Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Toluca Lake Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2014

Toluca Lake Elementary is on its way up! There is a true passion for education here, among teachers and staff. Small class sizes mean that teachers can nurture the students' individual gifts and help them move ahead, whether they are above, at, or below grade level. The high-achievers are challenged, while those needing extra help receive it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2014

We have had a great experience at Toluca Lake! When my daughter started there last year I became a member of 2 school groups that work monthly with the principal and faculty and other parents on school matters so I could understand how a public school works and also to see what the staff and faculty were like. The teachers and principal are VERY dedicated to the school and to the kids. The only thing this school truly lacks is the Parent and Community involvement of a Rio Vista, Carpenter or Colfax. As far as the quality of education goes, I think Toluca Lake can compete with all of them no question. What needs to improve at this school is: School's communication with families (use email) about school events, ways to volunteer, etc. Needs more green space and play ground equipment, Parental/Community involvement, update in technology for office and classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

I would agree that the principal at this school is not always warm and fuzzy in adult interactions. I have had to work with her a few times and realize that this is just her personality. She genuinely seems concerned for the welfare of the children and their learning, and for that I over look the personality. I also appreciate her consistency. I try to stay involved with the PTA and the Parent Center while avoiding the politics. I have attended a few meetings that have seemed like I was walking into a high school girls locker room but have ignored the chilly atmosphere to see if I can help in anyway possible. Yes, it has its challenges from time to time, but I love the school and my son has had exceptional teachers each year. If you are willing to put in the work, ignore petty differences and get involved, you will find that this is a pretty great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

Overall we have had good experiences at the school. They are making great effort in getting the families involved. If everyone pitched in their grain of sand this school would soar.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

This school overall is a very good school starting but because of certain teachers and staff but is very poor because of the principal.. in charge she needs to go.. there been a lot of complaints of parents and they never do anything about it.. very rude principal and unprofessional..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2013

I'm very please with the discipline and focus my child has learned at this school. The staff is very efficient and dedicated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2013

The principal at this school needs to be retained. A fellow student with physical disabilities at this school was kept from being integrated because the principal was uncomfortable with his presence...that parent removed their child, and the non-existent parental involvement caused me to yank my kid from this school! I couldn't get my child out of here fast enough! No challenges for the students, but they make sure to have a McDonald's night every other month. The priorities are all mixed up here. The parent center director seems to have a vendetta against the PTA and refuses to work as a team to benefit the students. Very disappointed in this school as it is in my neighborhood- but I'll homeschool instead as they watch too many DVDs instead of teaching and have ZERO field trips. Not very impressed by this school. The YMCA afterschool program offers more learning opportunities than the school does!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

Hooray for small class sizes! The classes are manageable - rarely more than 20 in a classroom, and often fewer. This enables teachers to focus on the individual students' needs instead of being overwhelmed with 30-plus kids in one classroom, as is often the case in LAUSD and other districts. We are very pleased with Toluca Lake Elementary and the education our child is receiving there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2011

I am highly unsatisfied with most of the school staff and how they acted toward my family in a time of need. They were not supportive and in demand. They dis enrolled my child without a letter or contacting me and other issues that need not be said but I hope if you enroll your child here you do not have any issues with your child because they are not a caring staff team and as a school they are suppose to be there for the child and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

I think this school is on the way up. The teachers are dedicated and caring, which is a huge factor in kids' learning at the elementary level. My kindergarten student loves her teacher and can't wait to get to school every day. I'm from a family of teachers, and I find the quality of instruction to be top-notch. Funding is not what it should be, which is true throughout the public school system and especially LAUSD, but the folks at Toluca Lake make the best of everything. The PTA has gotten more active and is helping to move things in the right direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2011

I'm here to give a shout out to specific teachers at this school, who I feel deserve to be singled out. I know there are probably many more, but I'm only speaking to those with whom we've had personal experience: Ms. Gillette (K) & Mr. Murphy (G2). Both EXCELLENT teachers! They both share a trait of recognizing the different needs and challenges of their individual students and being able to work to those needs. They're patient but firm, authoritative yet personable, and seem to have great rapport with all their students. As for the school itself, its biggest challenge is probably with parents & general LAUSD mismanagement/budgetary woes. I've witnessed great parent involvement, and then I've witnessed absolute rudeness or lack of caring & respect (for staff and their own students' education!) by others. I'd love to see more money at this school so they could have more playground monitors and specialty teachers, but NO ONE seems to be getting that from LAUSD at the moment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2011

This school is on it's way up. Agree (mostly) with last two reviewers - LAUSD feels like an obstacle, and this school, and kids, achieves despite of it. Toluca Lake Elementary is among the top 10% of schools with the highest percentage of identified Gifted students. (see school website or LAUSD Gifted/Talented website). While I wish more parents would get actively involved, the involvement has steadily gone up over the past few years. In my opinion, parent involvement is the best way to combat LAUSD's budget woes - a sort of 'circle the wagons' approach. I recommend this school, but only if you are willing to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

This school is more like a 4 Star, but some of the previous low reviews were irrational ("principal is mean" ?, another review after one week?). Bottom line, Toluca Lake Elementary is part of the broken LAUSD. There are constant budget woes. But this school stands out. And I would agree with a previous reviewer - the school is on it's way to being great. Most of the teachers are great. Parent involvement is growing. And test scores are improving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2011

The best way to describe this school is pre-gem. It's not a "gem" yet, but on it's way - hopefully. After years of "white-flight", expanding boundaries, and low expectations - the school is clawing it's way back. Last year's API was 807. The principal is Ms. Carol Reo-Bove and she is not mean (previous review), but she is on the strict side, which I feel is positive. The school has some exceptional teachers - not all, but some. Being part of LAUSD, you feel like you're swimming against the tide. But the environment is positive the future looks relatively bright.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

Such a shame that kids that young don't get along and see beyond skin color and background.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2010

Its the end of the first week and i cant wait to move my kids out of this school!!! My 1st grade blonde son was called "whitey" and punched in the face. we were not notified. My 4th grader was tossed in a class mixed with 4th & 5th graders. 3 children have already been sent to the principals office. I live in a beautiful neighborhood but apparently only the people on the outskirts send their kids here. I left a message for the principal on Monday have et to hear back. On 1st day told us she's a mean principal & we should know up front. Totally disapointed in the process of trying to get them out ASAP!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

After several years of concerted efforts, Toluca Lake has finally hit an API over 800 (807!) for 2010. Congratulations to the teachers, the administrative staff and especially Mrs. Bove for her strong leadership! The campus looks beautiful and the school has become something that the neighborhood of Toluca Lake can be proud of, though there is still much work to be done. Thanks to everyone who has worked so hard to make Toluca Lake a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

My child attended kindergarten here and, though the teacher was WONDERFUL (truly great with all the kids, and the kind of leader I'd want my child to listen to), the other aspects of the school make it a "school of last resort." There is very little supervision of the kids on the playgrounds - it's all volunteer (parents), and understaffed. My child was harassed twice during the year, and each time the "solutions" didn't seem strong enough for the incidents. Parent involvement here is pretty terrible, but I don't know that I can blame them. There's a huge language barrier, and it makes it difficult to conduct meetings in Spanish and English, concurrently. It just feels like a school that is fighting to get kids the minimal amount of education. Had I any choice, my child wouldn't attend again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2009

I have my children in this cool for two years now. My son is in first grade and my daughter in pre kindegarden. It is classrooms with small number of pupills and the teachers really pay attention to the children and they are really good ones. My son knew how to read during preschool. It was amazing. Now that he is in first grade he is with children from other levels and thanks to the very good teacher , they learn respect for others. They have a lot of different activities. My daughter is following the same path. I am really happy with this school and would recommend it to anybody in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

This might not be a bad school for many, but their treatment of special needs and the lack of concern for the students from the administration is not very impressive. Not near the quality it should be.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

837

Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

837

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-3

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

8 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Females67%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability63%
English learner19%
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females48%
Males63%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only69%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate38%
Parent education - high school graduate31%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Females45%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability46%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate48%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)35%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students67%
Females64%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Females73%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability75%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate82%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females94%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate92%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students60%
Females65%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability61%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only67%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate73%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students69%
Females69%
Males68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability68%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only73%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented95%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate80%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students55%
Females57%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented90%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 74%
White 15%
Black 6%
Asian 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
English language learners 20%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 534 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 
District average
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
70%
 

Students

This school

 
82%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
90%
agree
 
District average
77%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
86%
 

District average

 
74%
 

Employees

This school

 
94%
 

District average

 
81%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
85%
agree
 
District average
70%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
91%
 

District average

 
78%
 

Students

This school

 
71%
 

District average

 
58%
 

Employees

This school

 
93%
 

District average

 
74%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
83%
agree
 
District average
68%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
70%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Employees

This school

 
97%
 

District average

 
71%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
92%
agree
 
District average
66%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
92%
 

District average

 
66%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents30174%
Students19698%
Employees3769%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Carol Reo Bove
Fax number
  • (818) 761-7197

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4840 Cahuenga Boulevard
North Hollywood, CA 91601
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 761-3339

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Toluca Crossroads School
Los Angeles, CA


St. Charles Borromeo
Los Angeles, CA


Berenece Carlson Home Hospital
North Hollywood, CA


Rio Vista Elementary School
North Hollywood, CA


Brighton Hall
Burbank, CA


Wesley School, The
Los Angeles, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT