Advertisement
Advertisement

Montessori Academy of North Hollywood

Private | K

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in North Hollywood

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $275,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,250.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 5, 2014

This school is a joke. The equipment is all old and worn. The teachers have one "go to" method of classroom management and seem flummoxed by children who are still learning how to behave in the classroom. The administration will happily take your money and tell you anything you want to hear to get those enrollment numbers/$ and then go back on their word. This is all first hand experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

My husband and I are so lucky we found this amazing little school. Our two children are years ahead of their peers at other schools. The staff is great, and really cares for their students. We cannot say enough good things about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

My son went to this school, but was taken out. The school is not very clean and the teachers in the day care class do all the work for the kids, so we do not get to see what our kids are really learning at school when they bring there work home at the end of the week. There hot lunch served there is not healthy and nutritional. On there web page, it is stated they are nurturing, but that is not true from my experience. Also, potty training was not enforced with my son, even though they said they would train him, and diapers were not changed, most of the time, so he would come home with a diaper rash!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

I think this school is really great! My daughter has learned so much from Pre-K to 1st grade. One of the teachers teaches Piano after school and there are lots of extracurricular activities for the kids to do like dancing, gymnastics, singing, Spanish classes etc. I really recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

This school really is a hidden gem. We were just lucky to stumble upon it. The teachers and the principal are dedicated and have high expectations of all the children. The only thing that would make this school better in my opinion is a more robust foreign language program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2006

Excellent school to built the foundation of my daugther's education. Now that is time for her to move to a new school the dedicated teachers are willing to tutor her whenever she'll need it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This school is so dedicated and focus in to the best quality of education for my two kids, my daughter has been there for six yrs, and my son for two. The teachers believe that each child has their own potential and will learn at their own pace. Small groups make better learning. There could not be a better school for my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2005

This school has been a fantastic experience for my daughter. She has been there for 3 years, and she is in K, but doing reading and math at a 2nd grade level. The teachers are incredibly nuturing, and the price is unbeatable in this area. The facilities are small, but the kids are learning like crazy. This has been a perfect school for my daughter. I only wish they went through 8th grade, then we would keep her here for the duration. I cannot stress enough how great of a school this is.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 30%
White 30%
Asian 22%
Black 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6000 Ensign Avenue
North Hollywood, CA 91606
Phone: (818) 769-0244

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Patrick Elementary School
North Hollywood, CA


Fair Avenue Elementary School
North Hollywood, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT