln family! Staff and parents are supportive of academics and extra curricular activities!


Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
Lincoln has many opportunities for growth and learning. The teachers have been welcoming and kind and attentive to any concerns. I have appreciated all of the support for my child and the dedication to make him succeed!

Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted March 11, 2015
- a parent
Lincoln Elementary School in Newark, CA is a small public school in a clean, quiet neighborhood. It has classes ranging from transitional kindergarten through sixth grade. The school has excellent staff and teachers, and my children are excelling with the many programs offered to the students -- science lab, computer lab, library time, music, and PE -- in addition to the core subjects covered in the classroom.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted March 12, 2013
- a parent
I genuinely cannot express how much we have loved Lincoln!! The principal is hands-on and just plain awesome! She knows each student by name and has a great relationship with the teachers on staff, as well as, the parents of students. The front office staff is kind, informative and helpful. The teachers (although, of course I don't know them all) seem to actually love teaching - they want to be educating and investing in their students! My kids have enjoyed Lincoln from the day they started! There is a lot of diversity in student body, which is nice but also has challenges when it comes to academics. The teachers can only do so much for their students who are either advanced or behind. PALS (parents of Lincoln students) work incredibly hard to support, fund-raise and invest in the school! A lot of involved parents who care and are willing to put forth extra time, effort and love to make Lincoln a better school! Truly a gem in the public school system!! (I know they are not all this great)!!!!


Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
I cannot wait for my Kindergartner to start Lincoln this fall. We shopped Christian schools- and honestly THIS public school is more friendly, loving and kind than any Christian or Private school in Fremont/Newark. The teachers are the best, they truly care- I love public school.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2013
- a parent
Lincoln Elementary has been a great environment for my children. The teachers go beyond their comfort zone to give each student a chance to learn and excel. Last few years saw a lot of programs being taken down due to lack of funding. The PTA is active and coordinates great fundraising events. Increasing parent participation and volunteering has been encouraged through the passport. Talking to teachers to coordinate how parents can help with the classroom activities ensures the teachers have more time to concentrate on the children. The 5th and 6th graders could be used to model more activities for the younger children in addition to fundraising.

Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted November 06, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. I can't say enough about it!! From the amazing Crossing Guard Scott who is there even when the school district said they weren't going to pay him. All the way to each teacher. The teachers are AMAZING! They all go far beyond what they are asked. I was a nervous mother with her fist child going off to kinder 3 years ago and she was the kind of girl who you had to peal off of me.. after the first day of school she came home excited for each day that she got to go back. The teachers are firm yet loving at the same time. I know many of them that stay with kids after school if they need it or would like the extra help. I love this school!!


Lincoln Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2010
- a community member
The staff and parents have really made Licoln become more of a extended family. With the currecnt economic state of the unified school system that is a very good thing to have.

Lincoln Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 25, 2010
- a community member
This school cares about every student.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lincoln Elementary School
36111 Bettencourt Street, Newark, CA  94560
(510) 818-3500
Last modified Lincoln Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lincoln Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top