Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
270 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Edward School 5

Posted June 11, 2014
- a community member
This school has an excellent enviroment for your children. The teachers and students are very kind to one another. So you should consider registering your children into St. Edward Parish School.

St. Edward School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
my school is must be have translater. than must be interesting to the student take care.


St. Edward School 1

Posted March 13, 2014
- a parent
Very disappointed. I applied to get my son into 2nd grade and took a tour of the school. The school is small for the amount of kids they have per class (35 p/c) but they seem to have it well organized. Everything went great and it seemed like the ideal school for my son up until I mentioned my son would need special accommodations based on his 504 plan. He went in to take the placement test and less than a week later I received the denial letter from them explaining how "...his needs are being met far better at his present school, Schilling, than we could do here." AMAZING! So public school is doing "far better" than a private school that charges close to $8,000 annually, not including uniforms, lunch, etc. The part that makes me really, really upset is that they didn't even take the time to ASK ME what the "accommodations and modifications" were! How could they make a decision like that when they haven't even seen his 504 plan... Very sad to see that a school who follows the Catholic faith doesn't take the time to ask basic questions. In summary, if your child has ANY type of special need, don't bother applying here because they don't have the accommodations needed.

St. Edward School 5

Posted August 21, 2011
- a community member
I've been at this school for 5 years and so far everything has been great. The teachers here are great and they don't go too strict on you. It has excellent curriculum and the teachers are very helpful. I'd recommend this school to the approximately 6,000,000,000 people in the world.

St. Edward School 4

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
My child has been very happy in this school loves friends and never complains about too much homework. They have a lot of church activities weekly. Excelent curriculum! I recommend the school but also speak to parents about parent teacher communication.


St. Edward School 4

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
I am a current parent and a former student. Things have definately changed since I attended, but the one thing that remains the same is the high quality of education. This school is a private school so it is pricey, but compared to the public schools in the area you definately get your moneies worth! I just wish that their 'Parent Points' were easier to earn for families where both parents work full time.

St. Edward School 5

Posted October 11, 2007
- a community member
it is a wonderful school that has great teachers and curiculums. They score above normal schools and have many fun activity for children

St. Edward School 4

Posted May 21, 2006
- a parent
The quality of the academic programs are very well structured. All grade at the school have music as a once a week subject. The school offers many opportunities for volunteer work.


St. Edward School 5

Posted March 22, 2006
- a parent
My daughter attends this school currently. Most the kids in my family attend here. I greatly recommend this. All the teachers genuinely care for the kids. Parent involvement is very high.

St. Edward School 5

Posted January 17, 2006
- a parent
Very good parent involvement. Very safe - doors are kept locked during school hours at all times. No bully factor - school policies are always enforced. Great accessibly staff & teachers.

Nearby schools

St. Edward School
5788 Thornton Avenue, Newark, CA  94560
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (510) 793-7242
Last modified St. Edward School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top