Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
1-5
Public
Northridge, CA
Students enrolled: 748
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 68 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


76 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 3

Posted August 20, 2014
- a parent
School cherry picks students based on three-questions on Choices brochure completed by prior school teacher. Test scores don't accurately reflect teacher/admin efforts. Parents do a lot of the sent home projects. In 9 years, I felt my concerns were NEVER addressed by teachers or admin. Agree with "brick wall" comment and 5/22 & 8/27 posts. No transparency. Lots of fundraisers. Annual donation request was $300 per child when we started at school. Now up to $1,000. Parents allowed to make monthly payments. Felt pressured to give. Donor's named published. Do your homework. There are other great area SAS/Magnet programs with responsive teachers and admins. If you are a parent who wants or expects concerns addressed or needs to feel heard, this place can leave you feeling frustrated and helpless. Ask around. Ask if teachers are required to do annual training to stay fresh and grow. Ask for SPECIFIC examples of how admin addresses discipline issues (bullying online and off). Ask how school notifies parents about issues (head lice) that can be costly/rampant/perennial/frustrating when parents are unaware. Ask about carpool safety. Nice office staff.
3 people found this helpful

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
This school goes above and beyond expectations. We are thrilled to have our son there.


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 3

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
We had one incredible teacher at Balboa, but that teacher would be a star anywhere. If you are considering Balboa: 1) It's a "10" but the kids are gifted/high ability, so the score is skewed. Students are already 'brighter' than most, i.e., not an accurate reflection of teacher/admin efforts. 2) Teachers may or may not "challenge" your child. Each teacher is different, quality varies. GREATLY. 3) Balboa has over 750 students, four grade levels. If you meet with principal and magnet coordinator, they'll smile, but likely you won't get what you want. 4) Don't even think to request a specific teacher from administration. Again, almost 800 children here; you are talking to the wall. 6) If you and child's teacher are on different wavelengths, tough luck. (You don't like it? Leave, says magnet coord.) 7) If your child has social issues you are on your own. Forget about asking for socialization programs. The focus is competition, not empathy, and 'high academic achievement' is everyone's goal. 8) Playground is scary if your child is at 'psychomotor', recess or after school. Yard aides need to teach conflict resolution, supervision is wanting. Result: This school falls short.
2 people found this helpful

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2013
- a community member
Best school ever! Thank you for the best 5 years of my life! There are no bullies at this school , the kids are as close to angels as they can possibly get! The teachers are amazing, sweet, and they help a lot! So send your kid there to the best elementary school in the world!

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
This is an exceptional school. The kids work hard and are prepared for middle school. The parent volunteer is above and beyond. The teachers care for the children. Office staff is great too. I can't say enough about this school. My son has been there for 3 years now and he loves it so much!


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a teacher
Balboa Magnet is truly one of a kind. The administrators, teachers, parents, and students work together to create a school that operates in perfect harmony. Students are valued for their individuality, as well as for their unique and creative contributions to the school community. Lifelong learners are cultivated at Balboa thanks to the support of the families and staff. I love being a part of such a hard-working and loving team!

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 2

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
my daughter just graduation from this school. we had a really bad expireince with his 5th grade teacher mrs Convirs....She used to lower my daughter grades until I let her know that she needs to be fair with every child that color and religion..... it's a different topic ... she try to changin but I was counting for the last day of school I hope that we never going to see her again.... not good teacher she has preferents.... too bad....

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a community member
I loved Balboa. This school definitely helped me excel because of their high standards. I'm not saying middle school was a breeze, but I definitely did not struggle as much as the other kids. Thank you to all my teachers who made my elementary years amazing.


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted August 04, 2013
- a parent
There's a reason that Balboa Maget has ranked number one among LAUSD elementary schools -- it has an excellent teaching staff that's supported by a wonderful principal and administrative team, as well as a very involved parents organization.

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2013
- a community member
I am a student at balboa magnet and I'm in fifth grade. I have been going to this school for almost 5 years. I have loved it so far here. They challenge you while making everyday fun. For example, in fourth grade, you have pioneer day where you dress up like pioneers and learn about their daily life. The teachers always listen to you and get you ready for the next school year. I really reccommend this school.
1 person found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
17020 Labrador Street, Northridge, CA  91325
(818) 349-4801
Last modified Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. Top