Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Northridge, CA
Students enrolled: 667
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 47 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


63 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Great teacher. .. and awesome students. .. my hat goes off the PTA...office staff & the Principle

Lorne Street Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
It's a great school, my son teacher is wonderful and my son likes the school alot the only problem is that I have seen a lot of bullying going on there.


Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is about to complete her first year at Lorne and I couldn't be happier. She transferred from a school that had taken her motivation into one that has inspired her to learn more. As a parent, I am brought to tears that she is happier than ever to be here, but sad that i waited so long to do so. If you want your child to be willing to do anything to achieve, then bring her here.

Lorne Street Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
I don't know what school the previous parent review is referring to but it can't be Lorne. Teachers are willing to meet in person or speak on phone depending on who you have. However the best way to communicate with them is by email and will set up a time to meet in person that way. The principal is a great leader who truly has an open door policy. To say that he is intimidated makes no sense since he actively runs to the school unlike some who work behind their desk. You will not find better parent involvement at any school anywhere. The PTA is extremely active and the President not only has a son in college who used to attend Lorne but has a little girl who STILL attends. The rest of the PTA board members all have kids who attend and are very active with fiund raising and working with the school and the staff. Perhaps if the previous reviewer was actually involved with the PTA or with the school instead of posting baseless and false reviews they would know that. The school playground is mostly blacktop but there is ample shaded area and a huge grass area at the center of the school. If you want a school that works as a true partner with you for your child this is it.

Lorne Street Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a teacher
The parent who posted the negative comment was only on campus once to register her kindergartener. Why was she here if our, school is so bad? Our office ladies are so accommodating and would do anything for our students and faculty. They also are so supportive of all of our MANY parent volunteers.


Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2013
- a parent
Lorne St/Lorne Magnet is the best school my child has ever attended...He is new to 5th grade, able to enjoy his new environment, friends, and loving it! Lorne has the best academic, music, and leadership programs taught by compassionate and excellent teachers/mentors. He will be talking about Mr Carver for many years to come... Kudos to the school's PTA, faculty, staffs, and Mr. Merritt for a job well done. Best decision I have ever made!.

Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
THIS SCHOOL IS GREAT , MY SON LOVES HIS TEACHER,SHE IS SO HELPFUL , ENJOYING THE FREE AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAM

Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 30, 2013
- a parent
Great school. Good to know my son is with great teachers. Love the PTA program.


Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
Great PTA, caring teachers, Principal who cares. Math/Science standards enforced and Gifted teachers available. This is the second round with daughter at the school, and even though many of my son's teachers have left, their replacements are GREAT TEACHERS!

Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
My son has been at Lorne since Kindergarten and will be entering the 5th Grade. We have loved every teacher that he has had throughout. Each one has been instrumental in the success that he has had with all that he has attempted and accomplished in school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lorne Street Elementary School
17440 Lorne Street, Northridge, CA  91325
(818) 342-3123
Last modified Lorne Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lorne Street Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. Top