Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
75 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 104 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted August 30, 2016
- a community member
Kids who are so young should have SOME time at home before bed without studying! GIve them a rest!

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted August 30, 2016
- a community member
I haven't seen this yet in the school, but I hope this is true in the future.


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 3

Posted August 30, 2016
- a community member
I can't comment academically as my son hasn't been attending long, but they excel on being RUDE. I've been treated poorly several times now, and I'm growing quite tired of it. I am planning to remove my son because I can't stand to be spoken to like this from a school that blatantly asks for a thousand dollar donation before we even began the school term.

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
It's a great school my daughter will be starting third grade soon and has been really happy . It is challenging and they work really hard here and as a parent you work a lot with your kids for projects and assignments so you have to be commited if you want a great education and love your child being pushed to do the best they can then this is the best school for them

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Hanley was my daughters teacher for second grade and I can't thank her enough she is truly amazing always going above and beyond working long hours to make sure everything is done always pays so much attention to each child and was always available to talk to you when needed she has left a print in our hearts if your child gets extremely lucky to have her as a teacher it will make a difference in his life I know she made a difference in my daughters life so for that THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart!


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
At times it feels like a lot because of all the projects along with the homework

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are great always trying to have the kids learn and have fair play

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
My Daughter, now a USC Arts and Business Major credits her successes due to going to Balboa Mag... My youngest son now goes there and could not be happier!


Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
Students are called scholars here. Part of being a scholar is honesty, integrity, self-motivation and treating others with respect.

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School 5

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
My son is in 2nd grade. This year's donation request is $350.00. I feel it's very reasonable since the school pays for PE, music, computer lab and science lab. Lasts year they also had art. I've never been pressured to donate and I know many parents don't but the quality of the teaching staff is great. I disagreed with the first day of school for the 1st graders because parents were told to leave their kids in the auditorium and then the kids were going to get tested. SURPRISE! But I see that there is a method to her madness. There were no tears by kids. The kids are treated with respect and given their independence. I've helped my kid with his project but it's always been his responsibility. If he does a poor job that's on him. So kids do DO their own projects if you stay out of it. The teachers here are ON POINT! Kids don't get away with slacking off. They are rewarded for good scholarly behavior and it's been great for his behavior at home also.

Nearby schools

Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School
17020 Labrador Street, Northridge, CA  91325-1906
(818) 349-4801
Last modified Balboa Gifted/High Ability Magnet Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 1-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top