Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
358 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bentley 2

Posted July 16, 2016
- a parent
We have had children at this school for the past 7 years and have finally decided that the school does not live up to the hype. The Head of School is a mean spirited person who seems to drive her staff away. The teacher turnover is substantial and affects the way the school operated. The school used to be an academic powerhouse but seems to have lost its way as it chases money and wealth. It is now a school that has no real mission or purpose other than to chase the wealthy and "score" the next CEO's kid. The lower school math program is poor and several teachers left this year due to having to teach a substandard curriculum. We moved our child to the local public school and were stunned to find out how behind the Bentley writing and math curriculum are in terms of pedagogy. This school is made up of wealthy kids whose parents want to shield them from the rest of society--at the cost of educating them in a modern way. You have been warned don't waste your money.

Bentley 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
We just returned from living overseas and when selecting a school in the East Bay we did a ton of research. We could not be more happy with Bentley. The staff are highly competent, caring, and (most importantly) seem to enjoy their work. The academics are top notch and the activities (arts and sports) are abundant for such a small school.


Bentley 2

Posted April 07, 2016
- a community member
This school has become a playground for rich families and kids. The diversity is lacking. Adding a few token non-whites a year who offer no socio-economic diversity does not cut it. Our daughter has become much more entitled over the years and we are struggling with her. Even the much talked about academics has weakened with the departure of key staff. For $30K a year, I am not sure our child is getting the growth she really needs.

Bentley 4

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Bentley School's greatest strength is the parent community. I have found the parents to be hardworking toward the schools goals, kind and inclusive. My daughter has attended the school since kindergarten. However, the school has an accelerated curriculum and therefore produces gaps your child's learning. Your child's math and spelling book is 1 year ahead and they skip all around according the teacher's scope and sequence. To date, the school has not produced a curriculum map so you can have a sense of what your child needs to know. If your child needs any assistance the school has a list of outside educational providers that parents choose from ($70-$110 per hour/ testing $800). This is different from other independent schools so do your research and ensure that your child can perform well in the accelerated environment.

Bentley 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
I have a 4th grader and a kindergartener at Bentley. As a family, we are thrilled with the school. My 4th grader's teacher is amazing. Her energy and enthusiasm are contagious and her academic expectations high. But what's more is that she gets my child and understands her strengths and needs in a way that tells me she's really paying attention. My son's K teacher is equally terrific. She really knows her stuff and connects to her students in a way they love. My son adores her and has learned so much. I appreciate the attention and care both my kids receive and I feel as though I have true partners in their education. The teachers and administrators are very responsive over e-mail. The parent community is great -- friendly and pretty easy to get to know, though you do need to put yourself out there and get involved to meet people. The school's drop off/pick up valet line makes it difficult to socialize at those common gathering points, so you need to find other ways to meet people. All in all, if you are looking for a warm, nurturing environment with challenging academics and top teaching, Bentley is a fantastic choice.


Bentley 5

Posted October 26, 2013
- a parent
My son goes to Happy Valley and we've been very pleased with the quality of education he has received, the teachers commitment to excellence, parents involvement as volunteers and their support of the school.

Bentley 5

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Bentley is an amazing school with the most talented teachers in the Bay Area. Our kinder-gardener thrives at Bentley. The best part for busy parents are the four to six page report cards at the end of each trimester with details from each teacher on your child's performance. Bentley also offers additional after school classes. I would highly recommend for perspective parents to consider this school.

Bentley 2

Posted April 26, 2013
- a parent
This school is not what it once was. This review is primarily about the middle school. Years ago this school was once a place of high achievement and excellence; today it is a school of rich kids who can pay and below average academics. There is a huge drop off in teacher and student quality from the lower school to the middle school. Currently the Middle School Head has hired very young, inexperienced (and presumably cheap), mostly non-credentialed teachers who have little classroom management skills and no control over the students. This year the new math teacher and the existing humanities teacher are not returning. In addition, during the past two years the school has lost math, science, humanities, trivium, music, and PE teachers. This year the school is also losing French and Chinese teachers. The Head of School keeps appointing people to leadership positions but yet there is no parent or teacher involvement. The school does not utilize a parent survey to gather information, nor does it seek involvement in anything but fundraising. On the positive side the K, 2, 3, and 5th grade teachers are awesome. They are seasoned veterans who are outstanding.


Bentley 3

Posted April 07, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at Bentley from kindergarten to eight grade. I thought the academics were great, but I didn't like how closed-minded the teachers were, and how little the classes and grades were. There wasn't any sense of independence or freedom AT ALL.

Bentley 5

Posted June 28, 2012
- a parent
We have two kids at Bentley (2nd and 5th) and we couldn't be happier that we made this school selection for our children. We've been wowed by the professionalism of the staff, the amazing teachers, the challenging curriculum and the academic and personal resources available for Bentley kids and their families. The school doesn't play lip service to having a no-bullying policy- it practices what it preaches and the school fosters a community-wide, supportive environment for student, faculty, families and visitors. Our kids have been challenged out of their comfort zones and have stretched themselves academically beyond what they thought possible. If you're looking for a stellar, highly-trained and educated staff; challenging curriculum and small school environment, Bentley might be a good choice for your family.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bentley
1 Hiller Drive, Oakland, CA  94618
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (510) 843-2512
Last modified Bentley is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top