Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-5|Private
250 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted January 15, 2016
- a parent
We are so happy at First Pres. We moved our son there for second grade and have been so thrilled with it in every way. It's academically challenging, his classroom size is small (his second grade has about 24), and there's a real sense of community and parent involvement that was missing from our previous school. This is a hidden gem!

First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted November 03, 2014
- a parent
My family has been part of First Pres Weekday School since 2006 when my eldest daughter was in the toddler room. She is now in 5th grade. I can't say enough about this school. The teachers and staff are amazing educators who love all the children so dearly. I am so blessed to have found a school where not only are my children receiving an amazing academic education, but they are doing so in a safe and loving environment. Both my daughters have said that their school feels like home. What can be better than that?


First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a parent
I am so thankful I found this school! My daughter now in 5th, started there in Kindergarten and I could not be happier with the wonderful teachers and staff. I definitely feel my daughter will be ready both academically and socially for middle school.

First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
We have been a family at First Pres for over 5 years now and we couldn't be happier with our childrens success and growth. The teachers focus on the whole child and developing people ready to be good community members and well rounded, God loving individuals. The school community is composed of families that work hard to lovingly support the chidlren at First Pres.

First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
This school has been wonderful for our family. We had 3 children in the school beginning in preschool and have 1 still there. First Pres prepared our older two children well for middle school academically and socially. First Pres provides a very caring, supportive environment in which to grow and learn. The school allowed for strong learning in not only traditional academic subjects, but in areas such as music, computers, drama and foreign language all in a Christian environment. Our children also developed great friendships with their classmates. Teachers and Administration have always been very supportive of our children and their development. We think of the school as a family and would recommend it to everyone!


First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted February 25, 2013
- a parent
We have had our children at this school for the last 7 years. My daughter started in the toddler class, went through preschool and is now in elementary here. It has been a wonderful experience! It is a smaller family oriented school. The teachers and staff are loving, warm and accessible. Parents are welcome on campus and in the classroom. There is a great community of good families. The school does not tolerate bullying and the kids are encouraged to be kind and supportive of each other. They are educated mentally, spiritually, and physically. There are many after school programs my kids love - art class, karate, and dance, etc. I can't say enough good things about First Pres. I feel they will be well prepared for middle school. It saddens me to see negative reviews, but I guess everyone has their own experience. Ours has been wonderful.

First Presbyterian Weekday School 1

Posted November 13, 2012
- a parent
Our son attended this school for two years and were extremely happy to remove him. Low end education and poor facilities make me question the future of this school. After attended several meetings with administrators I now understand the disfunction of this school. Do yourself and children a favor and avoid this school

First Presbyterian Weekday School 2

Posted March 22, 2012
- a parent
I did not feel the sense of community like I do with other schools. Usually at other schools, other mothers go out of their way to make you and your child feel welcome. Most mothers kept to themselves. I also think that it does not do a good job of blending children with different personalities. My child is very boisterous, confident, active and energetic. I found that their class did not encourage children who have the same personality as my child. The class lacked being dynamic and lively.


First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted February 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter attends this school and we couldn't be happier. She wakes up every morning eager to start school. The staff is very friendly (I was shocked that other reviews stated otherwise) and always are open to answer any questions and concerns that I may have. I couldn't ask for a better learning environment for my daughter.

First Presbyterian Weekday School 5

Posted February 06, 2012
- a parent
Our son started at this school when he was 2 years old in a toddler/ mommy and me class and is now in kindergarten. We are so happy with the education and care he is receiving at First Press Weekday School. I am so happy our family found such a perfect place for our son to grow and become the well rounded little boy he is. The teachers are amazing, they offer karate, soccer, dance, art, spanish, bible study, music, and so much more. Most of which is all included in the tuition. I have done my research on other private Christian schools and this one has just as much and more to offer than most and still has a lower cost for tuition. Our daughter is just starting school now also and we are so blessed to have a place our kids can go to that is just as loving, safe and warm as home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

First Presbyterian Weekday School
10400 Zelzah Avenue, Northridge, CA  91326
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (818) 368-7254
Last modified First Presbyterian Weekday School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
Top