Advertisement

Oakland Hebrew Day School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $283,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2008

I attended OHDS from kindergarten - 8th. What I loved most was the connection I made with younger students. OHDS taught us how to be leaders and role models. I graduated a few years ago; my closest friends today are the people I graduated with. We all agree that OHDS completely prepared us for all of the academic challenges of high school. Beyond academics, the Judaic studies also helped us form Jewish identity. This past summer, I went to the Ukraine to run a camp for underprivileged Jewish children. There is no way that I could have done this without having the solid foundation that OHDS gave me. Most of all, OHDS taught me that it was important to never sit back and let others do things for you. I was always encouraged to stand up for what I believed in and get involved in anything important to me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2008

I read the review dating August 1, and I could not disagree more. I am also a graduate of OHDS, and there is not one friend of mine who would write or agree with this. OHDS is a fantastic school, with incredible teachers. The academics are challenging, and they really prepared me to take honors courses in high school and succeed in all of them. I learned how to manage my time and think for myself. No other school better teaches kids how to learn, through general and Judaic studies. Because of the school, I am a stronger writer, I love Biology, and I speak Hebrew really well. I enjoyed playing on team sports and learning computer animation thanks to the OHDS/PIXAR class. Plus, OHDS teaches how to be kind and thankful; so that is why the previous posting surprised me so much. It s pretty rude, if you ask me!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2008

Speaking as a graduate of OHDS, I would not recommend this school. I attended OHDS for 9 years (K-8) and graduated several years ago. I now attend a secular college-preparatory high school in the Bay Area. Coming out of OHDS, I felt very underprepared academically, particularly in math, science, and history. I found both the math and science curriculums to be very substandard, and I entered high school far behind my peers in almost every academic area. I know that most of my classmates from OHDS experienced the same problems. All the emphasis and time placed on the Judaic studies led to serious holes and deficits in the quality of the secular education (math, science, history, english, geography etc). However, I do not feel like the Judaic education was excellent either- my entire class came out of OHDS speaking only minimal Hebrew- nowhere near the level of fluency the school promises.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2007

Excellent Judaic studies and general studies curriculum. Loving and dedicated teachers who frequently go above and beyond. My fourth grader loves school. A bonus with the dual curriculum is her fluency in Hebrew, which will be culminated in the 8th grade trip to Israel with her class. Although my children and husband are Jewish, I am not, and am still happy with the educational standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

We are starting our fifth year at OHDS and are very happy with the school, the staff, and the community. We are Conservative and find our children love the Judaic Studies curriculum. They enjoy delving into the stories in the chumash, the Hebrew songs, and conversation. OHDS has an outstanding art program that teaches art history by engaging students in the lives of artists and then making their own creations reflecting the style of the artist. My 4th grade daughter's favorite classes are Art and Computer. My first grade boy loves Math, Hebrew and P.E. OHDS has a great after school program as well giving kids a chance to check out carpentry, science, yoga, and computer animation. I am very impressed with the mutual respect and team work I have witnessed between administration, faculty, and parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2006

My two children attend OHDS and they absolutely love it! We are conservative, (not orthodox) and find the school and community extremely welcoming. The teachers are outstanding and the level of education is extremely high. Since the class sizes are small, my son has 13 kids in Kindergarten and my daughter has 13 in 4th grade, the teachers are able to know them. They really understand my children on a very deep level. I would hightly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 95%
Two or more races 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5500 Redwood Road
Oakland, CA 94619
Phone: (510) 531-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT