Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
51 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 81 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lorne Street Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
If Mr. Merritt wasn't warm and inviting, I wouldn't have survived the year. I came from a private school background and really had to wrap my mind around some of LAUSD's decisions.

Lorne Street Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
The homework packets that come home don't always correlate with what's going on in the classroom. However, my daughter's teacher allowed for modification by the parents.


Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2016
- a community member
I could not be happier with this school. The principal, Mr. Merritt, always stands in the middle of the yard before school and stands outside after school. Ms. Flores is usually standing with him. Both will explain school procedures and answer any and all questions (and I asked ALOT this year). The office ladies never made me feel that my questions were annoying and they genuinely cared about my foster daughter. My foster daughter's teacher, Ms. Monahan, encouraged and nurtured her and helped bring her to grade level by the end of the year. My foster daughter's attitude about school took a complete turn for the better and she went looking forward to each day. I especially like the music and art programs that are incorporated on Fridays. The school also has after school piano lessons (for a fee - it's a company that comes on campus with keyboards). My youngest foster daughter starts in the fall and she can hardly wait!

Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
My son teacher Mrs. Melody Bitter does such an amazing job! She is very fair, she makes time to talk to every student. She is very reliable.When I leave her a message she always makes the time to get back to me. Mrs. Bitter is very organized and detailed, she knows what she is doing. My son is in a small day class (IEP) his work performance has improved so much.My Hats off to you! Thank you Mrs.Bitter for your hard work and dedication.

Lorne Street Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
My son's teacher is great. This is a low income school. Hardly any parents show up for events. I just attended Open House and it was pretty sparse. The school's principal shows up late every day to work. The kids are taught to fight at home. Be prepared with a good lawyer if you send your child to this school.


Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Great teacher. .. and awesome students. .. my hat goes off the PTA...office staff & the Principle

Lorne Street Elementary School 3

Posted July 29, 2014
- a parent
It's a great school, my son teacher is wonderful and my son likes the school alot the only problem is that I have seen a lot of bullying going on there.

Lorne Street Elementary School 5

Posted May 31, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is about to complete her first year at Lorne and I couldn't be happier. She transferred from a school that had taken her motivation into one that has inspired her to learn more. As a parent, I am brought to tears that she is happier than ever to be here, but sad that i waited so long to do so. If you want your child to be willing to do anything to achieve, then bring her here.


Lorne Street Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
I don't know what school the previous parent review is referring to but it can't be Lorne. Teachers are willing to meet in person or speak on phone depending on who you have. However the best way to communicate with them is by email and will set up a time to meet in person that way. The principal is a great leader who truly has an open door policy. To say that he is intimidated makes no sense since he actively runs to the school unlike some who work behind their desk. You will not find better parent involvement at any school anywhere. The PTA is extremely active and the President not only has a son in college who used to attend Lorne but has a little girl who STILL attends. The rest of the PTA board members all have kids who attend and are very active with fiund raising and working with the school and the staff. Perhaps if the previous reviewer was actually involved with the PTA or with the school instead of posting baseless and false reviews they would know that. The school playground is mostly blacktop but there is ample shaded area and a huge grass area at the center of the school. If you want a school that works as a true partner with you for your child this is it.

Lorne Street Elementary School 4

Posted May 30, 2014
- a teacher
The parent who posted the negative comment was only on campus once to register her kindergartener. Why was she here if our, school is so bad? Our office ladies are so accommodating and would do anything for our students and faculty. They also are so supportive of all of our MANY parent volunteers.

Nearby schools

Lorne Street Elementary School
17440 Lorne Street, Northridge, CA  91325-4459
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 81 reviews. (818) 342-3123
Last modified Lorne Street Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top