Advertisement

Dr. Herbert Guice Christian Academy

Private | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Oakland

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $105,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,270.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

Guice Christian Academy is one of the best private schools in the Bay Area, offering students a well rounded education within their community. Students learn how to take pride in themselves and their community. They also are given skills to compete in a global market. My five children have gone through the academy and have found academic success in middle and high school while maintaining high standards of excellence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

My children are currently students at Dr. Herbert Guice Christian Academy and I am more than happy to provide a review of the school. My children are participating in the city wide oratorical which is held annually and they have been asked to share what they have learned over the years at many engagements including the Black History program for Bart and the Golden State Warriors. They receive Christian education as an added bonus, this is in addition to the 3R's and a foreign language. I am confident that the education they are receiving now is preparing them for high school and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2013

My child currently attends and I am overall pleased with my child's successes at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

My daughter attend Guice in K.she has done very well I put her into a new school for 1st grade.to my surprise this was rated with 4 stars.but my daughter was doing so well that the work she did a gucie was the same work she did in K! but she is in 1st grade doing k work. so now my daughter is now back at Guice.I also would like to say the school she attended had bad kids, that did things to my daughter and no acting was taken . if your kids say someone is picking on them check it out.because it can bring a smart child to become a bad student.in grades
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2009

excellent academic work and have alot of activities for the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

My daughter attended Guice Academy for four years and had an excellent education. The orataorical skills the children learn are outstanding. This is a loving and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2007

My son attended this school from grades K-3. His kindergarten through 2nd grade years were great. My son fell behind in a classroom that was out of control behaviorally with no support for the teacher (who was a good teacher) from administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2005

My daughter has been attending Guice since kindergarten. Academically, the school is excellent. Taking polls from parents of children who attend other schools, I've found that she is at least a year beyond her current grade level. The school is still being established and as a result extra curricular activites are slim. There is a music program but no sports or other activities. Parent involvement is about 50/50, as the school is small and very family oriented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2005

My son attended Herbert Guice Christian Academy in his kindergarten year. I really like the school. The staff provides a wonderful support base, and they do have an excellent curriculum. I personally would rate the school at a B-, because my son didn't get as motivated as I expected him to as a kindergartner even though I tried at home to encourage and uplift him, it seems more focus was placed on children who have a natural gift to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

This school has a lot of unsolved problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Black 100%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
White 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6925 International Boulevard
Oakland, CA 94621
Phone: (510) 729-0330

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Bernard School
Oakland, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT