Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 5

Posted April 02, 2015
- a community member
I went to this school since k-3 and it was very fun now I live in Stockton and it is fun too because we can eat any hot chips but, E.C.Reems is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay much beter

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted September 10, 2012
- a parent
EC Reems definitely surprised me. Despite the location of the school and the limited resources, I am very pleased with the education my daughter is receiving thus far. Her teacher is a UC Berkeley graduate. My daughter is writing both her first and last name along with the date within the first two weeks of school. The staff cares about the children and I feel good about the choice I made sending her there.


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted August 16, 2012
- a parent
E. C. Reems Academy is a great school. The teachers, admin and office staff bring a great diversity to the school. I like the fact that they are a small school and care for the chldren. The majority of the children leave E C Rems and go on to better high schools and to college. One thing I learned there is that we all may not agree but the best interest of the kids are at hand. This is the village that the community need. The staff is hands on with loving care.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art
no rating

Posted September 29, 2010
- a parent
E C Reems Academy is a great school. The teachers are professional and genuinely care about my grandchildren. My older grandchildren graduated from Reems Academy, attended the better high schools in and around Oakland and are now seniors in college. Reems Academy provided the foundation to succeed in life.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 3

Posted August 26, 2009
- a parent
This school really has the potential to be a wonderful school, however, too many things are left in the wrong hands. While my child has received an acceptable level of education, the level of professionalism the children have to endure with certain staff is far below acceptable. I feel for the level of potential that the school has and the number of willing parents to help out, this school could be one of the best in Oakland if not the best. With the right people relieved of certain duties this school could be awesome. My vote let secretaries be secretaries and teachers be teachers and if their are other things that need to be taken care of maybe the outsource of actual 'qualified' personnel would better serve the students.


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a parent
I am happy that I picked this school because my boys learned more challenging subjects that they thought they could not challenge. With the teachers help they had made it through with couple of months stay, my boys had given me a 3.6 and a 3.8 gpa. I was very please. Admins, teachers are wonderful here in this school. Please continue your communications with parents and students...thank you..

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted December 18, 2007
- a parent
My son started 4th grade at E.C. Reems after being in a private christian school since kindergarten. I came to find out that private tuition-collecting schools do not necessarily offer the best education. My son was found to be behind academically when he started E.C. Reems and while he continues to struggle a bit to catch all the things he has missed, his teacher has been so patient and helpful while still being firm and keeping high expectations for him. The staff and administrators are wonderful. This school is definately a beacon of light in an underserved area with children who are at-risk of not thriving simply due to their surroundings.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
I think that this school is great academically. The teachers are really good; the curriculum is great and the principal is obviously very passionate about the kids. I do have a huge problem with their administrative office practices. But I think that is a small thing when measured against the great things they accomplish academically.


Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 5

Posted April 11, 2006
- a parent
I am very pleased with Reems Academy. My son is in the 6th Grade and doing very well. I love the small class size and how well the teachers and staff get to know the students.

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art 4

Posted January 01, 2005
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The principal and vice principal are ex-teachers themselves and really understand how to teach. The teachers are wonderful . Full of ideas and wonderful with the students. I highly recommend this school for k thru 5th grade.

Nearby schools

Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art
8425 Macarthur Boulevard, Oakland, CA  94605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (510) 729-6635
Last modified Reems (Ernestine C.) Academy Of Technology And Art is a Charter school that serves grades K-8
Top