Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
136 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Acts Christian Academy 3

Posted September 24, 2013
- a parent
I have been a part of the ACA family for the past 3 years. I like that the school is very small and intimate. All teachers get to know ALL students on a first name basis. The staff prays over and with the students daily. My child is very knowledeable about the bible and it's content. Academically my child is excelling, I oftentimes wonder if he is not being challenged enough. However, it is hard for me to determine that as the homework is usually just a bible verse. There are sports but sometimes the communication is delayed. I have a hard time with the fact that the school doesn't offer a computer class. Now days in public school kids are being introduced to computers as early as kindergarten. I love the preschool, the children are very advanced. The 3 year olds can tie their shoes. In kindergarten they are able to read very well. Only thing about the preschool I don't like is their playground, it needs some TLC. Overall I like the school. The price is affordable, the hours are great, no minimum days, minimal holidays. But the follow up by the prinicpal isn't there and commuinication isn' t great. No newsletters just a white board that announcements are posted on.

Acts Christian Academy 2

Posted September 21, 2011
- a parent
I really wish I could give the school higher ratings. I will say that for pre-school to 3rd grade the curriculum and foundation that the students recieve is excellent !!! Nepotism is rampant at this school, and it appears that if you are a family member then you are eligible to be a teacher, even withouth credentials and previous experiance. The turnover rate for non family member teachers is extremeley high. I feel that the school begins to fail the students once they advance to middle school level.There is no school library and the children have rarely taken trips to the locatl library. There are no computer claseses for the students, and there is no online access for parents or students to access and communicate with staff and the administration. To end on a positive note. I know without a doubt that if my child had been in purblic school they would have never recieved the love and attention they recieve from Acts Christian Acadeny. I know the principal and admisnistration pray over our babies, and I thank God for that. The school hours are wonderful also 6:30 - 6:000pm.


Acts Christian Academy 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attends preschool at ACA and I can not imagine sending her anywhere else for K-8th grade, I'm hoping that by the time she gets to high school ACA will have expanded. Since enrolling my daughter in ACA she has become better behaved. She is only 3 and can recite bible verses and actually understands what they mean. The curriculum is excellent. The teachers are very loving and understanding. I love the small class sizes and the fact that the principal, teachers, and staff are familiar with each individual child. In comparsion to other children I know who do not attend Acts my daughter is extremely advanced.

Acts Christian Academy 5

Posted December 11, 2009
- a parent

Acts Christian Academy 1

Posted February 06, 2009
- a parent
My child has attented ACA for 2 years. ACA is not what I expected. Because the school staff is so family oriented, some of the children and staff are not treated fairly. Private school teachers do not have to have the same teaching creditentials as public schools and it shows. My child will not be attending ACA next year. I would not recommend ACA to anyone.


Acts Christian Academy 3

Posted February 01, 2009
- a student
I am an alumnus of Acts Christian Academy. I believe that the level of 'good behavior' among students has declined. The curriculum is VERY objective and straight forward (mostly of the material can be memorized). The curriculum for the middle school grades needs to be improved in 4 areas ( Foreign Language, Science, computer science, and mathematics) Once your child enters high school they may feel a lack of knowledge concidering many of their counterparts are already studying pre-calculus, have had beginning computer classes, beginner foreign language classes, as well as beginner lab-level science classes. The level of nepotism is ridiculous!..there are way too many family members that attend and work at the school which leaves too much room for 'role conflict' issues. Students often times do not recieve proper punishment for their actions. In All, the elementary level curriculum is great. The middle schol-level curriculum is mediocre.

Acts Christian Academy
no rating

Posted December 09, 2008
- a parent
Acts Christian Academy is a wonderful school my son has been there for two years and has excelled each year. But I can't help to notice that the cleanless of the school has gone way down from the class rooms to the halls. The walls need to be painted, the floors in the halls are a mess and don't look like they has been cleaned in months the cafeteria don't look any better the carpets and floors in there are in even a bigger mess the school used to be nice and well maintained but now it seems to not matter what it looks like.

Acts Christian Academy 3

Posted September 01, 2008
- a parent
My son has been a student since preschool and he is now in 5th grade. As far as academic Acts Christian Academy is excellent and students score high on tests. Since the school head coach left, the sporting department has been falling apart. The parents who volunteer their time to keep sporting department going are doing their best and I appreciate their effort. The only thing that this school lack is stable administrative staff. The staff are mostly family related and non-related teachers are constantly coming and going. This school need a more diverse and stable staff that are teaching our kids because of their credentials and not because they are a family member. Overall this school is a good school and very family oriented. Most importantly our kids are learning in a safe environment. Our staff will get it together and as a parent I support their effort.


Acts Christian Academy
no rating

Posted May 12, 2008
- a parent
Acts Christian Academy is an excellent place for learning. My child has attended since pre-school and has excelled each year since she started. It is not a perfect school, but who is perfect, right? It is a great school for my daughter. The curriculum is one of the best, the support and encouragement from the staff is just great!

Acts Christian Academy 1

Posted December 02, 2007
- a parent
This school is not the place to go to model Christian values for your child. The communication skills of the Principal is low, while gossip is extremely high. If you are leaving public schools for private school safety, think again. Despite the various sir names, most of the staff is related. Nepotism clouds good judgment. Save your money. Look elsewhere.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Acts Christian Academy
1034 66th Avenue, Oakland, CA  94621
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (510) 568-3333
Last modified Acts Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top