Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public
Oakland, CA
Students enrolled: 239

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 3

Posted August 10, 2011
- a community member
I was a former student at Sojourner Truth Independent Study and I have to say that it was a great school. I had previous issues at the school I started out in and decided that the best thing was to transfer to an independent study program. People have many negative assumptions on why students go to these types of programs, but it really is a great alternative for students who have a busy schedule or don't like being cluttered at regular public schools. At Sojourner, the students are very friendly. The teachers are patient and caring. The best part is that there are meetings held once a week where students can share what they learned with their teachers. Students have more one-on-one time unlike in schools with hundreds of other kids. This scool isn't perect, but it is great if students need credits to graduate. The location isn't exactly convenient for everyone but all in all, it's worth giving Sojourner a try if you are in need of credits.

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 5

Posted September 01, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 2

Posted July 29, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 5

Posted June 12, 2008
- a teacher
This school is simply a godsend for those students who are motivated to use a more flexible schedule to their advantage. I have seen many, many students who couldn't or wouldn't make it at regular high schools, blossom here at Independent Study. For kids in performing arts, for example, it is a place they can get a quality education while still having the free hours necessary to excell at their craft. I love working here and highly recommend it.

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 5

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 5

Posted December 19, 2007
- a parent
This school is really great. It taught my daughter to have lots of independence. Her test scores never been so high.

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 4

Posted August 15, 2007
- a parent
My child's teacher was outstanding. She was very caring and supportive. She was extremely knowledgeable about her subject matter and her students. Although she was strict, she was always very fair and held high standards for her students. She was fully-credentialed, a holder of National Board Certification, which is a very high level of achievement, and very sympathetic and caring.

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School 1

Posted May 24, 2007
- a parent
There is not quality control over the education. Just another inner city public school with the same below par education and teachers.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School
8251 Fontaine Street, Oakland, CA  94605
(510) 729-4308
Last modified Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Independent Study, Sojourner Truth School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top