Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Newark, CA
Students enrolled: 998
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newark Junior High School 5

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
The leadership, teachers and administrative staff are great! My child is having an excellent experience and is doing well.

Newark Junior High School 5

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
I have a long commute to work, but we will not move because we are so pleased with the quality of education at Newark Jr. HS and Schilling Elementary. Our kids LOVE school (how often do you hear that?). Classroom size is reasonable and kids get individual attention. Most of our neighbors are either from the technology or biotech industries, and you see that the kids don't fall far from the tree. The kids are bright! The teachers help each child to determine his or her path. Not all kids choose college, but a lot do! This school teaches great values and respect.


Newark Junior High School 4

Posted January 23, 2013
- a community member
I know the teachers and staff here work really hard for the student. Great school!

Newark Junior High School 2

Posted September 26, 2012
- a parent
My child is doing fair in school. getting decent grades and stays out of trouble. Not nuts about the new principal. He is snooty, and always figiting with his cell phone. He isn't interested in getting to know his students unless they are the attractive. well-liked females. I have a son.

Newark Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
Both my daughter and I met our first truly best friends there and have nothing but good memories of the school.


Newark Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
I just went to back-to-school night for my 8th grade son and I was very impressed with his teachers. Each teacher had at least 10 years teaching experience and still showed passion for their profession. I have 2 older children who went to this school and another younger daughter to follow. The two older children are doing fine. One is at Newark Memorial and the other starting Cal Poly. This school can provide a great education for your student.

Newark Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
NJHS has some really awesome teachers

Newark Junior High School 1

Posted July 05, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Newark Junior High School 1

Posted June 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newark Junior High School 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a student
I have been going to this school just for 8th grade, I really like it!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newark Junior High School
6201 Lafayette Avenue, Newark, CA  94560
(510) 818-3000
Last modified Newark Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newark Junior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top