Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Oak Park, CA
Students enrolled: 584
 

4 stars
Based on 34 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


38 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Not long ago my kid came home from Brookside and told that he is never going to school again. When asked what happened, he told that after he answered a question his teacher shouted, "I don't care what YOU think the story is about. You must select the right answer from the paper, that's all I want from you". I spoke to the teacher, but predictably this caused more harm than good. "We are not doing it here" was her response after I suggested letting kids have a little discussion time before starting on multiple choice questions. Don't really know what else to write. I know that classes are very crowded, and it is almost the end of the year so teachers are stressed, tired and overwhelmed. They don't have time to listen to every student. What I don't know is how to comfort my child. He used to love his old school and now is afraid to speak up in the classroom and would rather stay home. As you may see from the review right below complaining is not an option. No one here listens to parents' complaints, they immediately label your child "not smart enough". Yes, "parent complains" = "child not smart enough for Brookside" plain and simple.

Brookside Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
Brookside continues to be a school that maintains high standards and expectations of students. So far my 4th grader is doing great and loves his teacher & classroom! I suspect that the other negative reviews are due to their children not being able to keep up with the curriculum.


Brookside Elementary School 1

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
Here is the problem with the Oak Park Schools. They are only concerned with standardized testing. They even send kids home with standardized tests to work on for 2 months before the actual test day. Classes are crowded, and everything is about competition. Stars on the wall for how fast you can do math, or who got the most 100s. These schools are known for their academics, and allow many students from other districts, so the pool of students is skewed towards those with families who put a lot of emphasis on homework and testing and are willing to drive a long way for the "10". Unfortunately, the "10" does not mean that students are taught to think. They are robots who take tests. This system is definitely for some, but wasn't for us.
2 people found this helpful

Brookside Elementary School 1

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
Horrible place. Not in terms of education, but in the way how teachers and administration treat students and parents. My child's classroom teacher regularly withholds recess time for the whole class as a punishment for what she considers incomplete classroom work or bad behavior. Unfortunately for the children the school principle is 100% supporting and encouraging such methods. On top of that the new PE coach treats our children like criminals at a juvenile detention facility. Literally minimal discipline violations such as not reacting fast enough to her commands, laughing or even asking for water in 100 degree heat result in sit-on for the rest of the class. Have you child happen to wear shoes that coach doesn't like, he/she would not be allowed into the PE class at all. Fun part is that the **same** shoe model was perfectly OK for the PE last year. The school office had never even bothered to send a note to parents letting us know that the rules had changed and special PE shoes are now mandatory.

Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted January 19, 2015
- a parent
We didn't have a good experience at Brookside. I have succumbed to the great Oak Park schools hype and got my children transferred to BES. A few weeks into the year they started complaining about clique kids and hard time fitting in. I have tried talking to the school administration, but was told that OP schools are not for everyone and if we are not happy we can always go back to the homedistrict. I did just that and put my children back into an elementary school in our homedistrict. That was my absolutely best move. Not telling that OP school are bad for everyone. Only wanted to let other parents know that out-of-district families have a chance of been considered less equal ones by the administration, and that students who don't match school ethnic profile might have difficulties blending in. In my opinion academic program at BES was dull and not challenging enough for my children. The school didn't engage kids into deeper learning, on most days they were repeatedly going over the test questions. Our current school has higher API score than BES, more diverse demographics, well rounded program and very reasonable administration.


Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted December 22, 2014
- a parent
Before listening to your agent and moving to OP, check some things yourself. OP residents pay on average pay about $1200 in extra taxes in the form of parcel tax and school bonds. Don't assume that higher taxes makes OPUSD schools any better. Classes are very crowded, i.e. 30 kids per class in elementary, 40 in middle, up to 50 in high. There are lots of teachers in the district with only a few (<5) years of experience. Curriculum is extremely basic, doesn't even come close to LAUSD magnet program. If you are looking for an individualized attention, advanced program option, musical instrument classes, hands-on learning, assignments in the form of oral presentations, STEAM, singapore math, talent shows, class plays made by students and teachers, spelling bee, history days, etc. that is absolutely not the school to meet your expectations, the school offers none from the list. If you are in search for a school with a basic curriculum where most of the homework is computer-based (think no word, sentences or story writing just drag-and-drop), where powerpoint had replaced oral presentations and where your child will be doing color-by-number as a fun activity you have got a match.

Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted November 14, 2014
- a parent
Warning: Do not move to Oak Park because you have heard that the public schools are so great. Do not believe the hype. Brookside has been a huge disappointment. This is a very cold place where high test scores are valued above anything else. There is no sense of community or connection with others. Honestly, the teachers here are pretty good. They are veteran teachers with organized and well-managed classrooms. It's just that they are under tremendous pressure to improve the test scores, and that pressure is then passed on to the students who are stressed out (even in kindergarten).
3 people found this helpful

Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted November 27, 2013
- a parent
The school is severely overcrowded, the first grade classes have 28 students in (and the # goes up with grade). Now imaging the regular school day. Out of those 28: 2 are special need students, 3 speak no English, 4 can not read (yes, in this "highly academical" district there are still children who can not read after K). Who is struggling? Teachers and students who are at least at the average level. Teachers are frantically trying to work with below average kids, since those are lowering CST scores and can reduce the funds received by the district. Average kids are left with "sit quiet and read a book, honey" type of learning. You can ask for extra homework for the child and get it, but that's all. Unfortunately even the best teachers can not do miracles and create thriving environment for everyone in the group of 30. As for extras, the art program that PTA creates so much hype about is once a month class, music is 30 mins a week, PE is 30 mins twice a week. Chorus is not free, same as drama (guess BES is the only school in the nation where you need to pay for your child to sing in the school chorus).


Brookside Elementary School 2

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
We have been at Brookside for three years now. We chose this school in part because of the reviews that we read here. Teachers are awesome and the community of parents can not be beat. However, the principal and admin staff are horrible. The principal views parents as nothing more than an ATM machine. She has enacted policies that keeps parents off campus before the school day even begins. You are not allowed to walk your child on campus to class. The idea that parents should be treated as customers is completely lost. She wants your $ though. At a PTA meeting last year she actually had the nerve to suggest that we were so hard up for funds (we are not) that people should consider signing over their tax returns to the school. If you want a school with good solid teachers and a staff that will make it loud and clear that parents are not partners or even customers then this is the school for you.

Brookside Elementary School 1

Posted August 24, 2013
- a parent
The school makes parents pay for the textbooks, The price the school charges is at least 2X the actual books cost. Cost of enrolling a child is almost $500 ($180 school donation + $150 district donation + $100 books cost + various PTA fees) by the first day of school, plus they have dosens of fundraisers scheduled through the year, so expect the cost be close to thousand per year per child. Rather expensive for an elementary public school with no after or before school care.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brookside Elementary School
165 North Satinwood Avenue, Oak Park, CA  91377
(818) 597-4200
Last modified Brookside Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brookside Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. Top