Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 61 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


158 reviews of this school


North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted May 01, 2014
- a parent
NOCCS is a community where the older children are nice to the younger ones even when the teachers and parents are not looking. We feel lucky to be a part of this small, intense, and beautiful school.

North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Noccs with both our kids 9 years! From K through 8th and we have had the most amazing experience. The teachers and the community are outstanding. The advocacy for the students on the part of both the teachers and the principle have been a huge part of what has made this such a positive experience.


North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Our school, and it is that, a school held by a community of staff, teachers, parents and students, listens to and considers input from all quarters, and weighs the pros and cons in a considered way. The school is small (200) students, which allows for great adaptability - each year, something is tweaked, whether the process of communication - this is constantly evolving, the facilities, or the schedule. This is possible due to a diligent process of self-reflection - what works, what doesn't, how can we improve. Professional development is generous and in-house.

North Oakland Community Charter School 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
NOCCS has great teachers who work hard to bring quality, fun learning into the classrooms. Great community and parent involvement....

North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
This school has a great balance of academic and social learning with a creative curriculum, dedicated teachers and staff, and a strong sense of community. Students learn comprehensive lessons that are reinforced through various subjects and come away with a deep understanding of concepts. The class sizes are smaller than most public schools in Oakland and the elementary grades are looped which allows students to better know their peers and teachers and families to bond in a meaningful way. And the small overall school size fosters a great sense of community within the student body--students of all grade know each other and interact regularly. Each child is known by staff, teachers, and fellow students so it's very hard to slip through the cracks. The biggest challenge I see at the school is the facility, which doesn't have a dedicated gym or outdoor space, but the school has been creative in managing that situation.


North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
From our first day we have been grateful for the warmth, connected, creativity and passion of NOCCS faculty, families and students. Looking forward to the years together.

North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
The parent teacher ratio has afforded my daughter the attention she.nzedds . Couldn't be happier with her developmental growth.

North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
This school is diverse, progressive, supportive of all learners, and full of creative, innovative and fully dedicated teachers and staff. We compared NOCCS to other area public and private schools and can't believe our luck in finding NOCCS and getting in off the lottery. We are thrilled with both the community and the education. All great!!


North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
NOCCS offers a stellar education for K-8 students and a warm supportive community for teachers and families.. Some of the hallmarks are multi-age classrooms allowing kids to "loop" with a teacher for 2 years, the Teaching for Understanding framework which promotes deep integrated inquiry, a peacemaking curriculum linked to the Mosaic program (conflict resolution skills/ diversity education), a critical focus on social emotional development as essential to academic growth and success, and regular opportunities for age-appropriate community engagement/service learning. NOCCS is also unique in its extremely high levels of parent involvement at every level. I have had 5 children educated at NOCCS and have the highest regard for this small excellent school. The teachers, staff, and administrators are among the most passionate, innovative, and caring that you will find. NOCCS teachers do not "teach to the test" and yet our test scores demonstrate students' mastery of concepts across the board. NOCCS strives to be a place where ANY and EVERY child in Oakland can receive a great education and Ithey have been tremendously successful in realizing this goal. As we say, NOCCS rocks!!

North Oakland Community Charter School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
North Oakland Community Charter School has a really great mix of staff parents, and kids - in terms of ethnicity, non traditional families, and professional skills and interests. The school pays attention to both the parents and the students and tries to get everyone involved in the school programs. My child is having a great experience here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

North Oakland Community Charter School
1000 42nd Street, Oakland, CA  94608
(510) 655-0540
Last modified North Oakland Community Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
North Oakland Community Charter School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 158 reviews.