Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Walnut Elementary School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a community member
Overall terrible school. Bad teachers, lunches, campus, and principal. I had the worst years of my life in that school.

Walnut Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2013
- a community member
Please take the time to visit the school, speak to the staff including the principal, and take a tour so that you can make an informed opinion. The standards by which the students at Walnut are taught, are the same standards all students in the district are taught. Ask about bullying prevention. Ask about the curriculum. Ask about supplemental programs such as music, art, computers, and PE. Look at the dates of the reviews. Look at test scores, and remember that California expects schools to hit 800. Anything over that is exceptional. Keep in mind that staffing, including administration changes over time. Be diligent in your questionning and keep an open mind.


Walnut Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Amazing faculty and staff. Impressive hands on principal. My daughter has been going there since Kindergarten; she is now in Fifth grade. She has advanced academically and socially. I know we are very lucky to be in the conejo valley unified school district. The community of parents at this wallnut school is very involved. I feel we look out for each others kids. The score at Walnut has been an 8 for the last 5 years I'm hoping it will go to a 9 this year. I also need to mention the teachers at Walnut continue to grow themselves by reading, staying up with what is going on in the world, and they look at ways to help improve their teaching skills for the benefit of our students.

Walnut Elementary School 4

Posted June 03, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Walnut Elementary School 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Walnut Elementary School 3

Posted January 13, 2009
- a parent
I have to drop the rating down some as one of my sons has been suffering from the same group of bullies for over a year now. The discipline of this group has been ineffective and they have escalated their harassment. School officials have down played the harassment so far...

Walnut Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2008
- a parent
This is the best school my daughter has been too. She loves all here teachers and enjoys showing up everyday.

Walnut Elementary School 5

Posted July 09, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Walnut Elementary School 4

Posted July 04, 2008
- a parent
This is an exceptionally operated Elementary School. The staff is friendly, helpful and tactful. A little improvement on securing the grounds would help me sleep better.

Walnut Elementary School 1

Posted June 18, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Walnut Elementary School
581 Dena Drive, Newbury Park, CA  91320
(805) 498-3608
Last modified Walnut Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Walnut Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top