Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Newbury Park, CA
Students enrolled: 384
 

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

16 reviews of this school


Cypress Elementary School 1

Posted August 28, 2013
- a parent
Cypress is a good school if your child has a good teacher. The principal is open only to certain parent's requests for particular teachers. I'm not sure why some parents get every request and others don't get any requests. Watch out if you ask that your child not be placed in a particular class, they do it anyways. There are some teachers that are not good.

Cypress Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2013
- a parent
Excellent community, great parents and great teachers!!! Art, music and P.E. offered... School events are great as well.


Cypress Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2011
- a parent
My children have enjoyed this school immensely. The teachers are wonderful and the parent involvement is very high. Great all around school with a fun and interactive art program and many other extracurricular activities available.

Cypress Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
Great school, wonderful families, and committed faculty! Go Cubs!

Cypress Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2009
- a parent
My two daughters have attended Cypress for their entire elementary education and I have been very happy with the school as a whole. We have been fortunate to have excellent teachers and the after school care is amazing. The music/art programs that have been offered are fantastic and so much better than anything we had in LAUSD. Nothing is perfect, but Cypress has been great!


Cypress Elementary School 5

Posted March 31, 2009
- a parent
My son really enjoys going to Cypress. He is lucky to have a great K teacher, which I think is important. Great campus too. Only thing is that it seems the lunch time for K kids is kind of short and my son usually doesn't have enough time to finish all his food.

Cypress Elementary School 2

Posted October 20, 2008
- a parent
We did not like this school. The teacher was harsh, administration unconcerned and the 'enrichment' afterschool program a joke. The serious lack of communication with parents and being treated with disrespect made us take action to move our child to a better school environment.

Cypress Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 31, 2008
- a parent
Cypress is a GREAT!! school. My son loves going to school everyday and Ms. Valentine is one of the best pricipals in Newbury Park. They have a great system.


Cypress Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2008
- a parent
We had a mixed experience with this school. Some exceptional and enthusiastic teacher; and some absolutely horrible teachers coasting toward retirement. Caution to parents starting out in early grades: explore your childs teacher in great detail as you may encounter teachers that will possibly impede your childs progress. Having said that, I must say that the teaching in higher grades specially 3rd/4th is outstanding. The curriculum is great and the TLC just right. Leadership by the principle is weak. Simple issues are overlooked and swept under the rug to show everything is working well. Overall a good school but careful navigation required at all times.

Cypress Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2008
- a parent
Too many teachers and adminitrators who only care about their tenure, benefits, salries and pensions!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cypress Elementary School
4200 Kimber Drive, Newbury Park, CA  91320
(805) 498-6683
Last modified Cypress Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cypress Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top