Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Oak Hills Elementary School 4

Posted June 03, 2016
- a community member
My son will be going to 3rd grade in 2016 - 2017. He had a great year in 2nd grade. In the last 3 years, 2 of the 3 teachers were really good . They really knew the potential and what he was capable of. I do feel that homework is pretty basic . Also, since the class size is big, teachers rely on parents to evaluate tests and homework . I have seen that some of the evaluations are incorrect. I think the school/ district needs to invest in additional teacher aid to support class sizes of 28/30 kids. Good side is the projects that the kids do are really interesting and truly makes you think. Overall I believe it's a good school .

Oak Hills Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
The homework load is on the heavy side but not to the point where it is meaningless and makes my children lose interest.


Oak Hills Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
Most teachers at this school recognize talent and raises the bar for high achievers on a consistent basis. It helps that they have many fully tenured and very experienced teachers who still see value in challenging students to do their best instead of merely meeting status quo per the most recent educational guidelines. The teachers go the extra mile and it shows in the students' drive to do their best.

Oak Hills Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I have found the teachers and staff to be concerned about the well being of students yet quite strict and consistent in evaluating questionable behavior on the student's part.

Oak Hills Elementary School 5

Posted February 11, 2016
- a parent
I moved my children from a Charter school and a Magnet school respectively to OHES after reading numerous reviews and talking to many parents already involved with this school. I am very glad that every one of their teachers at OHES so far has mirrored the guidance I provide at home, hence my kids get a balanced and unified outlook on learning and behavior. I have very few regrets in moving my children to this school. The class sizes are somewhat large, but it teaches the children to focus better. OHES has a good balance of project vs. workbook based curriculum - the projects are designed to nurture presentation skills which will undoubtedly come in handy regardless of which area of higher education the children specialize in.


Oak Hills Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2015
- a parent
We love this school! Came here from another district and notice a huge difference in structure and academic offerings. My daughter is really excelling and needed more of a challenge. The Principal and staff are amazing here and it seems like such a small, tight knit group. Glad we made the switch!

Oak Hills Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
Amazing school. We have 4 children and moved specifically to Oak Park for the wonderful, public education offered here. Oak Hills Elementary is ranked #1 in all of Ventura County and offers a stellar academic prep. The only detriment is that so many people want to attend here and class sizes are increasing tremendously with statewide budget cuts. We have now average 27 children per class up to 30 in Grades 4 and 5. The teachers are all tenured and have been at Oak Hills for 15-20+ years and have outstanding reputation. They sincerely care about the children's education and the school is made up of a tight-knit community of well-educated and involved parents. We absolutely love it here.

Oak Hills Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2011
- a parent
Oak Hills is a great school. My children have gone there for the past 7 years. The teachers, students, parents, office staff and principal are wonderful. Children who are "gifted" are always challenged to learn at higher levels and do more. Children who need extra help are given the help they need. I feel extremely fortunate that my children have been able to attend this school.


Oak Hills Elementary School 3

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
I am one of the nightmare stories. If your child does not keep up with the other kids watch out. They will make you fell low and offer some bad news. Get help and stick it out do not let them bully you in holding your child back a grade. The kids all know those kids. Do not label your child. Hard work is whats best for your kid. Do not let them scare you. The kids at this school have very high scores, which show the teachers do a great job of teaching, but remember there scores are higher then most. I believe keeping them there will make your child successful. Get all the help you can, Tutors, after school study group with other kids, Grandma, Grandpa, Aunt , Uncle etc. This School will led them to a higher education. There is a lot of parent involvement in the classroom.

Oak Hills Elementary School 2

Posted April 22, 2009
- a community member
I guess it just really depends on who you are at the school, what your personal experience will be with a child attending there. Most are happy, but the few who have experienced another side to the school can tell you some real nightmare stories. If your child attends here, just hope that you don't end up in that smaller category of really bad experiences. All I can say is that there is definitely preferential treatment of some students over others, there is not equality here, and you better hope your child doesn't get bullied, because the discipline at this school is extremely lenient. The principal does not take criticism very well, and will not work with you if you even remotely question her policies. You will be ignored.

Nearby schools

Oak Hills Elementary School
1010 Kanan Road, Oak Park, CA  91377-4826
(818) 707-4224
Last modified Oak Hills Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top