Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies

Charter | K-5

 
 

Living in Northridge

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $340,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,500.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 18 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

65 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2013

This was our first year at Topeka and we love this school. The staff is top notch and really show a genuine interest in the students. After being at two other schools, we have finally found our home. My son was not reading or writing in the beginning of Kinder at another school. After just a few short months at Topeka, the staff was able to turn him around. He now loves going to school every morning. The school encourages parents to be involved whenever possible. This is the only school I've been to where you see parents all over campus interacting with teachers and administrators. They don't lock you out at the gate and make you go through a mountain of paperwork just to help out in the class. Truly an open door feeling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I'm extremely concerned about the leadership of this elementary school, especially when it comes to bullying. Academically it is improving, but it is unacceptable when belittling or harassment is condoned. No child deserves to be treated with disrespect, and its offensive when the principle, though knowing it is happening, cares so little about the mental damage it's causing boys and girls.


Posted March 19, 2013

This is my 5th year at the school. Both of my kids have thrived in the great learning environment--thanks to the teachers, principal, and the outstanding parental involvement. As a working parent, I appreciate being well-informed and having the opportunities to volunteer. Topeka is a hidden gem in Northridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2013

This is a great School. Children are well rounded and the school has great participation from Staff and Parents. The Principal is one of the best leaders in getting students and teachers engaged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

Wow what a difference a school or more specifically a principal makes. We moved out of Topeka due to some issues the school was having and because the principal lacked leadership. Our new school within LAUSD is managed much more professionally and it reflects in our children's demeanor. Even the most active parents from last year left for other options.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

This is my son 2nd year @ Topeka. His kindergarten teacher was amazing and so far his 1st grade teacher is just as good! I am also very impressed with our Principal. She is always hands on and there for the parents. I am very much looking forward to the future @ Topeka.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

My child has attended Topeka for 3 years now and we can't tell you how content we are with the teachers/principal and PTA. The school scores were up last school session, our school has now become charter and the amount of parent involvement is AMAZING!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2012

This is a great school. The staff has always been responsive to any and all situations. Everyone, including parents seem to care about our children. My children are doing very well at this school and I couldn't be happier with a school. I believe with the new charter and funding that comes with it will only make Topeka an even more exciting and special place for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

With 2 children in school and 2 working parents, I cannot volunteer in school. But, I'm able to get updates from room parents as well as the school directly. We are very pleased with the different forms of communication: Sunday minute from the principal, Thursday folder info, weekly emails from room parents & more. We also appreciate notes from teachers when things are not so great to help keep kids on track. I would really like a much more fleshed out website also. Topeka also just became a chartered school, so money woes that all non Title1 LAUSD schools have been feeling will be eased a bit for Topeka. I am happy with programs PTA has aided with in the past & that I hope will continue with in the future. We are PTA members but do not have time to be involved so we give donations when our budget allows. This is going to be a short summer for our kids so it will be interesting to see how the school year begins with the heat and with less prep time. We're not worried, just curious. The school is clean and safe, the teachers and staff are dedicated and the parents we've become friends with are committed to the school. This is a great place for children to be educated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2012

My children are in first and third at Topeka. Their teachers are kind, challenging, available and open to suggestions. The office staff, playground staff, computer lab tech and librarian all know my children by name. I've always been able to talk to the principal when I've needed to. LAUSD funding is disgustingly low but the PTA and Topeka really seem to know how to stretch their budgets to remarkable lengths! I volunteer at school as well and have never had issues with anyone-- staff, parent or otherwise. I am proud to have my children at Topeka and believe that a great deal of the happiness and pride my children have in their school is due to the people who work and volunteer there-- they truly care about the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2012

I am very happy with Topeka. The teachers, prinicpal, staff and other parents are very involved and seem to truly enjoy what they do and care for the well being of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2011

Test scores have gone down each year since new leadership arrived. Principal knows how to say the right things or make excuses but not sure if she can deliver what she promises.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

We were thrilled to get into Topeka last year on open enrollment - home school is in a better neighborhood and has better API scores but the principal was aloof and cold so we picked Topeka over the "better" school. A year later, we are even happier (if that's possible) - Topeka's principal is simply the finest around. She is enthusiastic, smart, committed to quality education, knows how to lead and gets everyone involved in education - rich or poor, educated or not. We Topeka parents are lucky to have her and our kids will reap the benefits of her leadership. For the people who insist on creating drama - there are plenty of schools elsewhere for you to stir up trouble - just leave our kids out of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Before putting my kids into Topeka, I asked many parents about the school. In the process, I did not hear a single negative thing, only positive things. To me the fact that I didn't hear anything negative was a big deal, since many people often spout off the negative before the positive. We loved our first year at Topeka and are looking forward to next year. The principal is amazing--I love her openness with all parents and her monthly "Coffee with the Principal" where parents discuss their concerns with her. She encourages all parents to stay involved in their children's education to continue to make Topeka a positive school environment. My son looked forward to every day of school and now his brother is excited to be able to go to Topeka too. I grew up in the private school system and wasn't sure how I would like putting my kids in a public school. I have not regretted it and have, in fact, had a more positive experience than I imagined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

great school, wonderful parents, a top A+ principal. it feels now like a private school. many changes, all wonderful this last past year. keep great people coming!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

Topeka is a great school with great teachers, principal and parents. Topeka was a great school before, during and will remain a great school after the KDLP program moves. Topeka was a school with competitive API scores before the KDLP program was implemented, and continued to maintain the same API average scores while the KDLP program was there. This school will remain a great school because of its dedicated, hardworking teachers, principal, staff, and parents. The teachers have high academic expectations of their students and push them to reach their individual potential. I have been a parent here for 9 years and believe my children have received a top notch education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

The principal and teachers at this school are wonderful. Principal is very involved in the school and wants what is best for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

We specifically moved to the area so that our children could attend Topeka. We have been happy with all of our teachers, with the exception of one scatter-brained 2nd grade teacher. I removed my daughter from that particular class, and it has been smooth-sailing since then. The teachers are hard-working, dedicated professionals that do their best with the large classes they have. We are happy to be Tigers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

Excellent dual language program, unfortunately weak leadership and lack of support along with some ignorant parents will ruin the school. API scores dropped after new leadership entered. Some parents want to use dual language as a scapegoat for all the problems at the school which is really sad since all students there receive the same education. School is racist if you're Korean or affliated with dual language program. Communication regarding issues have not resolved any of the issues. Truly miss a strong leader at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2011

My children attend Topeka. Our teachers are awesome, caring and challenge the kids. As a director and manager I've learned if you don't speak up, you won't be heard. If you are unable to communicate directly and attempt to influence then you'll remain in your bitter silence. I'm a minority and can tell you the school is not racist.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

916

Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

916

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+17

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

9 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females82%
Males81%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability84%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)92%
Parent education - college graduate77%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state91%

Math

All Students84%
Females82%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate88%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to state91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students50%
Females52%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability56%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented62%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)33%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students76%
Females79%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability83%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented89%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)67%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females91%
Males98%
African American82%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students95%
Females94%
Males96%
African American82%
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)100%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate80%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students81%
Females94%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females87%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disability42%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students80%
Females90%
Males74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented93%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate83%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate89%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 42% 11%
Hispanic 27% 52%
White 24% 26%
Black 5% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 129%N/A54%
Female 246%N/A48%
Male 254%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012
The Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) School Experience Survey asks parents, students and employees about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, engaging, safe, and collaborative. Learn more

We organized questions from the LAUSD School Experience Survey into five categories. The respondent group-level results (parents, students, and school employees) show the percent of each respondent group that agree or strongly agree that the school has positive results for that category.

Overall school results for each category are calculated by averaging across group-level results, ensuring that each respondent group is equally represented. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all LAUSD schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the LAUSD survey »Close
Based on 374 responses

This school provides ... 1

High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and students that agree to strongly agree that this school sets high academic expectations for its students and expects them to be college-bound. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Future Expectations (Parents), School Quality (Parents), Future Plans (Parents), Opportunities For Learning (Students), Future Plans (Students).

Close
 
This school
72%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
69%
 

Students

This school

 
75%
 
Healthy, respectful relationshipsWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a positive learning environment and cultivates an atmosphere of respect. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Support (Students), Commitment and Collaboration (Employees), Satisfaction (Students), School Support (Students).

Close
 
This school
84%
agree
 

Students

This school

 
80%
 

Employees

This school

 
88%
 
A safe, clean and orderly environmentWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents, students and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school has a well-kept facility and a safe environment conducive to learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: School Cleanliness (Employees), School Safety (Employees), Safety (Parents), School Cleanliness (Students), School Safety (Students).

Close
 
This school
86%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
94%
 

Students

This school

 
69%
 

Employees

This school

 
94%
 
Strong family engagementWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of parents and employees that agree to strongly agree that this school engages parents and communicates with families to promote student learning. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Parent Involvement (Employees), Feeling of Welcome (Parents), School Involvement (Parents), Teacher to Parent Communication (Parents).

Close
 
This school
77%
agree
 

Parents

This school

 
68%
 

Employees

This school

 
87%
 
Teacher support and opportunities for collaborationWhat's this?

This score measures the percent of employees that agree to strongly agree that this school ensures that teachers work well together, learn from one another, have opportunities for professional development and feel supported by the administration. This score is based on the average of the following LAUSD survey Content Areas: Evaluation (Employees), Opportunities for Involvement (Employees), Professional Development (Employees), Resource Allocation (Employees), Teacher Collaboration and Data Use (Employees).

Close
 
This school
73%
agree
 

Employees

This school

 
73%
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents13232%
Students20989%
Employees3367%

12012-13 Los Angeles Unified School District School Experience Survey

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9815 Topeka Drive
Northridge, CA 91324
Phone: (818) 886-2266

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Our Lady Of Lourdes
Los Angeles, CA




Egremont Schools, Inc.
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT