Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Novato, CA
Students enrolled: 249
 

5 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


95 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Novato Charter School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
I couldn't be happier or more grateful to have my child at this school! The teachers are so caring and the students are so fulfilled and nurtured. The art and music this school incorporates are some of the things so many other public schools are missing. I love getting to feel like a real part of my child's education and the wonderful staff and other parents make me look forward to each day we get to grow and learn together with our children.

Novato Charter School 2

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
I would agree with the review posted on November of 2011. The school has had some turnover from senior staff and budget seems to be an issue. This school is going in the wrong direction.The teachers are dated in their views about how a child should act. The children in this school do not want to follow up their high school experience at another Waldorf system. Overall very dissapointed with their handling of my childs education and personal growth.


Novato Charter School 3

Posted November 17, 2011
- a community member
This school, coming from a student, is a good school, teaches good material, but is stuck in the 60's. Any use of cell phones, gaming devices or any other technological thing is forbidden and, if found, confiscated. In the kindergarten kids get in trouble for, and I quote, "TV Talk". Yes, thats right, even the mere MENTION of the word "Spider-man" is punishable. Other than this and the issues with budget (the school seems to be getting poorer and poorer every day) it is a good school. Worries about kids being teased/bullied, begone! The school has a 0 tolerance policy for things like this. The school is a raffle school with a long waiting list, so you might need to wait to get your kid in. One of the teachers (who I will leave unnamed) has an obsession with making kids pick up trash, which is very annoying. Also, the teachers tend to favor girls a LOT more than boys, so be prepared if your child is a boy. Last but not least, it has "main lesson", which is where you learn something, write a draft, draw a final (needs to be neat, have a nice border, etc.) then draw a picture. Very boring, takes a long time. Overall, its a pretty good school.

Novato Charter School 5

Posted November 22, 2010
- a parent
This school is a little gem in the sea of public school choas out there. It is a magical ride for the parents as well just as much as it is for the children. Reason being is that education is presented in such away that it makes you want to be back at school learning again yourself. The school really fosters a community of diversity and a classical education you just can't find easily these days.

Novato Charter School 5

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
The culture here is of care and kindness. As a new family to the school we could not feel more welcomed and cared for anywhere else. Having experiences with standard public schools, I view the significant difference being the shared interest of all families to be involved, maintain high expectations and the focus on heart, hand and head. These students learn how to be great people, in addition to being great learners.


Novato Charter School 0
no rating

Posted May 07, 2010
- a parent
They are' green' the evironment is very important and they teach and care about that, they teach students with love and caring to me is the best school in Novato and should be more schools like this

Novato Charter School 0
no rating

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
I love Novato Charter School because it is a well rounded education helping children unfold not academically but their love of learning and creativity.

Novato Charter School 5

Posted May 03, 2010
- a parent
It is a unique school in Marin. Unlike all the other schools they truly care about the students. They teach them not only academics but to care for each other and the environment and opens up their creative minds. We love this school and wish there were more like it.


Novato Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 28, 2010
- a parent
Why do you love Novato Charter School? It is a public school with private school standards and it educates heads, hearts and hands, not just the intellect.

Novato Charter School 0
no rating

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
The educational methods of Novato Charter School nurture the whole child and helped my son achieve excellence in high School.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Novato Charter School
940 C Street, Novato, CA  94949
(415) 883-4254
Last modified Novato Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Novato Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 95 reviews. Top