Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public charter
Northridge, CA
Students enrolled: 596

4 stars
Based on 77 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


79 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 5

Posted October 02, 2014
- a parent
Our child started the first year the school became an affiliated Charter. This created a few hiccups, due to the new title. But now, 2 years later, it is feeling like a well oiled machine. The involvement opportunities continue to grow, and it feels like a community of parents who all want the best for their children. It still seems like "older" families have been very stingy in helping out/ donating and must have been used to a school that didn't reach out for parent involvement. The PTA does it's best at keeping parents involved, keeping the website as current as possible, but i have noticed some "important" information not being posted in a timely manner. I don't blame this on the PTA, but on the staff, as I have spoken with the PTA about this, and they have mentioned the lag in receiving information to post. Our child has thrived while at Topeka, and continues to love going to school daily. The teachers we have had have been the perfect mix of firm and loving, keeping the kids on track and teaching responsibility for their own actions. We will be sending our younger children here when it is time as well.

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 3

Posted September 25, 2014
- a parent
Overall, this is a great school if you have a smart compliant child. Unfortunately, my son has an IEP for inattentive ADD. Although most teachers were good, including his resource teacher, his 3rd grade teacher was not. There were three specific incidents last year that, I feel, constitute bullying. Here are two. First, if my son didn t write his name on his homework, he got zero credit. Toward the end of the year, my son received, by accident, some of the other work from his class mates. This one particular student didn t put his name on it, so his teacher wrote his name on it. And, she gave him a 100%. How is that even fair? Second, six weeks before the last report card, he received a letter from his teacher that he would be getting three 2 s on his report card. At no point in the next six weeks, did she ask to schedule a meeting with us regarding his progress. Needless to say, we were shocked and upset to see fourteen 2 s and six 1 s on his report card! We have since left this school and his is flourishing at his new school. Be warned if you have a child that may have and IEP, non-compliant or just even extra needs.


Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 2

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
Heavy favoritism is shown at this school. If you are not with the "in" crowd or clique, your child becomes low on the totem pole! There are a group of parents who mysteriously manage to get their kids together in the same class year after year with the most sought after teacher, yet we are told placing is random and you cannot request teachers. BULL. The favoritism is so blatant its disgusting!! You can even get another child kicked out of a class you want to get your kid in if you are part of the IN group! Just wrong in so many ways. Administration ought to be ashamed of themselves for creating divides within the school.

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 4

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
This was our first year in Topeka, we love the school. Our son enjoyed going to KG. I should say some situations were disappointing but I can not blame the school for it, the Principal was always caring and helpful. Our son quickly stopped enjoying coming to school after some of his classmates started being physically abusive, of which the teacher was witness and was the one who brought it to my attention but weeks passed and he didn't take any action to stop it, so we had to go to the Principal and then the problem stopped. We asked the teacher to sign our son in the reading program to motivate him to keep reading as he was doing at home prior to entering KG but he never did, few months later several incidents occurred that raised ours and others parents concerns but parents were afraid of speaking up after noticing the change the teacher would have towards the kids and their parents so most of them would go to the parents who weren't afraid of speaking up and some others just kept quiet. The school can not take action if they are not aware of the situation. We are glad this first year is over and we are confident the following years will be much better.

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
Topeka is a fabulous school that we feel blessed to have been a part of for the last three years. Tomorrow our youngest culminates, so our time at Topeka is almost over, and we will miss it terribly. The Principal is fantastic! Incredibly high-energy, caring, dedicated -- in short, amazing! Teachers and staff are great. PTA is amazing.


Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is culminating tomorrow and I can't help but feel extremely grateful for her 6 years at Topeka. She has had wonderful, caring, patient, and intelligent educators year after year. They have encouraged, motivated, and mentored her. What makes Topeka great is the approachable principal who is very much invested in the school. You can tell she really cares about the kids and the community. The teachers are amazing! They make learning so much fun! The parental involvement is awesome! In any organization, it's difficult to get people to volunteer. However, at Topeka, so many parents volunteer and we truly give it our best. Our PTA is comprised of both stay-at-home and work-out-of-the-home parents. Everyone's welcome to pitch in as much as they can.

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 3

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
"A terrible teacher" that's how one of his colleagues described him. Many of his decisions and information sharing throughout the year were questionable but it was overall an ok year, the experience was a little harder on some kids and parents due to some drama created by the same teacher. He would favorite one of the kids due to his mother and he would allow her to even yell at the kids while volunteering in the class. Besides that my child enjoyed kindergarten and I'm glad is almost over. Parents in this school are amazing, a lot of hard worker volunteers. The staff is ok, we noticed a lot of damage control, kids are encouraged to tell on each other which most parents didn't like, sometimes we noticed the staff would tell the parents what they think they want to hear. Overall is a great school, with a few teachers who need better training or be reassigned and a staff that could be more friendly, respectful and committed to the integrity, education and well being of the children, and the peace of mind of the parents instead of just covering each other's backs. There is a lot of room for improvement and I hope I can see some of those changes come to live soon.

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 1

Posted May 05, 2014
- a parent
Updated review: Unless you are close to the principal, forget decent treatment by teachers, faculty and staff. Pulled out in December and couldn't be happier! We switched to a private school that treats everyone with respect.


Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This school looks to be well organized and heading in the right direction with the positive trend of increasing test scores the past several years. Looking forward to my child attending kindergarten in the fall.

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies 5

Posted October 23, 2013
- a parent
Topeka is a wonderful school! The Principal truly cares about the students and my two children love going there. The teachers are great and the family atmosphere is one of a kind.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies
9815 Topeka Drive, Northridge, CA  91324
(818) 886-2266
Last modified Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Topeka Charter School For Advanced Studies Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 79 reviews. Top