Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 87 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted July 24, 2016
- a parent
Our two kids went to CdM the entire way through and both hated it. Cruel, clicky students who only care about social status, narrow-minded teachers who could care less about students wholistic well-being and are only into testing and grades, many drug abusing, entitled students driving BMWs and MZBs, etc. Avoid at all costs.

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted January 12, 2015
- a student
I am a senior of CDMHS, thankfully have only been here for 3 years instead of the regular 6 years at this school. There is no diversity, the students are cruel evil creatures and will do anything and everything to maintain their social status. Academically very challenging because the curriculum is so much more advanced than other high schools around the country. The news is always here covering the cheating scandals, prom drafts, etc.. Terrible high school coming from a student who isn't socially challenged or a 'Narnian' as called by other students from all high surrounding high schools including CDM. Go to harbor, it's better. Socially and academically. You won't be sorry.


Corona Del Mar High School 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a community member
The school is great. I enjoyed going there. I was really saddened when I was transferred to Etiwanda High school. CDM is academically high compared to other schools. The teacher are great. They help you any time you ask for it. They are really proactive they hate it when students are not doing anything. At first I though of it as an announce but after coming to Etiwanda high school I understand why they did. I highly recommend this school.

Corona Del Mar High School 4

Posted September 11, 2013
- a community member
I love CdM, because it's a community school, and living in Newport Beach, the kids that I've grown up with on my street are the kids in my classes here. Sports are a big enough deal to be really fun if you're interested, but there are lots of other ways to get involved, like clubs (Best Buddies!) and the four leadership groups. Academics are good, but not great. Freshman year is pretty rough. It goes uphill from there, but the freshmen and middle schoolers generally get stuck with the bad teachers. And insider tip: if you're planning on taking honors bio, try and get in with janet dichiro - over 90% of the class does her study group, and it fills up really quickly! You'll want it, because the teachers have no clue what they're talking about. Most of the classes are pretty good, but there are little tips like the honors bio study group for everything. If you put in the effort, you can get what you need. That said, you can also skate by pretty easily if that's your objective.

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
i think this school gets a superficial rating based on it's location. I warn parents of children entering from many of the really solid elementary schools into this program. the touting of their academics is based on a philosophy of teaching by fear rather than teaching by encouragement. This may be a wonderful school if you have a child with disciplinary issues however if you have a child that generally follows rules and behaves they will be subject to the harsh scare tactic methods. The teachers are sub-standard and the students are generally out of control.


Corona Del Mar High School 2

Posted July 13, 2013
- a parent
I graduated from this school, and now my daughter is entering 9th grade, after 2 years of (same campus) CdM Jr.Hi. academically, it is great, however a child's "education" is not all about grades. the school is RUN by parents who are wealthy & as spoiled & undisciplined as their kids. There have been numerous scandals (check the news) resulting in NO (or minimal) consequences for the serious offenses committed by popular or athlete students. teachers who are expect discipline & accountability are bullied by the parents, while lazy ones lauded. We just had BOTH the principal & VP give notice, in the same week. you need to seriously weigh your priorities before choosing this school...

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
We have never been so disappointed by a public school before. We have lived in many different states and thought that Newport Beach, California would offer our daughter a decent education. We were so wrong. Please note that we are talking about the Middle School here. The teachers are uncaring and unprepared. The principal never responds to our issues, despite endless letters and e-mails of complaint. From the very first day at the school, Ms. Bloomfield (Algebra) was purposefully unhelpful and unkind to our daughter. It was such a negative experience for us at CdM that we withdrew our daughter before the end of the year was over. Not only that, but we've all decided that she is not ready for high school and so we will do 8th grade all over again (with a mix of homeschooling along the way). By trade I am a public school teacher and I have never been so confused by the actions of the majority of adults at CdM. Let's just say that they are all too happy not to be able to help you in any way. A grave mistake we made choosing CdM. Would not recommend it for any Middle School aged child.

Corona Del Mar High School 1

Posted April 04, 2013
- a teacher
Horrible acidemics and unfriendly students. Citizens of Corona del Mar couldn't be any more socially uninviting, and the cost of living is way too high. Stay away from this area if possible, it may as well be in hell.


Corona Del Mar High School 4

Posted May 08, 2011
- a community member
I really enjoyed this school socially speaking, because of the large student body, there was a group of friends for every student to join and eat with during lunch or break. The education quality was also not too shabby, to say the least. My only gripe with this school was the bullying I experienced throughout.

Corona Del Mar High School 3

Posted May 02, 2011
- a parent
CDM is a great school for high achievers but misses the mark when it comes to children with learning disabilities. Some of the very teachers (RSP) who specialize in helping the children actually create more disadvantaged students. There are some teachers that shouldn't be allowed to teach children with disabilities because they either don't know how or don't care. Also, when a child with learning issues is put into the general population the teachers seem to be unaware unless the parent contacts every teacher and is constantly reminding them of the situation. The social culture at CDM is also very cruel to teenagers who don't fit the mold. I think the school needs to address the bullying and harassment more. Too many rich and popular kids get away with heinous behavior at the expense of others and it needs to stop.

Nearby schools

Corona Del Mar High School
2101 Eastbluff Drive, Newport Beach, CA  92660-4530
(949) 515-6000
Last modified Corona Del Mar High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top