Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oak Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
Amazing school. We have 4 children and moved specifically to Oak Park for the wonderful, public education offered here. Oak Hills Elementary is ranked #1 in all of Ventura County and offers a stellar academic prep. The only detriment is that so many people want to attend here and class sizes are increasing tremendously with statewide budget cuts. We have now average 27 children per class up to 30 in Grades 4 and 5. The teachers are all tenured and have been at Oak Hills for 15-20+ years and have outstanding reputation. They sincerely care about the children's education and the school is made up of a tight-knit community of well-educated and involved parents. We absolutely love it here.

Oak Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Oak Hills is a great school. My children have gone there for the past 7 years. The teachers, students, parents, office staff and principal are wonderful. Children who are "gifted" are always challenged to learn at higher levels and do more. Children who need extra help are given the help they need. I feel extremely fortunate that my children have been able to attend this school.


Oak Hills Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
I am one of the nightmare stories. If your child does not keep up with the other kids watch out. They will make you fell low and offer some bad news. Get help and stick it out do not let them bully you in holding your child back a grade. The kids all know those kids. Do not label your child. Hard work is whats best for your kid. Do not let them scare you. The kids at this school have very high scores, which show the teachers do a great job of teaching, but remember there scores are higher then most. I believe keeping them there will make your child successful. Get all the help you can, Tutors, after school study group with other kids, Grandma, Grandpa, Aunt , Uncle etc. This School will led them to a higher education. There is a lot of parent involvement in the classroom.

Oak Hills Elementary School 3

Posted September 08, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oak Hills Elementary School 2

Posted April 22, 2009
- a community member
I guess it just really depends on who you are at the school, what your personal experience will be with a child attending there. Most are happy, but the few who have experienced another side to the school can tell you some real nightmare stories. If your child attends here, just hope that you don't end up in that smaller category of really bad experiences. All I can say is that there is definitely preferential treatment of some students over others, there is not equality here, and you better hope your child doesn't get bullied, because the discipline at this school is extremely lenient. The principal does not take criticism very well, and will not work with you if you even remotely question her policies. You will be ignored.


Oak Hills Elementary School 4

Posted January 15, 2009
- a parent
The school is wonderful, as is the principal, the teachers and the families. The teachers enjoy teaching and it shows. The academic expectations are in-line with what we want for our children - they are strong. The assignments are challenging, fun and rewarding. Yes, parents do need to be involved. I'm not sure when or why that became a negative.

Oak Hills Elementary School 3

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Oak Hills Elementary School 4

Posted April 02, 2007
- a parent
Good school, no one is sure of what their doing with the 4th and 5th grade exchanges and every time we turn around they ask for money and yet their computers are antiquated and we have to supply room supplies - where's the money go? No one knows. Definately not to class and teachers.


Oak Hills Elementary School 4

Posted March 27, 2007
- a parent
Great small school. Amazing principal and staff. It's a nice atmosphere where everyone seems to know each other. Parents are very involved and care about the school. Teachers are experienced and caring. We're very happy with Oak Hills.

Oak Hills Elementary School 3

Posted March 20, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oak Hills Elementary School
1010 Kanan Road, Oak Park, CA  91377
(818) 707-4224
Last modified Oak Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oak Hills Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top