Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 5

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
Andersen's philosophy on building each student's character and self esteem has proven to be extremly successful.

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 18, 2010
- a parent
It is a great school with great staff and awesome programs for our children to learn (art, science, computers, music). We love Andersen!!


Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
Andersen is a great school in a wonderful neighborhood where a large percentage of parents are actively involved in supplying the support needed to maintain standards based programs in addition to music, art, and science!

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
They do a great job teaching and it has been really good for my grandchildren. They are in a great neighborhood.

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted October 17, 2010
- a parent
The school as the great teachers, they are encouraging to students, excited about teaching, and have great spirit. Our PTA is very involved and raises lots of money for the school.


Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
Amazing school! Family environment, caring teachers, excellent academics- a true gem!

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
An amazing school with fabulous teachers! The principal and teachers are always willing to work with you on whatever is best for your child. The school has a great community feeling and the kids really feel like it is their school!

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 3

Posted January 24, 2009
- a parent
There are some excellent teachers at Andersen. However, the school is incredibly political and clicky. You are 'in the know, if you are in the know'. Unfortunately, it's all about the test scores and the teachers are forced to teach to the test. The high-achievers fall through the cracks and lots of attention is placed on raising up the scores of the lower achievers. There is tons of parent involvement and fundraising, but the principal is not open to new ideas, and moving forward, or even open to dialogue about ways to improve the school. The school is good and the principal doesn't see any reason to discuss improvement or change.


Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 3

Posted June 22, 2007
- a parent
While most families in our neighborhood admittedly find Andersen to be an exceptional school, our experience there was quite mixed. Our son had a fabulous kindergarten teacher. We were told by other teachers, staff and parents who previously had similar issues that the principal would not deal with the situation, so we pulled our son mid-year, placing him in a local private school where his attitude and grades suddently and dramatically improved. I would advise other parents (new to the neighborhood) to get local family advice as to appropriate teacher selection when they enter their child in Andersen for the first time.

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School 4

Posted May 22, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roy O. Andersen Elementary School
1900 Port Seabourne Way, Newport Beach, CA  92660
(949) 515-6935
Last modified Roy O. Andersen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roy O. Andersen Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top