Advertisement
Advertisement

Newport Christian School

Private | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newport Beach

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,050,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,210.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 27, 2014

Newport Christian is a WONDERFUL school. Teachers and staff truly love and care about the students. It's more that just a school, we have built strong relationships with the staff and they strive to work along side the parents to make sure our children have the best learning experience. The new state of the art school building is almost finished and we are excited to be in it next school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

My husband and I, are so happy with this school. Great teachers, safe place, and best curriculum. Kids are happy to be there and learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2010

The teachers, the staff, and the curriculum are all top-notch! We drive 17 miles to get to this school, but the drive is worth it. Our oldest is in first grade and does arithmatic better than me, and he's reading WAY ahead of his grade. Our youngest is in K-5 and is already reading short sentences and doing math in his head! Newport Christian School is a Ministry of Liberty Baptist Church, Newport. The church and school staff are the most genuine Christian human beings we've ever met...Jesus is spoken here! Sincerely, The Gilberts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2009

Great academics and teaching in a christian school. My kid was reading and doing math in K at 5 years old as were all the other children. The first through sixth grade kids are one to two years ahead of public schools and for the price, my kid loves his classmates and learns in a safe christian environment. The classes are longer than other christian schools and their is day care 9inexpensive) for the kids after school and before. Best school in Newport Beach/Costa Mesa/Irvine area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

Wonderful, wonderful school. Beautiful location in the 'heart' of Newport Beach. Although the classrooms for the elementary school are a bit dated, there are plans for a new school building and gymnasium in the works. Very dedicated, patient teachers who make learning fun for children. Children learn how to read and learn cursive writing before beginning the first grade. No child is 'left behind' at any grade level. Gifted children are challenged. Also, the school is a tremendous value. Tuition is about $6,000/yr for full day students and can be paid in monthly installments. Daycare is available before and after school until 6:00 pm for an extremely modest fee. Without question, this surely is the best school in Orange County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

There is no better school than this. 10 kids per classroom means plenty of dedicated teacher time for each student. The school environment is upscale, clean and condusive. The staff and parents are friendly and understanding. You could stereotype any private school in Newport Beach as snotty, pretentious and judgemental but you wont find any of that here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

I went to that school for 3 years and even though it was small it was really friendly and showed the message of God to everyone there. It prepared their students for the years ahead.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 16, 2007

I think it's a great school-very small class sizes which means nobody falls through the cracks or fails to get the help they need. Some grades have other learning opportunities beyond the academic core classes. Parents are involved to a great deal. It's a really nice atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2007

This is the best school in Orange County. Wonderfully engaging Christian curriculum. My child has attended since PreK where all the children learn to read as four year olds. The teachers use the school day to its fullest by teaching instead of assigning massive time-consuming projects and endless homework. The teachers are fine Christians and exemplary role models, and we have never had an issue with a teacher. The SAT scores are very high. School is developing its sports program. Very safe and secure environment. Parents drop their children in the morning and drive away with a smile on their face!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2006

I cannot say enough about this school. My son was considered to be bright/possibly gifted in a popular Irvine school, however he has a very strong willed personality, and sometimes was in conflict with other children. This was causing him a lot of sadness. Although he was doing well academically, he was very unhappy. The wonderful staff at NCS addressed the social issues with love and firmness, and encouraged him to fullfill his academiic potencial. He can't wait to get to school every morning. The teachers are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 43%
Hispanic 37%
Two or more races 11%
Asian 8%
Black 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 Bison Avenue
Newport Beach, CA 92660
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 760-5485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Eastbluff Elementary School
Newport Beach, CA



Newport Montessori School
Newport Beach, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT