Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 436
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

8 reviews of this school


Ascend School 5

Posted May 09, 2013
- a teacher
Ascend is an incredible school with an incredibly dedicated staff! It truly is a cornerstone of the Fruitvale community and I am so impressed by our school's commitment to providing the highest quality education to our students.

Ascend School 5

Posted February 12, 2010
- a parent
Ascend has a very strong parent involvement and feels like a big family.They have excellent teacher staff and has a great after school program lead by Oakland LEAF. I am very happy my son is in a warm and nurturing & learning environment.


Ascend School
no rating

Posted September 17, 2009
- a parent
All the personal from Ascend school are working hard for a better education for our childrens.The principal Ms. Adams all the time take care about the students and parents concerns I feel lucky that my son study at Ascend school.

Ascend School
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
ASCEND is an interesting arts-integrated school. The children are exposed to art, music, and a very diverse staff. Many of the students have been there from K-8! It could use more teachers of color to omplement the majoritively Latino student population.

Ascend School
no rating

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
I love this school it has improve so much in the last couple years. My son is in first grade and is reading really well. I hope we kept on moving up. Well that is what our name stands for anyways.


Ascend School
no rating

Posted January 18, 2008
- a parent
What I admire most about Ascend is Principal Adam. She is wonderful! I have never seen any principal like her. Trust me, I have met quiet a few. She is knowledgeable about each of her students, and she is like a pit bull. She does not give up on any of them. I give her a A+++++. She really rocks! I am really please that there is also an African American vice principal at Ascend this school year. But, I wish that there were more diversity in the lower grades.

Ascend School 5

Posted May 21, 2007
- a parent
The teachers are amazing. Dedicated and enthusiastic. The principal works so hard. She is patient and thoughtful and does too much work. The arts at this school are the best - kids do art and music in every grade. They have made tremendous improvements in every area. If every school in OUSD was like this it would be incredible.

Ascend School 5

Posted April 16, 2003
- a community member
I have never seen a school with more caring teachers. The children are safe and loved - not to mention how much they are learning!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ascend School
3709 East 12th Street, Oakland, CA  94601
(510) 534-7252
Last modified Ascend School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ascend School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 5 reviews. Top