Advertisement

Beacon Day School

Private | PK-8 | 180 students

Beacon helps caring parents raise fearless kids.
 
 

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

46 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 3, 2009

Finally, a school that teaches to EVERY child. Their motto should be, Truly, NO child is left behind' It's a fabulous learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

The teachers know their students well and are in tune with their individual needs. The kids are totally excited and interested in going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Beacon is amazing. What they promote as their approach to teaching is what they provide for their students. It is a wonderful year-round program that supports working families. Each child is challenged and gifts are encouraged to develop as well as risk taking for new things. A wonderful learning enviroment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Just look at the 8th graders at Beacon. Such well rounded, CONFIDENT, smart kids. My children are just starting out at Beacon, but I hope they achieve the same greatness!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Beacon is a learning environment that celebrates individuality, diversity and community. It grows children into competent, compassionate and likable adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Beacon focuses on raising and educating a whole child, not just an academic performer. They focus on truly raising a child that is healthy in all areas of development - academic, athletic, social, emotional, etc. Each child is different and Beacon fosters and celebrations that diversity. The support for families is incredible - through discussions and classes that focus your child's development, how Beacon is approaching their education during that development, and how I can be a better parent. The faculty & staff are devoted educators, many of whom are Beacon parents too! My child is accepted for who she is. She is positively encouraged to explore and expand her own dreams of what she is capable of becoming. And Beacon safely guides her (and us) along that journey. I am so thankful for Beacon and the loving care they provide my child, and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

Small class size, individualized attention to each student, offers computers, physical education, dance and music weekly to every child from preK to 8th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

this wonderful school provides the tools to be academically sucessful in life, and also teaches them socially, emotionally, and to instill a confidence that no matter who they are, they are special. The diversity of this institution matches the world that our children will occupy in their adult lives, and teaches them that no one is excluded due to their backgrounds. These kids truly know how to work through conflicts with others, how to take responsibility for their actions, know that they may have opinions and views that differ from others, and its OK, and, through very well developed and skilled teachers, teach at the speed the student can grasp..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

The teachers are passionate about teaching, and encourage children to learn in many different ways. As a result the children are passionate about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Beacon is a very welcoming school. The staff and teachers are incredibly passionate and sincere about all the children receiving a great education. The kids at Beacon are engaged, happy, and learning. My family and I are very happy to be a part of Beacon Day School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Love the faculty and staff, friendly hardworking and sincere. Truly diverse without bragging about it; very down to earth and cutting edge in academic approach to children and their learning. All the kids know the teachers and staff and the staff/faculty get to know the children as well. Everyone is diverse economically and racially...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

We moved to Oakland from the East Coast. We were not overly thrilled about any of the schools that our son had previously attended until we came upon Beacon. The school philosophy of fostering life long learning seems to work. Our son now likes going to school (as much as 9 yo boy can). He has become more confident and likes learning. The full year program is much more manageable for us and takes a lot of pressure off of him (and us) since there is no homework for K-4. It is pricey but we believe that it is well worth the investment. Also the school recognizes that parents are busy and does not overload you with fundraisers, events, etc. The teachers also seem genuinely interested in the kids learning and the small class sizes and individual attention is good for kids who do not fit the cookie cutter mold.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The faculty from Richard, the Head of school, to the after care teachers are all wonderful! My child looks forward to school...weekends at home are 'boring'! Mondays can't come fast enough for her...All the children are so engaged!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

It has provided my son with the most nurturing and supportive environment for his success-I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

We love Beacon Day School! It truly is a fantastic place to learn. They are passionate about the Arts, and have challenged and supported my son academically. It is a year round school, that understands the needs of a two working parent family. I can't say enough great things about Beacon... I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2009

Beacon helps create confident, successful learners, who truly enjoy school, enthusiastically embrace the arts and are at home in a genuinely diverse community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My two kids at Beacon are thriving both academically and socially. The arts programs are strong, but I wouldn't consider it an art school. Academics are rigorous, but it the program stresses that the kids master a skill before they move on. I can imagine that might leave some kids who transfer out to a public school mid-stream feeling behind. However, I've seen first hand that if the kids are allowed to learn this way, they really MASTER the skills. They don't teach to the test and don't force kids to learn all at the same rate. My bright kids feel challenged but not burned out by school. They love to learn and read more than most kids I know (they have time without all that homework). Both can't wait to go every day of the 230+ days of school every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

My child went to Beacon for four years. Beacon's program is not academically sound. In Math when my child transferred to a public school she was two grade levels behind. I would not recommend this school to anyone that was concered with making sure their child was on competent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2008

Beacon Day School addresses how children learn better than any other school I have seen. All children at Beacon master the skills of reading, writing and math before they move on to more challenging work. My 6th grade daughter is thriving because she loves school. Homework was given in 4th adn 5th grade at an appropriate level and now in 6th grade although she has hoemwork daily, she is ready to take it on. She didn't need 2 hours of homework a night since 1st grade to learn how to do it. All Beacon kids are able to experience daily success at school and this enables them to take acdemic risks as they are presented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

This is our second year at Beacon. The longer I am there the more amazing things I discover. The children are so very happy, they love coming to school! By 6th grade the students on average test 2 years above grade level, mainly because they do not advance until they have mastered each skill...and kids who advance quickly move on quickly - lots of gifted kids. Kids are very attuned socially and differences are respected. The teachers we have had are amazing, quite experienced, are highly organized, and know exactly what they want to accomplish. But they are also very personable and the kids just love them. I just think this is a hidden jewel of a school. Don't be put off by its location, which is a bit urban feeling. Apply for financial aid, it can really help the tuition crunch. Quite a value since it is year round.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 42%
Black 32%
Hispanic 19%
Asian 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 2:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jan Stone
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (510) 437-2313

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mastery; Developmental
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Music
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Dance club
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Beacon is a school like no other, though precisely what every school should be. Beacon is a way of educating that frees minds, open hearts and releases spirits, to help children thrive in our ever changing world. One by one, at their own pace, our students become critical thinkers, problem solvers and creative explorers who are articulate, capable and fearless. Together, our students learn how to get along, help others, and lead through tolerance, compassion, empathy and altruism.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
35
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
49
Students typically come from these schools
Daycare/Preschool Centers
Family Daycare/Preschool
Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$16000 - $20000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop O'Dowd High School
Head-Royce School
St. Joseph Notre Dame High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2101 Livingston Street
Oakland, CA 94606
Website: Click here
Phone: (510) 436-4466

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT