Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rancho Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Living in Novato

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $350,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

When it came time to pick a school for my son, I had a few choices I could go with. I am so happy that I picked Rancho! The staff there is very friendly and understanding of the child's needs and families concerns. My son, who was starting Kindergarten had many concerns and fears and his teacher and Principal has made this year, which is an important one in a child's school career a successful one. I have noticed this year that he has made leaps and bounds in his academics and social skills and I have Rancho to Thank for that. The parents of the students at the school are all very hands on and help each other out and that I feel makes it easier for the children to ask for help and keep our children safe at school as well. Rancho in my book is definitely a 10 and I am looking forward for the years to come there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

wonderful school. My son was transfered to this school last year and see a big different on the school culture and kids behavior. Now I understand why this is a popular school that every parent wants to come. I hope this school continue to stay wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

Excellent school !!!...Principal , teachers , parents and students make a great community. Rancho is a diamond in Novato and Marin County.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

Now that Rancho is a neighborhood school, our kids are able to walk and have easier access to a solid program with all their local friends. It has the same curriculum as the other schools, which we are happy with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Rancho has been and continues to be an incredible environment for my children. We knew from the moment we toured the school, that Rancho was the best choice for our family. The kids are incredibly engaged, challenged, respectful and well-behaved. The standards set by the administration, teachers, parents, and ultimately the students, are very high. It's the best, we love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2012

Rancho Elementary has such a wonderful staff and family community, something it takes years and years to build and to be successful at We are so lucky to attend our school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

Such a great school of choice. Amazing teachers, parents and students. This school should be celebrated for it's successes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

I love Rancho because the faculty really care about the welfare of every child and the parents are so involved with the school: it's a top notch education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

The parent and teacher invovlement is incredible and the learning environment allows the teachers to bring out the best in our children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

There is so much parent & family involvement in this school that it feels more like a big family than a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

Rancho is the best. The teacher stimulate each child according to their abilities. My child has learned so much in Kindergarten. We are just now entering the 3rd semester and she is reading fluently and is able to do additions mentally. This school is lottery based, but it is worth the every effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

Rancho is the best. It not only pushes the kids, it pushes the parents to get involved and stay involved. There is no magic to the formula - when parents are invested in the outcome, the kids excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2008

I love Rancho. I like the way parents get to interact with the teachers and principal as well as I like the volunteering opportunity as it gives us more insight about what our kids are doing in the class and their progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

Love the school. We are very lucky to have both children in the school. Would like to see more language (Spanish), more music and the arts. Love the teachers, the principal and the grounds are beautiful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

We have been thrilled with Rancho, the academics are outstanding, and the level of parent involvement is incredible. Additionally, although you need to particpate in the random lottery to enroll, the school is trying to encourage diversity by always having our Spanish speaking PTA President at each parent tour, and even setting up a seperate Spanish speaking only school tour. My children look forward to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2006

Our daughter is nearing completion of kindergarten at Rancho. We have been very pleased with all aspects of her experience this past year. Her teacher, Mrs. Bondanza, cares greatly about the children in her class and takes the time to help with individual student needs. We have been particularly pleased with the level of parent involvement in our daughter's class, including daily parent volunteers to assist with the rotating 'centers' workshops. All in all, this past year has been a great experience for us, but most importantly for our daughter who has grown by leaps and bounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2005

This is one of the best elementary schools my son has studied in. I like parents to be involved in what is happening in school. This is just right for me. And Teachers are very communicative. Have some extra circular activities too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

Rancho is an excellent school and as such there is more demand then space. Therefore, Rancho uses a lottery system to get in. This gives the perception of an 'elitist' school, or one not open to everyone. This is simply not the case. It's a Novato Public School, it's just not a 'neighborhood' school. If anything, I believe that makes it more open because it's not restricted to those who happen to live in the neighborhood. It's an outstanding school with excellent results. They are often punished for that success with this kind of perceprtion. I believe the key to Rancho is parental involvement. That may come from the fact that people had to take the extra step to get their kid in. One teacher told me it was 'the school she was born to teach in'. Is diversity an issue? Maybe, but remember the lottery is open to all kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2005

My child will be entering second grade at Rancho in the fall. The teachers truly seem to make and effort to know each and every child individually. For us the teachers were always willing to discuss my child's progress and have given us extra conferences. Rancho promotes strong academic achievement in a caring environment. Achievement and citizenship are recognized. The parent community is extremely involved. The leadership team and PTA board are intelligent and dedicated. Several family functions are offered throughout the school year, which provide a sense of community for all families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2005

Rancho Elementary School, when I was a student had a good environment and teachers that helped me succeed to where I am now. Presently I attend St. Ignatius College Prepartory in San Francisco, and Rancho helped build basics for me to get there. However while I was a student the science and grammar departments were slightly low, though at the same time math was superb.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

933

Change from
2012 to 2013

-25

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

933

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-25

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females100%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only92%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students92%
Females95%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability95%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate94%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females76%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability76%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females79%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian82%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Females98%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)93%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students93%
Females93%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)86%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females85%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability87%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students78%
Females80%
Males77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability82%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only80%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students77%
Females73%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability80%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate70%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 66%
Hispanic 14%
Asian 11%
Two or more races 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Black 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/AN/A
English language learners 10%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1430 Johnson Street
Novato, CA 94947
Website: Click here
Phone: (415) 897-3101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Nexus Academy
Novato, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT