Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
EC Reems definitely surprised me. Despite the location of the school and the limited resources, I am very pleased with the education my daughter is receiving thus far. Her teacher is a UC Berkeley graduate. My daughter is writing both her first and last name along with the date within the first two weeks of school. The staff cares about the children and I feel good about the choice I made sending her there.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
E. C. Reems Academy is a great school. The teachers, admin and office staff bring a great diversity to the school. I like the fact that they are a small school and care for the chldren. The majority of the children leave E C Rems and go on to better high schools and to college. One thing I learned there is that we all may not agree but the best interest of the kids are at hand. This is the village that the community need. The staff is hands on with loving care.


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 0
no rating

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
E C Reems Academy is a great school. The teachers are professional and genuinely care about my grandchildren. My older grandchildren graduated from Reems Academy, attended the better high schools in and around Oakland and are now seniors in college. Reems Academy provided the foundation to succeed in life.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 3

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
This school really has the potential to be a wonderful school, however, too many things are left in the wrong hands. While my child has received an acceptable level of education, the level of professionalism the children have to endure with certain staff is far below acceptable. I feel for the level of potential that the school has and the number of willing parents to help out, this school could be one of the best in Oakland if not the best. With the right people relieved of certain duties this school could be awesome. My vote let secretaries be secretaries and teachers be teachers and if their are other things that need to be taken care of maybe the outsource of actual 'qualified' personnel would better serve the students.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
I am happy that I picked this school because my boys learned more challenging subjects that they thought they could not challenge. With the teachers help they had made it through with couple of months stay, my boys had given me a 3.6 and a 3.8 gpa. I was very please. Admins, teachers are wonderful here in this school. Please continue your communications with parents and students...thank you..


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted December 18, 2007
- a parent
My son started 4th grade at E.C. Reems after being in a private christian school since kindergarten. I came to find out that private tuition-collecting schools do not necessarily offer the best education. My son was found to be behind academically when he started E.C. Reems and while he continues to struggle a bit to catch all the things he has missed, his teacher has been so patient and helpful while still being firm and keeping high expectations for him. The staff and administrators are wonderful. This school is definately a beacon of light in an underserved area with children who are at-risk of not thriving simply due to their surroundings.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
I think that this school is great academically. The teachers are really good; the curriculum is great and the principal is obviously very passionate about the kids. I do have a huge problem with their administrative office practices. But I think that is a small thing when measured against the great things they accomplish academically.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 5

Posted April 11, 2006
- a parent
I am very pleased with Reems Academy. My son is in the 6th Grade and doing very well. I love the small class size and how well the teachers and staff get to know the students.


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted January 01, 2005
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The principal and vice principal are ex-teachers themselves and really understand how to teach. The teachers are wonderful . Full of ideas and wonderful with the students. I highly recommend this school for k thru 5th grade.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 5

Posted May 11, 2004
- a parent
E.C. Reems Academy is a wonderful school. My sons are currently attending and are doing very well. The teachers are wonderful, well-liked, patient and eager to teach. The principal, Ms. Blair, is a wonderful hands-on administrator. E.C. Reems strongly encourages and welcomes parent participation and the 'it takes a village to raise a child' concept. The children, are happy, well-educated and well adjusted. The school offers a variety of holiday gathering opportunities and acknowledges the appropriate holidays. School time is made fun as well as educational. Field trips are fun even while being based on subject learnings. The school is conveniently located as are school hours. Parents thrive on being able to participate and enjoy helping out one-another. Not too large to get lost and not too small to go unnoticed.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art
8425 Macarthur Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94605
(510) 729-6635
Last modified Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.