Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Washington Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 894 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2014

George Washinton is a really good school, I transfer my son on November and I see a lot of good changes how he is learning on this new school his teacher is one of the best teachers the he never had before Her name is Mrs: HOLMES she is a 4th grade teacher on George Washinton Elementery. Mrs: Holmes is professional and she does care about her studens. Thank you Mrs: Holme
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Washington Elementary is one of the best schools in all of California. Washington Elementary has some of the most amazing and talented teachers. These teachers not only teach, but they have the talent to encourage and inspired my two sons. Sra. Rios has had both of my sons in her class and she is just amazing. Sr. Andrade is also an amazing and talented teacher, and soon both of my sons will have had Sr. Andrade. These two instructors should be role models for all other teachers. Teaching is not just about covering what the state requires; its about motivating the children to learn and to enjoy learning. It's about caring about their students and putting in the 100%+ effort. Children learn from their examples and these teachers have set an A+ example for their teachers. These are instructors that the students will come back and visit even after they have completed high school and college. This 'rating' is to show my appreciation for their kindness, their skills and their efforts in not only teaching my children, but also setting a great example for them on how to become better 'individuals'. Sr. Andrade and Sra. Rios you are 'Awesome", and I want to thank you for all your efforts!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

I agree the dual program is absolutely great, unfortunately the rest of the children are only taught the basic and I know they can be challenged academically. Principle should look into the upper grade teachers on making sure they are preparing them for middle school. Following up on academic enrichment lesson plans that get into practice. Teachers might be gentle and happy but children also need teachers to believe in their learning abilities to succeed in the real world. Teachers can built on them good learning habits by sending more homework or projects, not one yearly project or one weekly homework, children are capable !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

Every time I read someone lobbying for or against people whether it refers to a Teacher, Asst. Principal. or Principal, I am reminded of how political schools have become. It is seldom about the kids and all too often about the personal agendas of individuals. All I can say about this school is that it is great, with all the staff and administrators doing the very best with what they have. None of them have enough time in any day to meet every want but they do their best. The kids are awesome and the school has made great progress over the past several years, far beyond what it had accomplished in the years prior. I am grateful for all the teachers, staff, and administrators.


Posted August 11, 2013

My child attends Washington Elementary in the dual immersion program. Her and I love the program and the teachers. The only thing I see that is wrong, is with the principal not allowing parents in the lower grades to walk their children to their rooms in the morning on the first day of school. It was s o unorganized and lots of children were crying and not knowing where to go. I understand the reason the principle wants a closed campus for safety reasons, but the first couple of weeks would have been ok for the parents and the children to become aware of where to go and then after the first couple of weeks make it a closed campus. Some of the children got lost in the school and didn't know where to go. Other then this the teachers and office staff, especially Danelle, are very nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This school is very unorganized. I don't feel welcomed and now I'm a bit concerned on to what the treatment will be towards my child. Paperwork doesn't get filed or processed on a timely matter. It amazes me on how this school is even running. They should get a better computer system so that their files don't get lost, AGAIN. They need to hire more organized people to help them run that place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2013

Washington is only getting better! This year the school has started a new program for parents to become more involved called Eagle Eye. Any parent that fills out the proper paperwork, fingerprinting etc. may participate. The objective of the program is to have parent volunteers positioned throughout the school catching students doing something good. Kids love receiving an Eagle Feather as a reward for their positive behavior. I for one appreciate the fact that as a whole Washington is focusing more on the positive than the negative. Thanks again Washington!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2013

Don't send your kid here. Safety is an issue. My kid was physically shoved by an older bigger kid and I complained to principal and vice principal but yet still nothing was done to the kid who shoved my daughter. Also the entry routes to drop off and pick up kids is like 91 freeway. You will be parked in line for a while out on main street just to get on the drop Off/ pick up route for your kid. Looking into private schools in the area. Also testing scores are not so great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I have been to many schools and dealt with the office staff. Washington has one of the best staff. They are welcoming to those that enter the office. They are quite helpful to students that come to the office. They really get to know the students. I also like the sense of humor the office staff has. Additionally, the teachers are quite friendly to visitors, more so than many other schools.


Posted August 27, 2012

I have been with Washington for several years now and I have seen some changes good and bad. The one thing that has not changed is the professionalism of our office staff. The first people you meet when you register your kids in school is the office staff and my kids love them! They want to include them in birthday celebrations lol. My daughter wants a "Barbie Birthday Party" and asked if Barbie could come. lol I came to realize she meant the principal. lol The teachers are outstanding. The many programs they offer are fantastic and my kids love them. Did I say I am also a neighbor to the school? We have a new PTA president this year and I have seen her everyday and many days prior to school opening. When I saw her during summer and she said hi and we talked for quite awhile. She was just checking on the school and was concerned about the increase in the local graffiti and was asking if we had a neighborhood watch in place. OMG!!! I feel like between the office being a place my kids are not afraid to go to and great teachers and a PTA that not only cares for my kids but also my neighborhood! Good job Washington you got the whole package going on!! Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

This school has a very diverse population and deals with a lot of outside factors. The teachers do the best they can. They are always offering tutoring and going the extra mile for the students. There are a lot of after school activities and fundraisers. The dual immersion teachers work very hard and do so much extra work to make sure my kids don't fall behind. They are very supportive and friendly. This school is great and I really love the dual immersion staff and program as a whole!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

Love my son's teacher and have had little contact with the principal but from what I've seen she's very professional and friendly...unfortunately I have to agree about the front office staff-they're rude, unfriendly and not once have they made me feel welcomed there! If it wasn't for my son's wonderful teacher I would probably be checking out new schools! Also, tried to get involved in PTA stuff but have felt excluded/same people run it and not really open to newcomers....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2011

Totally agree that admin are very rude in the front office. The school is okay, but am trying to have a better education for my 2nd grade son & hope to find a better school for him next year. I'm just not fully satisfied with the teachings of facilty. Sounds more like dual immersion gets the upper hand in education at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2011

Admin Staff is very rude. It's taken me multiple bad experiences with the staff before I wrote this review. The administrative staff; the ones in the front office at Washington Elementary School are two of the most horrible inconsiderate uncaring people I have ever encountered anywhere. I pray my 2 children do not need to come into contact with these 2 individuals. Do they not realize that they are the first faces anyone sees when they go to the school. What happen with introducing yourself; a pleasant smile; how are you today; some kind friendly words; I stop by to drop off an items for my two children; it took 10 minutes to get them to tell me what the protocol was; I had to ask 10 questions to figure out what the protocol was. It could have taken 2-3 minutes. Say something friendly; ask who the person is; who the child is; ask what the purpose of visit is; explain protocol; all that would take 1 minute; instead you made me feel very uncomfortable & unwilling to leave items for my children because YOU could not ensure that someone else could walk into the office & take the item; which was an expensive item that the child needed for school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

I will not send my son to this school again! I see lots of teachers and parents there have discrimination... Also my son hated the school... Just a not great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

My daughter attends to this school and I consider this one of the best schools I've seen in California.... the teachers are totally committed to help the students all the time. My daughter is on 5th grade in the dual immersion program and I'm so happy because she's in the honor roll and she can perfectly speak, read and write two languages, English and Spanish. I love this school and I appreciated all the effort from teachers and stuff to make of this school one of the best ones...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

PARENTS: DO NOT SEND YOUR CHILD TO THIS SCHOOL. Unfortunately many of us don't have much choice, except when the entire community stand up, fight with district for qualified administration, teachers, and this is the only way to make this school better. You're waisting your child;s life otherwise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

I am one of the luckiest parents in this area to have had the honor of having my two girls in the Dual Immersion Program offered at this school. My oldest who is 9, is at the top of her class reading/writing at a 8th grade english level (GATE Program) and reading/writing at a 5th grade spanish level (she's only in 3rd grade). My youngest who is in kinder is being introduced to another language in which english is our only language we speak in our home. I have been so greatful for the great teachers in this program and highly appreciate what this school has done for my kids! My children's success is not only with their teachers, but with being involved as a parent...team work pays off!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

We've moved from the area and are dissapointed our new school isn't what Washington is. We miss the teachers and the education my son would've gotten if we remained. Good Job. Washington...Keep it up!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

I am so proud of this school and the incredible improvements they have made. The teachers have really embraced new methods and the leadership by the principal has been refreshing. It is great to see the high scores this school posted after so many mediocre years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

806

Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

806

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-28

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

124 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students46%
Females51%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learner12%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate37%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)42%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate52%
Parent education - declined to state50%

Math

All Students54%
Females55%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate40%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)58%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students42%
Females43%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability41%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females63%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino52%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability55%
English learner26%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate8%
Parent education - high school graduate77%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)57%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate55%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Females74%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only78%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate68%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females77%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learner52%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate92%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Females63%
Males60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate68%
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to state60%

Math

All Students44%
Females45%
Males43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability45%
English learner30%
Fluent-English proficient and English only48%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate15%
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state27%

Science

All Students43%
Females43%
Males42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate32%
Parent education - high school graduate32%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Females69%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate67%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate85%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females58%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate44%
Parent education - high school graduate44%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate77%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
White 17%
Black 4%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/AN/A
English language learners 28%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Bonita Barnett
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (951) 736-3479

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1220 West Parkridge Avenue
Norco, CA 92860
Website: Click here
Phone: (951) 736-3326

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT