Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
36 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 46 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


John B. Monlux Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Thank you for all you do, from coming in early to staying late. Your time and dedication have not gone unnoticed.

John B. Monlux Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
I feel the staff care deeply about the students, and strive to help them grow into well educated people.


John B. Monlux Elementary School 5

Posted April 29, 2016
- a parent
Monlux rocks! Huge campus, with ample playground space to run around and play games. A garden center, and surrounding neighborhood is safe and nice. Also offers LA's Best FREE afterschool program. They offer a snack, homework help and activities - can't beat that. Love it!

John B. Monlux Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2014
- a parent
so far I'm very happy with this school. My son started kindergarten in August and I love how much he has learned in such a short time. They keep parents up to date with everything. I did not like the after school coach for the kindergarten class, I had to remove him from the program. I'm not going to go into details but perhaps kindergartners should be watched with someone that has patience with young children. The pta is doing a great job. I'm enjoying being a parent to a tiger

John B. Monlux Elementary School 3

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
It's been better. It has a FABULOUS new music program that is in danger of being cancelled! Some teachers will communicate with you and some cannot be bothered! Almost Zero parental involvement. Same 5 people in the PTA at every event running things so that late,loud,entitled parents can show up late, dressed like they're going to a club not a school, and demand special treatment! Can't wait for my kid to get out of this cesspool! 25 more school days..More parents need to get involved or they will soon be paying for public school!


John B. Monlux Elementary School 4

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
My daughter has been at Monlux since Kindergarden. She is in the fourth garde magnet program for math, science, and technology. She loves it! She is challenged, and excited about the projects. She loves the science teachers.

John B. Monlux Elementary School 5

Posted December 24, 2012
- a community member
I went to this school from 3rd grade to the end and I loved it they taught me a lot more than I thought I would learn in elementary school the teachers are very helpful and very nice and so is the principal now I am in high school and I still remember all my teachers from Monlux because they teach that well for you too remember them <3

John B. Monlux Elementary School 1

Posted April 03, 2012
- a parent
Monlux is NOT a good school. Parking is impossible in the morning and a lot of parents will fight/ curse you for a parking. Principal is not involved at all. She does not take time to get to know the families. Most of the teachers are there because they have to me there and are not genuinely concerned with the students. At one time, a concern was brought to the attention of one of the teachers, behind your back she commented that you are wasting her precious time. Students does NOT have a place to do their homework in the afternoon. You have to do your homework under the heat of the sun on warm days and if it's raining, you get to go inside the room finally but it's lights out and loud DVDs, so if you want to do your homework, you either rely on the small door opening or you do not do your homework at all. Lastly, if you have encountered a problem, you almost cannot talk to the principal as the reason is she's busy and if you left a message to call back, you will never hear from her. The bridge coordinator will handle the problem by giving you a very general response so you will settle down and forget about everything. The students aren't as nice either.


John B. Monlux Elementary School 1

Posted May 16, 2011
- a community member
I came from the Magnet Program and I would not recommend this school especially if you are not tough. The teachers yelled at the students most of the time or they benched you ( meaning no recess or lunch ) as they think this is the only way to make unruly students listen, so if you are one of the better students, I feel bad for you as you also get the same punishment. I agree with one of the reviews - each year gets worst and worst. Thank God I'm out of the school. The staff including the principal, they are not concerned at all. There are also a mountain of homework for you to do each day because the teachers are not utilizing the time wisely in school.

John B. Monlux Elementary School 4

Posted May 04, 2011
- a parent
My son is in the magnet program and it is an education focused program which makes us glad that we switched from another school for 3rd grade. He is a 5th grader now and I think this program has gotten him ready for the workload that will come with middle school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

John B. Monlux Elementary School
6051 Bellaire Avenue, North Hollywood, CA  91606-4461
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 46 reviews. (818) 763-4693
Last modified John B. Monlux Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top