Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Paul's First Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 175 students

St. Paul's provides a well rounded Christian, academic, and social foundation.
 
 

 
 

Living in North Hollywood

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $348,200. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,320.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, April 17, 2014

Kids are happy to attend school and feel secure at St. Paul's First Lutheran School! My preschooler runs to preschool each morning and my 4 year old has had an excellent year in the K4 Program. St. Paul's is a hidden gem in North Hollywood. Parent Group is involved and focused on student enrichment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

Small class sizes can be good but when there are conflicts this atmosphere can be limiting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

The school is great, our child has attended since kindergarten and now is in second grade and we loved the school since the first day. The teachers and the staff are fantastic. the academic program is excellent, the religious education and the moral values that the children get at the school are invaluable, this school is really a hidden jewel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

Fantastic school with an engaged and caring staff. We are so thankful to have found it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

You Pay alot of money at this school and the teachers (not all of them) have their favorite students, you HAVE MONEY - YOU HAVE VALUE, Sadly its the true - my kid had a bad experience there and was afraid to return, I brought the issue to the board of edu. they pretend to care but didnt do nothing. My kid is a lot better now somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

The Kindergarten teacher at St. Pauls has been amazing for my son. She is patient, kind and commands respect from her young students. I was very impressed with Miss Miller's use of technology to further the students interest in learning. She encourages creativity while following a rigorous lesson plan that has allowed my son to learn to read and write, complete math problems and explore the world around him using knowledge from her lectures. She is always expanding her knowledge with continuing education bringing the latest resources to our children. The homework that my son completes has allowed him to expand his vocabulary, reading skills and other studies that are part of the needed curriculum for a Kindergarten student. As an adjunct faculty member at university level I understand how difficult teaching can be. She makes it look effortless. Kindergarten is the first step into learning outside the home, where social skills, discipline and listening are just as important as reading, writing and math. Miss Miller combines learning with fun in a safe, Christian based classroom. She is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2013

When i started my search for a school for my girls i stumbled upon this sweet school. I had already gone to every school tour in town and none of them seemed right for us. When I walked on the campus I was greeted with smiles and warm hearts. What really got me was this amazing kindergarten room that had art work hanging all over the walls, a rack of dress up clothes and a bench with a well worn I horse saddle. The teacher was warm and welcoming and proudly showed me the kids journel pages that were hanging on the walls. I dont know how else to explain this so I will just say that her eyes danced with excitement when she spoke of their progress. She was so proud. Thats when I knew that this wonderful teacher was perfect for us. Her name is Ms. Miller. My oldest just graduated 1st grade, Ms. Hartel is also one of the most amazing teachers I have ever met. I feel like god was shining on me the day I found this school. If u are looking for a great school with a small town feel, check out St. Pauls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2013

St. Paul's is fantastic! My 3 children attend there and they absolutely love it! The class sizes are just right, the teachers are top-notch, there are plenty of extra-curricular activities, and the music program is amazing! We are not only treated with love and respect from the teachers and staff, but from the students as well. Having a Christ-centered education is priceless. I highly recommend St. Paul's to anyone looking for a quality, well-rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

My son attended St Paul's from pre-school thru middle school. St Paul's provides an excellent education and a nurturing and warm environment. You receive a well-rounded education from music, religion, academics, etc. The field trips are great. The staff is very involved with the development and growth of each child. The teachers at my sons high school have told me that the education he received at St Paul's was way above that of the other students. We have wonderful memories and will miss the school and the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2011

I am writing from a visiting standpoint as my children never attended St. Paul First Lutheran School. First I'd like to say the school does look clean and well organized. The staff seems very friendly and kind to the children. However, here are the concerns I had when I visited this school one afternoon. It was a very hot sunny day and some of the children were beet red, (I wondered if they had on sunblock or were well hydrated), then there was an alert from an outsider on the street that the children needed to go indoors because the police was looking for someone and the person could possibly be in the area. (OMG moment!) Then a teacher, even if it was not malicious in no way, tapped a kid in the head with a piece of paper as to make him go and do something else. I just thought it was a bit disrespectful because if doing that to an adult wouldn't be right shouldn't the same be applied to children no matter how old? Finally, my small pet peeve about the yard facing the street makes me nervous, this is North Hollywood and sometimes there are a few transients in this area that are not in there right mind. This is not to scare parents away from this school, just making them aware.


Posted March 13, 2011

St. Paul's is a great school. It has a wonderful music program, the teachers are wonderful and communicate well with the parents. I feel my children are very safe while they are there and I have peace of mind that they are in great hands. Both of my children started in the pre-school and continued on into the elementary school. They both have developed friendships that I have no doubt will be maintained throughout their lives. This school has a wonderful community feel to it, like family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My son has been attending St. Paul's since Kindergarten, and I can't say enough about how great this little gem of school is!! Nurturing environment, small class size, structure and guidance, and a great family of teachers! When my huband died last year, it was my son's school, that made the largest impact in helping us through this difficult time. I will never forget how they helped us through and were a fortress of stability and Christian love. Plus, my boy is excelling in academics!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

Four years ago, we researched many schools before choosing St. Paul s First Lutheran for our two kids. We re so glad we did! It s not a fancy or flashy place, but at St. Paul s, kids receive a Christ-centered education. That is first and foremost, and it is the reason the kids are so successful academically, socially, and spiritually. We have found St. Paul s very different from other schools in that everyone there nurtures and values each and every child. In turn, the kids are respectful toward their teachers and also to each other. Academic excellence is a priority, but so is good citizenship. St. Paul s kids are not only well-educated, but are also noticeably well-mannered and congenial. What a breath of fresh air these days! St. Paul s is an affordable, well-managed gem of a school in North Hollywood. We would give it 10 stars if we could!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

My three children have attended St. Paul's. They were able to participate in music, sports and develop a great work ethic. This helped them in high school and college. The loving discipline they received from the faculty helped prepare them for the long road ahead of them in academics and life in general. We are very happy they learned the basics in this environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2010

I tried several preschools and St. Pauls 1st Lutheran Preschool was by far the best. The teachers are great role models. They are helpful, courteous, and attentive to the parents and children. The children are friendly and develop great social and oral language skills. I am an elementary school teacher and was thrilled to finally find a school that was excellent in every way that really matters for a chllds social, emotional, and academic growth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2010

It's been an amazing year for my daughter there (her first year) and she's so happy that she'll continue and hopefully will finish up through 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2010

My daughter went to St Paul preschool for 2 years. It's been wonderful and the teachers there are great! My daughter went to 2 other preschools before St Paul and they were more expensive and not as good. I would recommend St Paul preschool to my friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Great school. My daughter loves going to St. Paul's and I love bringing her there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

As far as Pre School goes.Nope!! Took my daughter out immediately!!. Just a bunch of children with no direction! It has no structure & way outa control!!! You Pay alot of money for your child to be 'babysat' No no no no(sorry)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2010

1. THE BEST MUSIC PROGRAM AROUND! When the rest of Los Angeles is dropping the FINE ARTS classes - this school has everything PRE-school through 8th grade. Classes, individual lessons, bands, choirs, handbells, and musicals and much more! 2. SMALL class sizes - in a school district where the sizes are going up, Up, UP .... nice to see the smaller sizes and the individula attention my child gets in the classroom. 3. SPORTS for everyone to participate. Grades 3 - 8 are in a competative league for basketball, baseball/softball, soccer, football, volleyball and a hint of track. Where can you get everything at one location? 4. NUTRITIONAL hot lunch program. Not just fast food, but great food. Lots of it and a BIG variety! 5. TEACHERS who are great and like family! Not only does my child have a teacher, but I have a friend I can lean on for great advice!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 45%
Hispanic 29%
Black 12%
Two or more races 9%
Asian 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Rendy Koeppel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Wisconsin evangelical lutheran synod
Fax number
  • (818) 487-1378

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • hot lunch server
More from this school
  • Find St. Paul's on the web at www.stpaulsfirst.org
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Paul's First Lutheran Preschool
Community Preschools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Notre Dame High School
Heritage Christian School
California Lutheran High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11330 McCormick Street
North Hollywood, CA 91601
Website: Click here
Phone: (818) 763-2892

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lankershim Elementary School
North Hollywood, CA


Oakwood Secondary School
North Hollywood, CA


The Wesley School
North Hollywood, CA



East Valley Senior High School
North Hollywood, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT