Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public charter
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 480
Before care: No
 

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted May 07, 2010
- a community member
The truth is this school is by far the best high school in Oakland if not the Bay Area. All students get accepted into 4-year colleges and universities. They have had 4 Bill & Melinda gates Millinneum Scholars, Ivy League acceptances, scholarships and grants totaling in the millions and the student population is comprised of brilliant black and brown people. Everyone seems to hate on the real deal though. Teachers care, the instruction is challenging and the students are safe. What else can you ask for in this educationally troubled State?

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 5

Posted December 18, 2009
- a student
This will be my last year at Lionel Wilson and so far it has been the amazing 6 years so far! I'll miss it tremendously!!!!! Being a current student at Lionel Wilson has truly prepared me for the real world that lies ahead of me. I'm truly grateful that i was able to attend a positive school that has students that want to actually 'achieve' something in life.


Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy
no rating

Posted November 16, 2009
- a student
I am currently a student at this school and sure the school had its problems in the begining but today this is one of the best schools n all of oakland I don't always like the school but its done a good job of preparing me for college

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy
no rating

Posted March 11, 2008
- a community member
This school is not that great (anymore), the school system does not seem to be working. When this school had just open we had great teachers, now there's about 5 good teachers. There are teachers who seem to not know what they are teaching and students show that they are not understanding what they are learning. The school needs a lot of changes if it wants to stay open, and not lose anymore money than it already has. Also needs to be a place where people feel safe and comftrable.

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 2

Posted September 07, 2007
- a community member
Wilson prep has many qualities and disadvantages.. as a former student there i am frightened to return. Even with a small population of students teachers and staff can not control them. They seem to hate the students there. they even give too much homewok and they think that everyone has the whole day to spend with the same homework matter, but they need to have all children decide on whats to be happening, even the leadership. they should have a full willing representative from the children and say what are the things needed to be fix for the safty and willingness of them to go to schoo. they dont think of the children at all..


Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 2

Posted June 17, 2007
- a parent
Wilson Prep started as a beautiful dream. Students were excited and parents happy that a brand new school was opening... What happened later? 1. Although one can mention that 100% of students were accepted in college, not all of them have been able to stay....Lack of preparation is one of the many factors. 2. AP classes taken have a grate rate. However, results from the AP tests are not that nice. 3. Teacher turn over is very high. How many teachers that were the co-founders are left? 4. Special Ed students are not really supported. 5. They get to choose their students... Although there is an application process. 6. Teachers don't have a voice...

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 2

Posted March 28, 2007
- a student
This school is the worst school ever they don't let the students enjoy there townhall together.

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 4

Posted August 16, 2006
- a parent
As a parent I believe the school has great potential. With the expection of a few, the teachers are dedicated and focused on the children. Discipline and safety is another issue for the past two years gang presence has increased. Admin and well as teachers know who where the problem are but do not address them. I wish there where more activities in which families can become involved not just the Saturday School - lets do evening team building. Again I repeat the program is great, or should I say could be great but let get focused and stop allowing the slip ups to continue to slip. Let's not over look that Wilson Prep is a new school and has had two graduating classes and both were 100% acceptance to Universities.


Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy 2

Posted July 30, 2006
- a teacher
(A former teacher) The goals of the school are admirable, however the school fails miserably at accomplishing most of their goals because they lack pacing. The teachers are overworked trying to implement too many new systems at one time. The result is: frustrated parents, confused students and high teacher turnover

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy
no rating

Posted December 28, 2005
- a teacher
I have recently been hired for the afternoon school program as an English tutor. I have tutored college level students,disabled,ESL, and Jr.High and now High School students. I am very amazed at these students. They want to learn, are focused and have been very respectful to the tutors so far. The few teachers I have met and the VP, has made a very positive impression on me. The faculty are as a 'boat' willing and ready to change the acadamia world of Oakland. I am honored they chose me as part of their team towards this goal.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy
400 105th Avenue, Oakland, CA  94603
(510) 635-7737
Last modified Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Aspire Lionel Wilson College Preparatory Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top