Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
I'm not sure where this parent get's his/her information, but BayTech has two social studies/history teachers on staff. My daughter is currently enrolled in Ancient History and my son is taking American History. As far as sixth graders learning GIMP, I think as one part of a complete computer literacy program, it fits well. The kids enjoy experimenting and being creative with it as they learn how to use it in conjunction with other programs. Modern presentations require a broad knowledge-base that goes far beyond what a basic PowerPoint is able to show.

Bay Area Technology School 1

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
I do not think this school is preparing children for the future, there "computer specialist" teaches kids GIMP the free Photoshop Kids Don't need to know how to use Photoshop to Run a business or get a job they need PowerPoint, MW, and Microsoft programs and typing practice, There's a Base of Hispanic Students who don't speak English and will graduate high school without even knows how to speak English in America! There's No History Classes. So I'm not even sure if this school meets A-G requirements. they teach Turkish (Useless Language In America). At least they have a Spanish class. The school needs to be looked at closely by the ousd.


Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Bay Area Technology School is the best school in town and highly recommended!!! From 6th grade until now 12th grade, my son and I are very satisfied for what they offer like free after school program which is awesome! Tutoring even it's late or over the weekend. They prepare students to graduate. they have practice test to help you pass SAT. They also have AP courses that's help for college application. They have piano, arts, drama club for extra learning and for language learning they offer Spanish and Turkish class. You can check online for your child progress, grades, homework, etc.. Principal, teachers and staffs are nice, very helpful and friendly. If your child start learning and disciplined at home they will love and appreciate Baytech.

Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
Bay Area Technology school is the best community school in Oakland. It offers quality education in a caring, family like environment. The class sizes are small so teachers are able to cater for the needs of the individual students. I love this school and therefore have enrolled my younger child now for next year. Baytech is the best!

Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted August 31, 2012
- a parent
This is a terrific school that has just moved to a new campus (kings Estates ) 8251 Fontaine St Oakland 94605. Near the Keller offramp, it is highly accessible from both Oakland, San Leandro, Castro Valley and Hayward. Class size is kept to a max of 24 but typically are under 20. Teachers are enthusiastic and the parents are really involved. The kids-who wear uniforms are actually HAPPY! Noisy, but it;s a joyful noise. My son is in his 2nd year here (7th grade) and is doing better academically than ever before. API scores are skyrocketing due to the combined efforts of faculty, parents, and mostly STUDENTS.


Bay Area Technology School 4

Posted August 04, 2012
- a parent
The best thing about the school is its classroom size. Not sure what the ratio is, but you can eyeball it and tell they are manageable. Another thing is that every night the students assignments and grades are posted online. I keeps me from having to prying it out of my child every night and allows me to stay on top of her assignments. Also, looks like its API scores are climbing. Not bad for a new charter school.

Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
BayTech is very diverse school with many good teachers. I enjoy the diversity because it helps me with dealing with different cultures. Its a very small knit community and everybody knows everybody. All in all I'm glad I attend Bay Tech.

Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a community member
Awesome school. Great after school programs. They offer SAT tutoring on saturdays that are very helpful. They also offer UC Berkeley advanced science programs where they take you there and you get to work hands on with the professors. People who are intersted in science should come here becaue of the international science fair that they participate in. The teachers are always helpful and friendly. I love this school


Bay Area Technology School 5

Posted October 31, 2011
- a parent
The following are a few reasons I like the Bay Area Technology School (1) Knowledgeable teachers and good curriculum. (2) Individualized reading home work to meet the child's skill and challenge them at their level of interest. (3) helps the child to be creative, challenged, okay to make mistakes while learning, and teaches them to ask for help when needed. (4) Children learn emotional balance while growing. (5) Wonderful and friendly staff who really cares the children the most. (6) Good after-school program like study hall, outside play, and others until 6 pm (7) It gives me peace of mind at the end of the day that my kids are in a good environment. I love BayTech and recommend you to love too.

Bay Area Technology School 1

Posted October 24, 2011
- a parent
My son as a learning disability and some behavior issues. The administration did not engage and were not interested in helping him despite my attempt to get them to pay attention. The school grounds are very depressing, there is little control of the students.

Nearby schools

Bay Area Technology School
8251 Fontaine Street, Oakland, CA  94605
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. (510) 382-9932
Last modified Bay Area Technology School is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top