Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

754 students|Newhall
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wiley Canyon Elementary School 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
This once great school is going down FAST. Teachers are transferring or taking early retirement. The good reviews for this school are not the recent ones. Check the dates. The administration is leading this school in a downward spiral. I don't know why the school board allows it. Maybe it's time for a recall. Myself and my friends are changing schools next year. Shame on the administrator who ignores parents concerns and let this once great school down.

Wiley Canyon Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
My child's teacher used to say "Well, if you don't learn it this year you can learn it next year." Wouldn't that put a student a year behind?


Wiley Canyon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
No, how can they when it is not modeled by the staff. The staff don't seem to enjoy being at work.

Wiley Canyon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
My child has had many things stolen from her desk and backpack. The teacher's response is always the same. "Well you shouldn't have brought it to school." Not a helpful answer when it applies to school supplies. The teacher herself has had things stolen from students and punishes the whole class instead of finding out who is taking things.

Wiley Canyon Elementary School 4

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
I think the start of using the Core standards will help bring Wiley Cyn Elementary up in Star testing rankings. I have high hopes for this procedure. I'm excited to see what the new year brings. The PTA all seem very caring about bringing the best for the kids.


Wiley Canyon Elementary School 3

Posted April 18, 2013
- a parent
I agree with others that have stated that this school USED to be the best in the valley. After a change in administration, this school lacks communication, a family feel and seems to be more concerned with the ESL students, than the lower API scores. With my other two children, I was very pleased with everything about the school, including the teachers and how they were taught. They were definitely prepared for Junior High and beyond. But sadly this is not the case with my child currently in the school. They are always bringing homework home that has mistakes on it, being given tests after they've been absent and those scores are placed on their report card, was never taught that spelling was important and has a teacher that doesn't want to be there. So now I have a child that I feel is not prepared for further school years at all. At one point I was thinking of homeschooling. Now, I wish I had or at least transferred to another school when I had the chance. I'm sad that I have to write such a review. I really used to love this school.

Wiley Canyon Elementary School 2

Posted January 17, 2012
- a parent
This was once the best school in the santa clarita valley! Not so true now. My kids have been in this school the past 4 years and have always been very pleased... till a change in major office staff that came in and has changed everything. Test scores have droped and my kids are not happy about going to school anymore! I will be pulling my kids from this school now!

Wiley Canyon Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school. Great curriculum. Professional Teacher. Go Miss Latrace


Wiley Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
My child has been going to Wiley for the last 4 years and this school is the schools is clean the teachers are great the Principal is very involved great PTA and awesome production Center.

Wiley Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a community member
I'm a stepmom and an aunt of six children that have gone to this school. They have a great faculty and the school is well kept.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wiley Canyon Elementary School
24240 La Glorita Circle, Newhall, CA  91321-2304
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (661) 291-4030
Last modified Wiley Canyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top