Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Oak Park, CA
Students enrolled: 526

4 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


42 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Red Oak Elementary School 4

Posted May 20, 2014
- a community member
We need to allow everybody raise their voice and we need to respect others opinion. We should not shut on the face. Everybody has choice to go other school and I don't think anybody asking opinion. We are rating this school based on individual experience. Let us allow everybody to provide valuable feedback and keep this env well professional. Thanks

Red Oak Elementary School 4

Posted March 29, 2014
- a parent
To the parents who are from out of district - GO SOMEWHERE ELSE if you're not happy here - PLEASE!!! My kids would have been LAUSD and we chose happily to come to OPUSD where the teachers are amazing and the students are intellectually way above other school districts. We're now in district and love our school and our kids are learning, excelling and doing better than 99% of other schools around the country. Our teachers are over burdened with too many students, I agree, HOWEVER, our students are still way above most other schools in the country. The PFA (the same 20 volunteers out of a school of 625) sees that teachers get classroom aides, MUSIC, P.E., computer classes and more! Try going to LAUSD or other school districts and see what you get for your measly $10 donation. The only reason I gave a four is because if you have a special needs child this is NOT the district for you. If your child does not fit into the "box" go somewhere else as fast as you can. They try to help, but special needs does not ultimately help district scores, and that is all the Superintendent cares about.


Red Oak Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2014
- a parent
Red Oak is a wonderful school! The teachers care about the children! My children are excelling there! I couldn't be happier! If you are unhappy with the school, you have a choice to leave. I think you are afraid of what you will find somewhere else.

Red Oak Elementary School 5

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
If you don't like Red Oak, then leave. :-) I went there back in the early 90's and now I own 2 homes and making well over $250,000 a year. So...now my kids will go there.

Red Oak Elementary School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
This school is completely overrated! All of the hype this school district does is ridiculous. After actually being inside the school and seeing what really goes on, we are completely disappointed with the lack of quality teaching and will look elsewhere. There is NO differentiation whatsoever and the teachers have every child do the exact same thing. Our child came into first grade with very high math skills and he is forced to sit and do dittos after he finishes his work. When you ask the primary grade teachers for more challenging material for your child, they come up with excuses as to why they cannot provide it. The amount of dittos that are used are unbelievable. Our child's current teacher uses intimidation tactics to "manage" her class and she clearly likes to assert her power over the parents if they do not do what she wants. The principal is useless and seems as though he is managed by the teachers. With all of the money and parent participation this school receives, it's very disappointing to see how poorly they perform. The reason their test scores are so high is because children come in with high skills beforehand, not from the teachers doing anything special.
2 people found this helpful


Red Oak Elementary School 1

Posted November 28, 2013
- a community member
Totally agree with the previous reviewers. OPUSD had gone way too far with the district of choice program. Classes are way over-sized. Elementary schools have 30 kids per class, middle is 35 to 40 per class and high is 40 to 50. What kinds of quality education we can talk about in this situation. The only winner in here is oversized and high inefficient OPUSD administration that enjoys a steady flow of $ from the out-of-distrci students, while Oak Park residents and especially OP kids are the one who suffer the consequences including declining quality of education, increased traffic, loss of community values and as a result loss of property value. On top of that OP residents continue to pay the parcel tax to keep the OPUSD party going. Just check how many negative reviews were posted this year about all OPUSD schools and how the test scores had dropped. But don't worry the OPUSD administration will continue to send us cheerful emails telling that things had never been better, and if there is anyone to blame for the poor performance of OPUSD schools that would be the California government and Oak Park resident who (stupid them) don't want to pay more taxes.

Red Oak Elementary School 1

Posted November 25, 2013
- a parent
What can I say. I will keep it short and say NOT HAPPY. Very disappointed with all the district transfers that are allowed into this district. Where has our sense of community gone, people?! There are kids all the way from Oxnard to Woodland Hills attending our school, using fake local addresses or winning lotteries to 'get in'. This has gotten ridiculous and has diluted the quality that this school and district were known for. Kudos to Conejo USD for not selling out. Guess what? We're moving there for next year. My sons will get a true sense of community and a district that takes care of it's own for their remaining elementary years.

Red Oak Elementary School 2

Posted November 04, 2013
- a parent
Because we moved to the area specifically for this school, we are now saddened to see that our expectations have not been met. Our kindergartener is jammed into a classroom of 29 students with a great teacher who is barely getting by with minimal support. The administration seem burnt out and there isn't the amazing electrical charge that we had so hoped for within this school. We are already weighing our options for next year and looking at the neighboring school district. The test scores dropped this year which also plays a role in rethinking our decision.


Red Oak Elementary School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Been at the school for four years now and hands down the best in Oak Park, the faculty and parents make the school a great experience most importantly for my children. I would not even consider other schools in the area. red Oak is by far the best!!

Red Oak Elementary School 4

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
We returned to Red Oak after three years out of state and found things to be VERY different, unfortunately not in a good way. Class sizes are 25-34, jammed in tiny classrooms, with all the added stress and reduced one on one contact with their teachers. yet the district is still accepting out of district applicants in spite of the crowded conditions. The music program is no more, unless you count the well-meaning/pleasant but rather inept aide pushing a 'music cart' from room to room. The school's parent association is asking for more and more money -- several hundred a year per child -- plus a lengthy list of school supplies. Teachers are trying their best, but you can already see the exhausted frustration on their faces and we're only a month into the school year. This school has a very poor, disengaged administrator who doesn't seem to care to even want to be there. Sad decline, and not all due to the devastating budget cuts. As returning parents, we're already considering our private- and home-school options. Sad.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Red Oak Elementary School
4857 Rockfield Street, Oak Park, CA  91377
(818) 707-7972
Last modified Red Oak Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Red Oak Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. Top