Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
110 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 90 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Beacon Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Research shows that homework in elementary school (other than reading) does not improve learning outcomes and too much homework is detrimental. I am so grateful Beacon does not do homework below 5th grade.

Beacon Day School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Beacon staff are experienced, caring, adaptable and attuned to the individuality of every student. They support kids in loving learning


Beacon Day School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Thank you Beacon staff for teaching, loving, and caring for my child every day and creating an environment where he loves to go to school! Thank you for knowing that teaching is more than making kids learn information but that it includes building positive relationships with them so they know they are cared for at school.

Beacon Day School 5

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter started 6th grade this fall at Beacon Day. We were very excited to go here but worried that the school would not live up to the hype of admissions rhetoric. I am happy to say that it was everything and more. Although we have only been there a short time, teachers are extremely responsive and always willing to make time to talk. My daughter felt comfortable there from day 1 and has an extremely easy transition. She is happy and doing well.

Beacon Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
I have been amazed at the teaching staff at Beacon. My daughter comes home every night talking about cool things she learned. She is very engaged in her learning.


Beacon Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
I really appreciate how Beacon handles homework. There is a lot of support and communication so that students never need to be overwhelmed.

Beacon Day School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
Because we just started, it is too soon to tell. However, the high expectations and encouraging kids to fail make me feel like the school will develop determination and confidence.

Beacon Day School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
The teachers and staff so clearly care about the kids that the kids respond by giving their trust, respect and best effort.


Beacon Day School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
We haven't been here long, but I really like the fact that with such a small school, kids need to learn how to get along with each other.

Beacon Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 09, 2015
- a parent
The school has high expectations for the students. If a student is struggling, they teach the child the communicate that they need help. I believe they have a strong tone of honest and open communication.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Beacon Day School
2101 Livingston Street, Oakland, CA  94606
(510) 436-4466
Last modified Beacon Day School is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Beacon Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 90 reviews. Top