Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (5 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 85 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Toluca Lake Elementary School 4

Posted July 08, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Iuculano for 1st grade and Mr. Murphy for 2nd grade, two very dedicated, strict yet fair teachers. My son loved going to school and excited about learning, especially with Mr. Murphy's Greek mythology section. Only didn't like how bullying was handled on administrative part. Conflict resolution needs more involvement, especially with problem students.

Toluca Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 08, 2016
- a parent
Mr. Murphy, one of the best teachers for 2'nd grade. Very dedicated, firm, fun, engaging...


Toluca Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to Mr. Daniel Murphy for his love of teaching which shows every day. Mr. Murphy let's his kids know that the high level of academics he expects them to embrace is well within their reach. Each morning BEFORE the bell starts the official day his classroom is half full with kids who'd rather start their schoolwork than play. Need I say more?

Toluca Lake Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and principal are committed and engaged and there is great parent involvement. As a parent I have always been encouraged to participate. I have personally observed the teachers and principals working well with children with behavioral issues. Like every school if you are an involved parent you will get better results.

Toluca Lake Elementary School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to our PTA President Martin Portillo and his wife Rosa. You both work tirelessly and our school is better for it!


Toluca Lake Elementary School 2

Posted November 16, 2015
- a parent
My kids never loved to go to this school. Especially because of the teacher. At that time we have just moved to US and my boys didnt know a word in English. And the teacher didnt provide any drop of understanting. He was rude with my boys, no support and the principal never nice and helpful. I asked them to change teacher for my son, but they send my second son on a next year to the same teacher again. For the good behavior they give kids capengoods and once my son took one, but when they went back to class he took not his place on the floor so the teacher came to him took this capengood that is very hard to get from that teacher and tatter it in front of 5 years old kid. Each day at this school with this teacher was a stress for my boys. I am glad that we moved and now they love their new school very much.

Toluca Lake Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a community member
I have two boys at this school and it's been great. The staff and teachers are open and responsive (one of my boys has an IEP). As a parent I'm able to be involved in meaningful ways - last year the PTA arranged to have a beautiful garden installed - with the help of many parents and staff. The school is going the right direction and the kids are sweet (I've spent a lot of time on campus)

Toluca Lake Elementary School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
My son continues to thrive at this school. A core group of committed teachers and parents make Toluca Lake a great school.


Toluca Lake Elementary School 1

Posted May 24, 2015
- a parent
I have had nothing but trouble since day one at this school. There is no transparency about the curriculum or school experience unless you badger and insist for it. Parents can go months at a time without hearing anything about how or what their child is doing. The principal uses isolation and peer pressure (e.g. going into a classroom and publically asking all students what they saw on the yard in front of the accused child; taking away recess AND lunch from a 5-year old for weeks at a time...). I've gone to the school to observe only to find my child sitting outside in a chair by himself in the hallway. I absolutely would NOT recommend this school to any parent. I'm disappointed by what a negative kindergarten experience my child had. They are far too young to be hating school at that age. We certainly won't be back next year.

Toluca Lake Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
I am very happy with this school. Our child is thriving with an exceptional teacher and feels supported by all of the positive reinforcement philosophy they implement. The school has wonderful exposure to outside resources and hands on field trips. When "shopping" schools, we almost passed up this school because of the lower rating but went to the Open House and New Parent School Tour and decided to give it a try after meeting the wonderful teachers and seeing what all our child would be exposed to. I'm so glad we looked further into this school and gave it a shot. Couldn't be more happy.

Nearby schools

Toluca Lake Elementary School
4840 Cahuenga Boulevard, North Hollywood, CA  91601-4799
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 85 reviews. (818) 761-3339
Last modified Toluca Lake Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top